We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet with a View!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaport Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seaport Village Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
el segundo, ca
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet with a View!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Quiet!! You bet! We LOVED the Quiet here! There is no major travel road next to the hotel so you WON'T hear the constant noise of tour buses, golf carts and trash trucks. We have stayed elsewhere on the island always searching for the quietest hotel and we found it!
Friends of ours from Maine had never been to Catalina Island so we all decided to go. The hotel's staff treated us like their family and made sure our friends room was next to ours and made sure our rooms were stocked with all the kitchen items (we cooked/prepared some of our meals) we would need for our 4 day, 3 nite stay. We stayed in the upper rooms and had awesome views of the bay. Both rooms had patios with chairs and we all spent a great deal of time sitting there and soaking up the sun while watching the boats and the people at the piers.
Looking forward to coming back hopefully in November for the Swing weekend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! Weather in Avalon is always fantastic no matter what time of the year-
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amazingmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaport_Village_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Seaport Village Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2016
It's hard not to enjoy soaking in the sun. Thank you for your review. We hope you continue to use Seaport for your accommodations when visiting the island in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    17
    16
    39
See reviews for
22
41
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indio, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

There were 4 of us and we booked our stay at Seaport Village on Catalina Island a couple months ahead of time. The hotel is old but kept up. The prices were very good. If you are looking for frills and bells this is not the place for you. If you are looking for decent accomodations, friendly staff and a very good breakfast then here is the place. Raul the manager took very good care of us. The hotel is located just above the main streets of Avalon but the walk is not bad. The whole place is non smoking so if you smoke be advised. This hotel caters to the snorklers and scuba divers for the most part and they do a very good job. This is our second stay here. We snorkled 3 days and 1 day kayaking. Had a great time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaport_Village_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Seaport Village Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2016
Awesome! We always love to have you with us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great for the service and price.....not the newest place... but witch place on the island is??? Old school works....service and price makes up for it!!! Who spends all day in the room anyways!! Go to the hilton for that!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cwilson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaport_Village_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Seaport Village Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2016
That's a great theory. Catalina is for adventure. We hope our guests don't stay in their rooms all day. We want them to get out and enjoy all that the island has to offer. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Seaport Village Inn was an ideal place to stay while in Avalon for the Catalina Jazz Festival.
The staff treated you like family and was very accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a balcony overlooking the ocean which was perfect for relaxing. Although there was an uphill walk from town to the resort, it was short and easily doable. We are coming back here again this year and I can see us coming back year after year!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murphynv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaport_Village_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Seaport Village Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2016
We always love to have you and hope that you keep on coming back! Our staff is exceptional and we want to make you feel like family. That's what sets us apart. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

First off, I normally stay at places off the beaten track, so I'm used to sanitary but not pretty, if you get my meaning. Sadly, this place was neither sanitary nor safe. The guy driving the shuttle made me wait outside the car for 15 minutes before he'd load my bags and take me back... because he was busy talking to the other cab drivers. (and can I mention I was the only person for the shuttle? So he wasn't waiting for more passengers). When I arrived at the hotel, they sent me to a room that was literally through a construction zone, and had no AC, no towels, and no working lights. I complained and they moved me to a room that just had no towels and no working lights. After some nagging, I was able to get both the towel and the light situation fixed. Unfortunately, the desk manager would not stop hitting on me. He repeatedly told me he'd fix such and such if I'd go out to dinner with him. The next day, I was told check out was 10 AM, but my boat didn't leave until 6PM. So I asked the manger if the hotel was full. He said no, it was almost empty, and would stay that way; did I want another night? I said no, but I would love a late check out. He said he simply couldn't accomodate me, unless I went to lunch with him. I refused, took my bag, and left. Don't stay here. It's a dirty place, with dirty managers. Pay the extra and stay in a place where you won't be harrassed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaport_Village_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Seaport Village Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2016
This is a very surprising review to find. We am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Our manager is a very well-liked and gracious man. I hope that there is no confusion in the title of the person you are referring to in your comments. We do apologize that you were made to feel uncomfortable as we are a family-owned business and would not stand for anything of the sort. We hope your trip to Catalina was great otherwise and that you do return in the future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Beverly Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I don't like giving bad reviews, so I'll begin with what I did like about this place: the service was excellent. Everyone was very polite and attentive. But I want to warn future Catalina visitors against staying here, because it is SO out of the way. It is a LONG walk down a hill to get to town, and a LONG walk back up when you're exhausted, and they do not offer rides down and up the hill unless you are coming to or from the boats. The rooms were very dingy and old, and we didn't have any hot water-so the jacuzzi tub that they charge extra for was useless (and they didn't know how to fix it). Their breakfast in the morning was better than the other hotel I stayed at, but if you are expecting luxury this is NOT it. I would hate for anyone to come to Catalina expecting a 4-star hotel, because after shopping around a few hotels, this one was not that much cheaper than the others that I saw, once I got there, were much nicer. If you are not worried about the cleanliness and quality of your room and are just looking for a place to crash at night, I would recommend something closer to town, because this is a long, tiring hike to get to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaport_Village_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Seaport Village Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2016
Thank you for reviewing. We do offer shuttle service to town and various places on the island as we can at no charge to our patrons. Our hotel has a unique quality in that it sits up on the hill so any noise or traffic is not a worry for those who want to sit out on the balcony and relax to the sounds of nature. We also understand that we cannot offer what an upscale corporate hotel would normally offer. We have been on Catalina for 35 years and take pride in being family-owned and kind of a quaint destination. We do hope that you give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

When we are planning a scuba trip to Catalina, we always try to stay here. We first stayed nearly 27 years ago, on our honeymoon, when the hotel was fairly new. Although a lot has changed, we keep going back.
This is a very scuba-friendly hotel. They pick us (and our dive gear and luggage) and transport us to the hotel (which is at the top of a steep hill). When we are ready to dive, they transport us and our gear to Casino Point. This is a huge deal. Even staying at a closer hotel, we would have to haul our very heavy gear all the way to the Point to dive. Most divers send their gear on the truck, and just walk to the point. Since my husband has hip/knee issues, they are fantastic about driving us with our gear to the dive site.
There is a place to rinse your gear, and you can even store your dive bag in a room off of the office downstairs. Raul, and the other staff are very friendly and helpful. Like I said, very scuba-friendly!
While we love this place for diving, it is not a luxury hotel. The office closes early. The rooms are bit dated, but clean. It is not fancy. I wouldn't recommend it for a romantic weekend get away...but for a dive trip, you can't beat this place!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRheiny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.3 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#11 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaport Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaport Village Inn

Property: Seaport Village Inn
Address: 119 Maiden Lane, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seaport Village Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Seaport Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaport Village Hotel Avalon
Seaport Village Catalina Island
Seaport Village Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing