We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fine for a one night stay in an RV” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avila Hot Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avila Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avila Hot Springs Resort
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fine for a one night stay in an RV”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in our RV. The full hookup sites aren't really geared towards a longer stay because there's nowhere to eat or relax outside beside the tightly-packed RV sites. The kids enjoyed the large heated swimming pool and the waterslide, which are also open to the public. It costs $5 each for day use of the pool and springs. The steaming hot mineral springs were nice to relax in. Showers and toilets were fine. There's also a friendly little diner on site.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Forest4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    11
    11
    4
    36
See reviews for
35
15
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went this evening. We got there at $5 so we only paid $5 each. The mineral pool was refreshing (but stinky). My kids loved the swimming pool, I had to drag them out of there! Wish the slides had been open. My only complaint is the changing room/showers are also the restrooms. I saw a separate men's room but no where for women to use the restroom. If both dressing rooms were occupied then you were out of luck. They also could have been a little cleaner. We only used the pool, we did not stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryroseSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The website is misleading. Do not go, this place place is a dump, the cabins STINK, the pillows stink, the towels are like handtowels that you would not even dry your car with. The bunks are flimsy, the blanket are like cheese cloth. When we walked in there is a large can of air freshener and all fans were on. That should have been our first clue. There is no arcade, there is no great cafe. Its a hole!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank barronbjjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avila Beach hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

After a long work week, nothing is better than a day long soak at Avila Hot Springs! Been coming for years, and now make it a regular experience! So glad that kids under 8 are not allowed in the hot pool, it is too hot for them! Enjoying all the upgrades happening, this place is getting better and better!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank delekta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

since I was a kid...and I love it.
Warning to parents though...bring a large plastic bucket so your child can sit in warm water also. There is an age limit of 8 years for the Hot Spring...which is disappointing for some parents...but for those of us who have been pooed on while trying to relax, it was a welcome rule. They have no issue with you filling a bucket & letting your child have their "Own pool" to sit in. Cooler & all around better for those involved.
The hotspring pool which has been newly tiled & looks great. I've seen looking kinda shabby in the past & am glad they resurfaced it yet again. They really do alot of work to maintain the property...it might be hard to tell for some...but I see it and appreciate it.
...go with the CA flow & be a beach bum, lay around on Avila Beach, jump in the ocean & then go soak your bones in Avila Hot Springs. It's been open since the early 1900's & was a healing pool regarded as a necessity to cure what ails ya, I absolutely agree.
Note to the chatty...some of us don't wanna talk about mundane things while soaking...it's not personal.
I've not stayed overnight, so I can't speak to their rooms or camping spaces... But I can tell you, do your homework. If you don't want to be next to the Hwy...camp somewhere else..it's "centrally located" to the on/off ramps & well as a busy road into & out of Avila.
This is not a resort...but there are some locally...which will cost you of course.
enjoy the friendly & helpful staff & eat some world famous food at Fat Cats in Avila.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmeraldFury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

A 5 star Disney resort it's NOT, This is a UNIQUE 100+ year old landmark enjoyed over the years by many generations of travelers. I remember visiting in the late 1950's during family vacations to the coast. Yes It's a little rough around the edges, but that's part of it's charm.

The staff was very friendly and had no problems accommodating our vintage Motor Home, the spot the put us in had good WIFI full hookups and easy access to the restroom and pools.

It's central location makes it a perfect home base to explore the surrounding sights and attractions. We stayed a week in January relaxing in the mineral springs and enjoying the pool. We liked so much we came back in March for more.......

I would highly recommend this as a good spot to explore the coast's attractions and come back to a relaxing hot dip at the end of the day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We came and knew right away we would be back, it's a wholesome fun experience for families, with camping and cabins. The hot springs and surrounding town, beach, etc makes for an epic journey from Southern Cal- not too far for a one day trip each way, and there's nothing quite like this place, really so it's an experience

Room Tip: Bring a tent or try one of the cabins- only 5 bucks extra if you camp and want to go to the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeHosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
1.7 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.8 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Hot Springs Resort

Property: Avila Hot Springs Resort
Address: 250 Avila Beach Dr, Avila Beach, CA 93405-8046
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Avila Beach
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Avila Hot Springs Hotel Avila Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing