We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“11 years running, the BEST R&R”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mt. Ada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt. Ada
Ranked #1 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SoCal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“11 years running, the BEST R&R”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

There is no doubt in our minds that the Inn on Mt. Ada is THE best place to get some R&R and recharge. The accommodations, ambiance, service and quality of meals makes your stay seem like a month in paradise, even for a couple of nights. Kudos to Susie, Marlene, Erin, Michael, Vicki and the entire staff for a great time just relaxing and feeling at home in a very special place. Believe what everyone else says in their reviews, this is the only place in Avalon to stay if you want the good life. This has been our eleventh year visiting the Inn and have booked next year's visit already.

Room Tip: Won't make a recommendation as we don't want to share our room, but it does have the best vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCal-CDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    6
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
98
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

From the time we were met at the boat, we felt as though we were in the company of dear old friends. We were told that we were to consider the house "our home" while we were there. We were given a tour and told the history of the house and island. Everywhere we looked, there was a little surprise, nuts in a bowl, fruit, beverages in the refrigerator--beer, wine, soft drinks. Lunch was served soon after we arrived, and it was fantastic. Our room was lovely and very comfortable. We then took the golf cart into town, returning in time for cocktails. The wine was good, and the appetizers plentiful. We went back into town for dinner and returned later in the evening. Everything was available for a hearty ice cream sundae and freshly baked cookies, or a night cap with sherry or port. In the morning coffee, tea, muffins and juice was available outside of our room, and then breakfast was served later. There are fireplaces in each room, along with big fluffy robes. Every room in the house offers a fantastic view. The weather did not cooperate, but we heard that the sunsets and sunrises are lovely from various sides of the house. As we hugged goodbye , we really felt as though we had been visiting family

Room Tip: Only two rooms have a balcony and those two face the direction of the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredBooBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I've been visiting Catalina since I was a child, and have stayed at most of local hotels, but in May had my first visit to Mt. Ada, an indulgence for my mother's birthday. (Also because I usually visit in January, when Mt. Ada is closed.) It was incredible -- not just the stunning views and all-inclusive amenities, but the outstanding service as well. A bonus for us was Meow, the resident feline, who was quite the conversationalist. Once you book your room and make arrangements to get to Avalon, your work is done. The Mt. Ada staff greet you upon arrival and whisk you to the grand historic Wrigley mansion where your every need is met. While most of the 6 rooms are set up for couples, they do have one with a convertible bed in the sitting room, which gave us both our own space. The views of Avalon harbor are amazing, even from the bathroom! Breakfast, lunch, drinks (including champagne, wine, and beer), evening hors d'oeuvres, snacks, ice cream -- all are included. There is really no need to leave, at least, not for food. The included golf cart is very handy for getting down to Avalon, or exploring the outer reaches of the city. Although not listed on their website, they do have wireless internet as well. Bring your camera to preserve the memory of the views. There are also many comfy seats available on the main level, in the sun room, living room, and den, as well as a spacious patio area. Far and away, the nicest accomodations that Avalon has to offer, and with all the included amenities, worth the price!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

There is no better place to stay at when visiting catalina island. This place is for couples...or really really close friends :) as there are no rooms with two beds.
The prices are steep like the view but you will have a view that NO other tourist will have being that they are located on a private road.
As soon as you get off the catalina express, a staff member is there to welcome you with a sign baring your names. They take you to the inn, check you in and show you around. I was offered champagne while i sat on the patio facing the casino.
This place also gives you your own golf cart for touring the island during your stay :P other tourists have to rent golf carts at a hefty price per hour only.
Anyone get the late night munchies? well they have a pantry with drinks, popcorn and bless their stars ICE CREAM! you can make a sundae at 2am if you want.
Ok for those on a tight budget and a loose schedule...you can book a room last minute if its available and save up to 40% off the rates. The rates are high season and low season. Being that this is California we are talking about, low season weather here is still pleasant. If you can go low season last minute this place is a bargain you cant pass up!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
423 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We made reservations for lunch since we had gotten married at the Inn 22 years ago. Eating there brought back such wonderful memories. Our view from the balcony was breath taking. The lunch includes endless mimosas,wine or beer. We enjoyed a few sitting in the sun, overlooking the bay. We had the Mexican speciality for lunch and it was yummy and filling. It was pricey, but worth every penny and we would do it again....let's hope we don't have to wait another 22 years!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lanzie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

This was by far one of the best experiences we've had and have traveled all over the world. The attention to detail from pick up to departure was first class. The Bethany Glen, champagne, horsdouvre's, lunch ..we loved it all. Thank you Marlene, Michael and all the staff. What a fabulous home!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sail29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

The only downside to this beautiful hotel is that you are tempted to stay there all day instead of seeing the island! The breakfasts and lunches are wonderful and even the complimentary cocktail hour food dishes are enough to fill you up for dinner! Not to mention the "Butler's Pantry" that each guest has access to which included free beer, wine, sodas, snacks, chips, popcorn, 8 different flavors of ice cream and all the toppings you need for a hot fudge sundae. If that doesn't excite you, than perhaps the golf cart each guest is assigned will perk your ears. We drove all over the island, and it helped us get more out of our time there because we could quickly drive between the beach, day spa, and zip line tours. The staff is amazing and are at your beck and call. We stayed at the Windsor room which I had rest is the best room. Guests who have slept in this room include Presidents Calvin Coolige and Warren Harding, and the Prince of Wales. This room has an elevated queen size bed (to better take in the ocean views), a fireplace and a full bath. The Windsor room has the best view in the house.The wrap around views include Avalon Bay, the Pacific Ocean, and the Mainland. The money you save on food and rental costs of the golf cart more than makes up for the heft price of the rooms. If you go to Catalina, this is the only place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure and get the Windsor room. It is the best room by far!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Ada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Ada

Property: Mt. Ada
Address: 398 Wrigley Rd., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Inn on Mt. Ada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Complimentary Breakfast, Lunch and Evening Wine & Hors d'oeuvre Reception. - Complimentary Butler's Pantry available throughout the day, includes fresh fruit, mixed nuts, soft drinks, beer and wine, ice cream sundaes, popcorn, coffee, teas, and cocoa. - Complimentary golf cart for use during your stay - VIP access to Descanso Beach Club Cabanas, Access to Tennis Courts at the Catalina Country Club and Complimentary Green Fees at the Catalina Island Golf Course. - Complimentary access to Island Spa Catalina facilities including pool, hot tub, relaxation deck. (Spa treatments are additional.) - Complimentary Behind the Scenes tour of the Catalina Casino - Private van pick up from the airport, heliport, boat terminal or other properties - Daily housekeeping, robes, nightly turndown, High speed WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Mt. Ada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Mt. Ada Hotel Avalon
Mt. Ada Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing