We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Beautiful scenery, Best Guide'”

Avila Beach Paddlesports
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Avila Beach Adventure Kayak Tour
Ranked #1 of 11 Tours in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: WINNER 2016 VOTED BEST OF SLO COUNTY! KAYAK and PADDLEBOARD RENTALS, LESSONS, and eco ADVENTURE TOURS in sunny Avila Beach. Explore the pristine waters, sea caves, and secret beaches of Avila, the hidden gem of San Luis Obispo County, with Avila Beach Paddlesports. Avila Beach has the best weather on the Central Coast, so don't forget your sunblock! Beginners are welcome and free instruction and safety information is always included with kayak and paddleboard rentals. The friendly SuperCrew at Avila Beach Paddlesports has the local knowledge and expertise to create the best experience for you and your family! Their staff and professional guides have decades of local water knowledge and the skills to teach you how to explore, be safe, become a better paddler, and have fun!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
long beach
1 review
“'Beautiful scenery, Best Guide'”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had the best time out in the kayaks! The nature sights were glorious! Vincent our guide was the best. We were first time kayakers and Vincent was encouraging us all the way. Even though we crashed a couple of times he never got mad or annoyed at us once. There's soo much sea life to see, starfish! Sea anemone! And the seals come right up out the sea to say 'hello'. We highly recommend this to everyone.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank adryone24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super fun!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you stop by Central Coast California you have to have the Kayak experience. It is a blast and no matter if you are a beginer (like me) or a pro, it is a blast! Looking forward to do it again!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Krysia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Family Kayaking Adventure”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a great adventure kayaking with Vince. Based on our phone conversation, he picked a great tour for me and my two children - it was so much fun. Lots of caves and waves, and of course marine life along the way. It was a great time!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
180 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“BEST rental place on the central coast.”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

There are several things that make up a good time kayaking here, the weather is nice, the port is relatively protected from the ocean, and the cove offers lots of wildlife. What makes the experience most enjoyable are the enthusiastic staff and the prices. We went out for just a little while and had a blast, you can paddle all over the place and there is a private beach to the west where you can land and check out the lighthouse. We brought our pup and she had fun too! I work and live locally, I recommend this place to anybody: couples, families with kids, large groups... They have stand up paddle boards too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Vince runs a great business---Ken is a great guide.”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We met Ken on a hike to the Port San Luis Lighthouse, and learned that he was one of the guides for SLO Coast Kayaks. We were impressed with his knowledge of the area, and his relaxed approach, as well as his emphasis on safety. My partner and I had been wanting to try kayaking for a while, but had never been kayaking, and were a bit apprehensive, because we are not the most athletic kids on the team.

Vince set everything up, and Ken was a terrific guide. We had a three hour tour of the Port San Luis Harbor area. The sea was calm enough to permit us to go around the breakwater out to the beach under the Port San Luis Lighthouse. In the process, we learned how to launch and beach the kayaks, how to paddle, steer, and stop. We saw sea otters, sea lions, harbor seals, pelicans, cormorants, grebes, sea stars, sea anemone, giant kelp, and bull kelp. it was a great experience.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhillC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avila Beach Paddlesports also viewed

Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Avila Beach Paddlesports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing