We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun”

Descanso Beach Club
Book In Advance
More Info
$134.49*
and up
Catalina Island Day Trip from Anaheim or Los Angeles with Optional Upgrades
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surrounded by the rugged beauty of Descanso Canyon and the clear blue Pacific Ocean, Descanso Beach Club features Avalon’s only beach side restaurant and bar, where you can enjoy appetizers, entrées and signature cocktails, like our famous Buffalo Milk. For the ultimate beach club experience, you can have your food and drinks delivered to your own private cabana or chaise lounge. Descanso Beach Club also serves as the Base Camp for the Zip Line Eco Tour, Catalina Falconry Experience and a 32' Climbing Wall. Kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding and snorkeling are also available. Seasonally, Descanso Beach Club's party scene is well known among locals and visitors alike, DJ tunes and live music on Saturday and Sunday afternoons.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great time. Very island feelie with the music and atmosphere. Kayaking adventures abound. Staff extremely friendly. The bartenders even gave us buffalo milk to taste for free since we never tried it before. Next time, spending a whole day there. I gave it a four star b/c the kayaking place said they closed at 7. We got there at 6:35 and they were long gone, so i had to go back the next day to close my tab.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeeNC619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    194
    85
    24
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“THE place to be”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

On June 13, we met a smiling Sara in the morning. She was setting up for the day and acquainted us with the beautiful beach facility complete with plush rentable chaise lounges and umbrella plus larger cabanas and more. This began a four day experience on the most relaxing beach we've encountered this side of Italy's Mediterranean coast.There is much in common.....impeccable service by an energetic, intelligent, staff, together with appropriate food and beverage offerings made for 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. delightful days. The ocean immediately in front of you is uncharacteristically warm for this portion of the Pacific and is clear and swimmable. Besides Sara, noteworthy staff who made our every moment a joy are Kaileen, April, Missy, Robert, Raul and Fern. April, Missy and Robert were lead servers on consecutive days and were superior.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxation”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Fun, music, sand, ocean, drinks, Bakinis everywhere. Stopped at 4pm. There isn't anything left to say except you better go if you are on the island. The wife also enjoyed the relaxation that the place makes you feel. Thanks for the great getaway DSB!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheToddster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing beach day”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We rented two chaise lounges for the day at Descanso beach, and it was a great way to spend the day. The service was great, and for a beachfront club, prices were not that bad. I definitely think spending the day (or at least a few hours) here is a must-do if you are in Catalina

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 651Sarah_S_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun 4-hour kayaking/snorkeling trip”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

They offer a very good discount if you book it before a certain time in the morning. We kayaked about 2.5 miles to a small rocky beach (with a picnic table on the beach), then snorkeled for a while before kayaking back. Awesome!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank maradonov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Descanso Beach Club also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Descanso Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing