We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A big fat joke”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avila Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avila Hot Springs Resort
Tulare, California
1 review
“A big fat joke”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

If I wanted to camp in a yard I could have stayed home. As the one lady said painted 10X squares on lawn this is not camping. Up each others rears, was to be handicapped accessable, not. It stunk, outhouses for bathrooms all but the ones used for pool and smelled. I even made resevations and they gave my spot to someone else. I was highly upset. Ended up at Coastal Dunes in Oceano and they was very accommidating, bathrooms cleaned 2-3 times daily, heated pool you didn't have to pay for. I would highly recomend this spot and we will definately be going back to The Coastal Dunes.

Not a happy camper

Helpful?
Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    11
    11
    4
    36
See reviews for
35
15
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Gross, never going back, yellow sheets, worst smelling restaurant, very strange vibe, trailers in a parking lot, no way worth $150!!!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank julieSanDiego_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avila Beach hotels

Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Why didn't I read any reviews for this so called resort.
Where to begin......
first, I was told that my husband and I would be staying in the overflow camping, eventhough I booked 4 months in advance and was told at the time they were wide open. So, now for the same price as a tent site with BBQ and fire pit we were offered a square of grass in a parking lot on the side of the road. After check in we headed to the grass area and dragged the only picnic table available to our spot. The other two were already claimed by one other party. Picnic tables are first come, first serve. We set up our tent and unloaded our bikes and realized that my husband stepped in another campers dog droppings, which we discovered was in our site. My husband is not one to lose is cool, that is my job, which is why I was so surprised when he suggested we book elsewhere. After several failed attempts at connecting to the properties wifi, we borrowed the cafe's yellow pages and called most of the surrounding areas hotels. But since it is July the only available rooms were $250+ and there is a 72 hr cancellation for a refund. We decided to stay at Avila Hot Springs.

A few key notes to consider before you book:
*Deliveries by big trucks (pepsi, sysco, etc.) arrive at sunrise as well as the local disposal truck.
*Avila Beach Dr. has a posted 35 mph, but according to the car accident during our stay at 5am one morning, cars average 55 mph. Yes, there was a collision right in front of our lovely campsite, with all the bells and whistles, two fire trucks an ambulance and police car. Thankfully no one left in an ambulance.
*The brochure says no dogs, but there were two in the overflow camping and they barked at one another all hours of the night. Also, every morning there was at least one camper walking their dog in the grass area (tent site) to relieve themself.
*Unless there is an employee who sleeps somewhere in the back, all of the employees went home when the lobby closed at 10pm. Our last night was the nosiest with no employee to enforce the curfew.
*The bathrooms were not cleaned once our entire three day stay and there are only two showers in each bathroom. My husband refused to use the mens showers after he saw one of the shower curtains shoved in a toilet in the morning and then found it hanging again that night. Gross.
*This resort attracts the best of the best. At 9:30pm on our last night several of the employees were physically removing a drunk camper. The camper could not decide which language they wanted to curse in, they went back and forth between two, while all of the children watched, including the drunks own.

Avila Hot Springs Resort would be nice if the owners paid a little more attention to detail and made some minor upgrades as well as enforced the posted rules.

This place is good for one thing, a CHEAP spot to crash after a long day in the waves or on the bay. However, I will never recommend this resort to anyone and will not return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 1234TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We booked a 2 night stay for camp with another family July 2011. On arrival we noticed in the PARKING LOT there was a small patch of grass with red spray paint outlining 15 ft squares....This should have been our warning. Upon check we were told we had been assigned to one of there spots, 3ft away from where we parked our car in the parking lot!! We were told they had addtional tent camping in the rear. We went to check that out and noticed the other 'camping' area was in a rear dirt GRAVEL parking lot filled with rocks with tents on top!! This place is NASTY, DIRTY and a total DUMP!! Please read the reviews and don't waste you time, money or gas going to this flithy place! Did I mention the flithy bathroom had roachs??? Also there is less then 20 parking spots for over 50 camping locations?!?!

Room Tip: DONT waste your money!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TellinDaTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Pros:
Nice mineral hot springs water (sulfur)
Natural campground setting
Great bike trail close-by that leads to Avila beach (Bob Jones Trail)
Farmers market across the resort
Olympic size warm pool w/ slides for kids
Restaurant & vending machines available

Cons:
Close proximity to the freeway, but this place has been here way before the creation of freeway.
We used the tent campsite. It was a little cramp, but at least there were some shade from trees.
Vending machines closed early.
Bathrooms & showers by the pool were unkempt and dirty. I can't blame the workers, they tried hard to keep the area clean but some people using it are just plain inconsiderate and no hygiene manners at all.
All in all, we enjoyed our overnight stay here esp. when we went biking to Sycamore Hot Springs which is just a short distance away and went for an hour hot soak at their mineral pool ( with fee of course) then continued biking to Avila Beach and had a great time at the festival, ate by the beach, came back and soak at Avila's hot springs while watching the sunset..by the freeway:) I would recommend this place to people who are looking for authentic mineral hot springs on a budget without the comfort of a 1st class hotel. So if your expectations are high and like to be pampered then this is not a place for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkcottage88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Stayed at Avila Hot Springs while working in the area. Great place to come back to after a long day at work. The 'cabin' had everything needed,, queen size bed, kitchen, bath, sitting area, with cable tv and utilities included.
The staff was great and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillrunner07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

with a freeway nearby and 40 people within earshot it was a miserable night's sleep. As you can see from the picture, our firepit was 3 feet from the picnic table and 5 feet from the tent. Our site was literally a dirt parking space marked off with red paint . Our fire pit was 10 feet from the next pit over. FIRE HAZARD!!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank brandyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
1.2 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.7 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.8 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Hot Springs Resort

Property: Avila Hot Springs Resort
Address: 250 Avila Beach Dr, Avila Beach, CA 93405-8046
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Avila Beach
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Avila Hot Springs Hotel Avila Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing