We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seacrest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seacrest Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Orange, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for my 38th birthday. Roger gave great restaurant advice. We found the inn to be cozy and romantic with Victorian charm. The covered loft and full- sun roof are great for enjoying the weather. Next time, we'll use those gas grills on the roof and cook some steaks....or turn on the fireplace...or use the massage tables!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    51
    22
    10
    17
See reviews for
10
107
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Creedmore, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our room was adequate in size but smelled of mildew, needed a good scrub and painting. The towels were so thread bare, they had holes in them, big holes! First night there was a smoke alarm chirping all night but there is no one in the office once the rooms are filled, to complain to. When we got up we discovered there was no hot water and had to take ice cold showers. Then off for our "complimentary" breakfast. It was up a steep staircase (if you have bad knees like I do, this was an impossibility) so my husband went for me. He came back with a cup of coffee that he ended up dumping it was so bad. He said the breakfast was cereal, rotten bananas (they were black) and yogurt, so we went out to eat.
When the office finally opened, we complained about the water and the smoke alarm. Later in the day we returned to find our room had never been made up, the smoke alarm was still chirping and at this point went back to the office. We were not happy. The smoke alarm was finally fixed, our room did get made up (different towels this time, no holes) but the next morning, no hot water again! Not acceptable, especially at the price we were paying. Oh, and no ice available. We were told to go to the local market around the corner to buy ice if we wanted it. No wifi, no phone in the room. No smoke alarm in our room. I think you get the picture. We will not go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lvop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The staff at the Inn was very helpful especially Roger with having flexibility on our dates since they changed at the last minute. We were upgraded to a suite and the room was great and relaxing. It was also very close to down town which was very convent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dd0302gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

No complaints about the service. Roger and the housekeeping staff were very helpful and friendly. The place is cute but old. Fixtures and furniture are fairly new. Narrow steep stairs that feel a bit treacherous for us older folks. No elevator. Nice continental breakfast but nothing special. Upper deck would be nice for sun worshippers. Busy street where the carts seem to run at all hours. (I wonder why Catalina has no electric carts?) Clean and comfortable. Be aware that the "Dolphin Room", while inexpensive, is very small and cramped.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of building quieter. Spring for a more expensive room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

After checking out reviews about the Seacrest Inn, we were a bit discouraged to make the choice of staying there. The price was right (relative to other Avalon lodgings) so we gave it a try ON OUR HONEYMOON. I'm glad we chose the Captain's Quarters--cozy, awesome jacuzzi tub, charming decor :). The Inn has a very central location, a 3rd story roof top deck with a great view, and accommodates with mini-fridge, even a window escape ladder!
If you're looking for the Ritz, take your snobby money somewhere else. This place has character and it can be appreciated easily. Especially if you're into 80's and 90's VHS tapes (FREE TO RENT AT THE FRONT DESK, when Roger is there). We were very pleased with our stay and we hope you will give this place a chance as well.

PROs: rooftop deck, charming, Jacuzzi tub in Captain's Quarters, location

CONs: continental breakfast lacking

Room Tip: Captain's Quarters cozy and full of character
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northridge, ca
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

our experience on catalina island was wonderful. we enjoyed our spa day near our hotel. our stay at the catalina seacreast inn was most enjoyable. we were there only for the night, but was welcomed by roger like we were family. thank you for letting us stay and hopefully, in the near future, we can experience a whole weekend there. our birthday stay was just not enough. again, thank you for a wonderful experience. 'da twins.

Room Tip: liked first floor rooms. steep stairs scary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

I value opinions on tripadvisor and feel some folks are pretty nit-picky. I'm not like that. It was pretty much the cheapest place on the island...for a reason. Checked in on Friday with a less than attentive Roger, left on Sunday, never saw or heard from him again. Even after calling for assistance needed at the Inn (it's NOT a Bed & Breakfast). No return call EVER! Not clean, daily leftovers for your "continental" breakfast. Window a/c units r hit & miss, room can get VERY warm & muggy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ymichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#11 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Terado Terrace
El Terado Terrace
#10 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacrest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacrest Inn

Property: Seacrest Inn
Address: 201 Claressa Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seacrest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seacrest Inn is a conveniently located hotel on Catalina Island with accommodations for every budget. Each room at our Catalina Island hotel is decorated in a different theme and most have soaking or spa tubs with showers. Our guests are welcome to enjoy the covered rooftop patio which offers a secluded place to read or enjoy a cool drink. A sundeck with ocean views is available for guests. The Seacrest Inn on Catalina Island is a perfect destination for romantic getaways, adventure travelers and those looking for a convenient Avalon hotel just steps from the beach and the attractions of Avalon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Seacrest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Seacrest Hotel Avalon
Seacrest Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing