We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless night in Catalina!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
A TripAdvisor Member
Ca
112
Reviewed June 29, 2005

Don't stay there if you are trying to get any sleep, not to mention a good night sleep. Across from the hotel, there's this NOISY dancing bar place that has loud music until 3:00am. Right adjecent from the hotel is a bar, VERY NOISY until 2:00am. Not to mention the squeeky beds that you can hear what your neighbors are doing (both next door and above you) ALL NIGHT LONG! The worst thing is that this is an older hotel but has a very modern appeal, don't get fooled. Not to mention the price $159/night is totally over priced.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 249 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2005

I stayed at the hotel last weekend. At $250 a night it included a bathroom door that wouldn't shut, a dirty bathroom and dirty bathroom towels that were replaced only upon request. Loud, thin walls, small room decorated somewhere in the 70's....blinds that would not stay shut...and a view over looking the alley...the most disturbing element were the sounds coming from the hall way that sounded like a small child running towards our door...and then would mysteriously stop once it hit our door...after looking several times up and down the hallway to find nothing we could only conclude the place must be haunted....horrible stay...not worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank SueConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2005

We had a room on the third floor. Room was clean, but very funky. Fresh paint helped but bathroom was dated. Just remember you are staying in an old hotel with sloped floors and room additions that have taken place over decades. Location is great. I would check around town for other accomodations first. Rack rate if you book through the hotel. Check travel websites for better rates. We made the best of the situation and just enjoyed what the area had to offer.

9  Thank Levelminded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2005

My husband and I bought the package deal which supposedly included the boat trip (they got time and date reservations wrong twice), tour "of our choice", continental breakfast, room with "city, ocean or mountain view", and whirlpool tub.

We arrived to a desk clerk that just couldn't smile for the life of her (it turned out that she wasn't the only unhappy employee) . She handed us a voucher for the submarine ride, I had told her that we prefered the casino tour, and verified this on the phone before we arrived. She said they no longer offered the casino tour, and there was no longer a "tour of our choice." We got our room (by the way, the hotel is old and feels like it was constructed without a level) - no whirlpool tub, very small room with a view of a roof next door, blinds fell apart in our hands. We again showed them our brochure and were offered another room - a bit bigger, old & rusted whilrlpool, and view of the street below. We were tired and just took it. Continental breakfast consisted of a bowl of apples and stale muffins. We decided to eat out instead. The hotel has a good location in the heart of town, but we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank LorSanClemente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2005

The Glenmore Plaza Hotel provided a memorable experience for my entire family. The staff was very accommodating and the rooms were great. As for the reader below, yes there is a fifth floor. We slept there! It's the Clark Gable Suite. It consists of a fourth floor room with a spiral staircase leading to a fifth floor bedroom with panoramic views of the island and the ocean. All that I can tell you is that the room was awesome! It was worth every penny! If you are going to Catalina, do whatever you can to land this room.

The hotel is old, but well maintained. In fact, one of my sons managed to rub fresh paint off the hallway wall onto his jacket. The staff did an excellent job of washing and drying it for him. I believe that I read that the Glenmore is either the oldest or one of the oldest hotels in California. The only downside to this hotel is the fact that it does not have an elevator.

Keep in mind that this is Catalina, not a major city. The pace is very laid back, which makes for a wonderful trip. If you go there not expecting the Hyatt or similar chains, you will absolutely love it!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Illinoistraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2005

Beware! Across street from popular bar (unless you don't care to sleep), LOUD until 3 am, paper-thin outer walls. NO window covering at all on 2 windows in our room and bright lights coming in. No one available at desk to help us with the problem, ruined the trip - too tired for planned activities next day. $200.00 for this.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cherylovedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Long Beach
16
Reviewed December 12, 2004

They Ruined my fourth of July holliday so bad... we went to another hotel for the same price after he told us we wouldnt find one. I found a great site... truely is a good true site about this hotel.

---

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmore Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmore Plaza Hotel

Address: 120 Sumner Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range: $120 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmore Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Glenmore Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glenmore Plaza
Glenmore Plaza Avalon
Glenmore Plaza Catalina
Glenmore Plaza Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing