We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Life on the Water Doesn't Get Any Better Than This!”

Avila Beach Paddlesports
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Avila Beach Adventure Kayak Tour
Ranked #1 of 10 Tours in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: WINNER 2016 VOTED BEST OF SLO COUNTY! KAYAK and PADDLEBOARD RENTALS, LESSONS, and eco ADVENTURE TOURS in sunny Avila Beach. Explore the pristine waters, sea caves, and secret beaches of Avila, the hidden gem of San Luis Obispo County, with Avila Beach Paddlesports. Avila Beach has the best weather on the Central Coast, so don't forget your sunblock! Beginners are welcome and free instruction and safety information is always included with kayak and paddleboard rentals. The friendly SuperCrew at Avila Beach Paddlesports has the local knowledge and expertise to create the best experience for you and your family! Their staff and professional guides have decades of local water knowledge and the skills to teach you how to explore, be safe, become a better paddler, and have fun!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Life on the Water Doesn't Get Any Better Than This!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Emily and Vince make it fast and easy to get on the water and start having fun. Nice equipment, great advice, super easy launch spot, amazing location, excellent and friendly service make Avila Paddle Sports the place to SUP or kayak.

Go early while the water and wind are calm and enjoy visiting with the harbor seals, sea lions, dolphins, starfish, jellies, fish, otters and birds. You can paddle to the beach and walk up the stairs to the San Luis Lighthouse for a different view of churning seas and vast horizons. Go often as the scene changes, every time is different. Bring friends, they have lots of equipment.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank htissue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“kayaking Oct. 2013”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I are fairly experienced kayakers and found that we would be around the Avila Beach area (on our way to wine tasting in Paso). We found Avila Beach Paddlesports on line and set a tour with them on Oct. 17, 2013 (thurs). We opted for the harbor tour (the easiest) as my wife is intimidated by beach launches. As it turned out this tour was a beach launch, but we were assured by our guide Vince that she could easily handle it, which she did. Vince was excellent in prepping us in the paddling and turning of the kayaks. In a short time he had us doing small chutes along the cliffs. As we paddled Vince imparted his knowledge of the area and of the animal life in the harbor. Some of the highlights were seeing an Osprey, seeing a sea otter and its tiny pup, and walking up to the lighthouse. Vince is so enthusiastic (we had him all to our selves) and knowledgeable it made for a great experience, I would encourage anyone to do this, especially families.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place for Paddleboarding!!!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a great shop run by the most knowledgeable paddlesporting couple! They're always willing to go out of their way and answer any questions for first timers on the water. Plus, safety is their number one goal and during bad weather will not hesitate to turn people away at the expense of their business. Vince and Emily, you two are awesome!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san luis obispo CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vince & Emily and their crew are the best !”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Please take time out of your vacation here on the Central Coast and go down to Avila Beach and check out Avila Beach Paddlesports. Once you have spent time with Vince (the owner) and his wife Em, you will have a deeper understanding on the beauty of San Luis Bay. Both have a thorough knowledge of the Marine life found in these waters but what makes their business so special is their enthusiasm and obvious love for water activities. This zeal and passion for their business is contagious and you will soon be having the time of your life whether it be kayaking out to the Port San Luis Lighthouse or navigating the beautiful shoreline on your SUP. Do yourself a favor, this is truly one of the Central Coast gems and you will have memories forever of the times with Vince and Emily !!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lexus1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Water, wildlife and stunning scenery”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Kayaking and stand up paddle boarding in a stunningly beautiful location. Kayaking through the kelp beds, under the pier, along the coast, haul out and hike up to the lighthouse. Hey it's easy I'm a senior citizen and it was the best hour plus on the water ever! Vince and Emily are wonderful guardians of our coast, birds and wildlife. Dolphins, otters, harbor seals, sea lions, pelicans, cormorants and so much more to see. A perfect place to learn and perfect your skills on the water.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BaywoodJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avila Beach Paddlesports also viewed

Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Avila Beach Paddlesports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing