We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, comfortable bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location, comfortable bed”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Good location in central Avalon. The service was friendly and we were able to leave our bags at the desk before check in. A free shuttle to the boat was provided as well as continental breakfast. The rooms were clean but need some tlc. Overall we were satisfied, not blown away.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZTravelingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    59
    40
    25
    44
See reviews for
50
98
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were very pleasantly suprised by all of the updates and renovation done to the hotel. Our room was impeccable and completely updated with a new flat screen tv, refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom looked like it had just been recently been renovated with all new appliances. However, you still felt the warmth and elegance of a turn of the century hotel. We will definitelty be back! I recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Catalina, so that they can experience the true beauty and history of the island.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suite is perfect for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexM895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The staff was so helpful. The gentleman at the front desk was so nice! (I think John was his name) He gave us some awesome tips about the city for our weekend stay. The shuttle from and to the ferry was helpful. Our room on the fourth floor was just remodeled. It was spacious, clean, well lit and had a jacuzzi tub.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in Glenmore. Our room was very beach like and the location was great. Also, everyone was very friendly and welcoming. Plus they let us leave our backpacks in the front desk while we were exploring the island.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank termiagui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Great location! The staff was super nice, I felt like I was their best friend by the time I left. Rooms were clean! Price was good and they upgraded my room for free! But that was probably because i came on wensday. I would come back in a heartbeat...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel and a treat to discover. It's age and it's history, in addition to the modern rooms and tremendous staff made this a warm and welcoming place to stay while we visited Catalina Island. All the positive reviews I read on line were exceeded during our stay at the Glenmore Plaza and we are sure to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaseballVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

It's like having a room at a friend's really large beach cottage. Very comfortable, homey and clean. You really can't beat this place for the rate ($88 per night @ off-season). I was initially put off by some not-so-favorable reviews from another site but it was our only last-minute option so I booked it. Come to find out, the entire hotel seems to have been very recently renovated, all the rooms are freshly painted, the bathrooms look to have been updated recently and it's very clean. The Glenmore is located right in the center of town. They offer free wi-fi for guests, a small but functional continental breakfast downstairs in the morning where you are encouraged to mingle with other guests, and in our room (#306), we have a giant 72" TV and a jacuzzi tub. Looking forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaLoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#13 of 20 in Avalon
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,096 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmore Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmore Plaza Hotel

Property: Glenmore Plaza Hotel
Address: 120 Sumner Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmore Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Glenmore Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glenmore Plaza
Glenmore Plaza Avalon
Glenmore Plaza Catalina
Glenmore Plaza Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing