We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half a block from 'main street.'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Half a block from 'main street.'”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

Older hotel, small room, armoir for closet, hot and cold water faucets in bathroom were reverse twist (counterclockwise for off). Continental breakfast of donuts, muffins, orange juice, and coffee. Staff helpful and pleasant. Wireless access from lobby only, but was never crowded (maybe because we were there off season).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R1D9G45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    58
    39
    24
    44
See reviews for
50
94
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, Ca.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed in Avalon on Sept. 30, right at the beginning of the "off-season". The weather was perfect, and it was not crowded at all. Therefore, we got a good rate on the room ($110.88 for one night) and some special treatment that people might not get in the busy season when there are a lot of people to tend to. First of all, the staff were unbelievably accommodating and friendly. We arrive in Catalina at 11am and check-in time wasn't until 3pm. We went to the hotel to see if they could store our luggage until check-in, but our room was ready so they let us check in early. They also allowed us to check-out one hour late the next day so that we could snorkel in the morning and come back to take showers there. Then, they allowed us to keep our luggage there until we left at 7:30pm that night. They have a room next to the check-in desk with shelves were many other people were storing luggage as well. The staff was very friendly over the phone and in person the entire time. We like the free breakfast; there was coffee, orange juice, and a variety of donuts and muffins. We stayed in a room with a king sized bed. It was comfortable and clean. The hotel is also in a great location. They offered us a shuttle ride back to the ferry and beach towels. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend that people visit during this time for great deals and service.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmsd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

The shuttle arrived late. The delux room was not delux. The ceiling fan did not work, the shower in the tub woould only act as a shower the water to the tub lever was not operable, the room was not clean, the pillows were broken down and should have been replaced, no wash cloths, no hand towels, not bath mat, the only towles were grey from use, the clock was broken, the gasket on the frig door was leaking. The continental breakfast consisted of dougnuts and coffee. The location is very good The hotel very bad.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heyblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

Cherry Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

Reservations promised NOT delivered on arrival. Promised deluxe king/1st floor. Told room not available. Given smaller bed without air, etc. facing noisy alley for $185/nite. Waited 1 hr. past 3 p.m. to check in. Following day room not cleaned 'til about 4 p.m. Some staff friendly..mgr. said he'd make good for problem, but never did.

Helpful?
1 Thank marjorieroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

That should tell you a bit about Glenmore Plaza. We overheard Jimmy Jr., the owners son, telling some other guests this trivia while we stayed. It is a cute, quirky, OLD hotel. If you want to have some 5-Star, cutting edge, all the frills stay, you should stay at....well, nowhere in Catalina. The hotels are for the most part old and with out some of the amenities you get at new, plush hotels. But are you there to hang out in your room anyway?

We have stayed at Glenmore Plaza once before, and here we were back again, so from that you can say that we had a good experience, both times. Our first visit we had a room on the 3rd floor with a jacuzzi tub, this time we were on the 4th floor, to tub. Really not a big deal, we don't go to Catalina to hang out in our room.

The rooms, as mentioned in other reviews, have to be taken on a room-by-room basis. We were in room 405 and it was up to par in every way. I forgot to take a picture before we messed it up with our stuff, sorry. The bed was ok, firm, but we both had some minor backaches in the mornings, but we have this issue at every hotel we ever stay in. The rooms are decorated with very bright, island-y colors, they're very cheerful. Our AC unit worked like a charm, we had no problems at all getting the room cool, and we were on the 4th floor...we could feel it getting hotter as we ascended the stairs.

The hotel has no elevator, so if you are disabled or older, this might pose a problem. We overheard some ladies throwing a fit at the front desk over this issue, they didn't want to walk up 3 flights of stairs. Keep that in mind.

The "continental breakfast" from 7-10 is donuts, coffee and OJ. There are so many places to have a good breakfast while vacationing, skip this. They're a hotel, not a restaurant.

Jimmy Jr, and the other 2 guys we talked to at the front desk were very helpful. We talked with one gentleman (Jack?) on our way in from dinner one night, asking for a late check out, which was no problem at all to get...I saw guys helping people with their luggage, giving advice on things to do, restaurants, etc. Jack (?) entertained us with some stories of local island people, native vegetation, funny hiking stories, etc.

When arriving on one of the charter boats from the mainland, you will probably get to the island around 10-11 am, check-in is at 3. They have a room with lots of shelves for everyone to leave their suitcases in while they explore the town until check in. THere is a bathroom right there to change into a swimsuit if you didn't think ahead to wear it under your clothes. The front desk is right there, and you just have to hope that no one steals your stuff. I think the chance would be slim, but stranger things have happened. Not sure if other hotels have a locked room for luggage while you wait, but Glenmore has this system. It does make it easy to get back in to your bags if you need sunscreen, bathing suit, etc. while you wait for your room to be ready.

Glenmore is very close to the center of town, and makes it very easy to walk to all the restaurants, beach and activities. If you want to lay out on the sand during the day in a peak month, get out there early in the morning with your beach towels...it fills up quickly. We were pretty irritated with all the people that get out there (the rental people told us people come out at 3:30 in the morning to set out their sheets and blankets!) so early and then don't show up for the beach till after 12pm, leaving the rest of us normal people the area equivalent to a deck of cards to set our stuff up on. ANd then kick sand all over your stuff because they've overcrowded the area so much with their huge 30' of sheets and towels. This happens everywhere on the beach, maybe not at Descanso though.

The prices are competitive with other hotels on the island. It is a destination getaway, and they charge accordingly. It's not Motel 6 prices, but it's not a Motel 6 either. It's old, it has no elevator, there's an A/C unit in the window, there may or may not be a whirlpool tub depending on what you book. But it's historical, decorated with fun colors, close to the center of town and has a very helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allens08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
o.c. calif
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

My husband & I have been going to Catalina every summer since we were newly weds, (1976 ) and later with are 3 boys, family and friends, (I fell in love with the island as a child when my family would go.) Needless to say I have stayed in just about every kind of rental there is to offer. From private homes in the hills and on the flats, condos, and just about every hotel there is ! Last year we booked late and could not get a house. We got lucky with an availability at the Glenmore. We brought our 3, 20 something sons and got a room with a king size bed, a fold out bed, and a small bedroom with a queen.. Yes it was crowded for the boys, but there was room for a table & chairs,(over looking the happenings on the little street) a fridge, t.v. and a wonderful jacuzzi tub( dont forget the bubbles) The boys had a blast ! It was so fun at bedtime listening to them laugh ! They hadnt slept in the same room since they were kids. The rooms were immaculate, smelled great ( I am really fussy with hotel smells) and the beds were great. We could lie on our beds and see (and hear) the bell tower and beautiful hills. The history of this hotel is fabulous ! Clark Gable & one of his sweeties use to stay in this one particular suite all the time.( We are going to book it in Sept). Glenmore has survived some tough times,and has seen ALOT - so some GREAT stories! Be sure and read up on all of it when you are there . KEEP IN MIND....., it has been renovated and remodeled ! The rooms are bright & adorable, and the staff bends over backwards to get whatever you might want.! Great location too. Right in the middle of things, and close to the water. I would recommend this hotel to ANYONE that doesnt mind stairs. If you know Catalina though, only the newer hotels have elevators. (heard they might be putting one in ? ) We CANT WAIT to go back!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

I would like to remind the readers/travelers that each room/suite at this large victorian independent hotel is unique and the reviews should be written specific to the room that one stayed in. If you are looking for chain corporate-style lodging with matchbox rooms, boring frames prints, and stuffy polyester comforters, this place is NOT for you. This hotel is more suitable those who appreciate the beauty of a charming, well-maintained historic hotel.

The hotel is situated in the heart of the town, and is within a short stroll from the pier. It's large victorian-style building with many windows and made my imagination run wild
as I was climbing the long flights of stairs to my room on 4th floor. From the outside it looks like a big yellow doll house, and from the inside the long hallways and narrow stairs provide great contrast to the bright, airy, and well-appointed room with large bath suite that I was about to stay in.

The room is bright with fun colorful replica artwork, light painted yellow walls, white wicker desk, chair, night stands. There is a lot of natural light coming in the large bathroom as well, with twin pedestal sinks & designer faucets & neat modern medicine cabinets over each sink, very large jacuzzi tub that can fit a mid-weight sumo wrestler. The walls are painted soft neutral color and floor is covered with little white tiles.

The bedding is also outstandingly comfortable, with cotton sham pillows, and comforters are covered with cotton duvet covers. The people working at the front desk are friendly and attentive. It was a perfect stay and I was very pleasantly surprised.

Room 406

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmore Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmore Plaza Hotel

Property: Glenmore Plaza Hotel
Address: 120 Sumner Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmore Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenmore Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glenmore Plaza
Glenmore Plaza Avalon
Glenmore Plaza Catalina
Glenmore Plaza Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing