We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth seeing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Descanso Beach

Descanso Beach
Book In Advance
$269*
and up
Catalina Island Zipline Eco-Tour from Anaheim or Los Angeles
Ranked #2 of 53 things to do in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Avalon's only seaside private beach club with restaurant and bar has been completely transformed to feature upgraded facilities with new high-end amenities such as private cabana and chaise lounge rentals. Enjoy cabana dinners; sit with your feet in the sand, and relax in our heated cabanas while indulging in a three-course meal. The ultimate in island dining, this new experience brings together the best beach-side atmosphere and flavor, all to the sound of the of the ocean just a few feet away. A favorite of both visitors and locals, this is a popular escape from downtown.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth seeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stunning views of the ocean and mountains - a haven for nature photographers. This place is also very romantic. Take a walk in the late afternoon with your loved one and you both will appreciate the place

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doctor_Saul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    179
    76
    22
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
orangecounty
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“stay and have a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I just a short walk from the main street to Descanso Beach but worth the walk. You will pass by the old Casino and Avalon fishing club (as we found out in New Zealand ...the oldest fishing club in the world) on the way. We were a group of 18 and found a table out on the patio for food and drinks with one of the best views of the harbor.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank OrangecountyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beautiful and well kept”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

clean and pretty . we were there in Feb. A little overcast . I can imagine it in the summer. Would definitly come back

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank melisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go kayaking on Avalon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I went on a 4 hour paddle with our guide "JP". We had a fantastic, personalized kayaking experience. "JP", an Avalon native, provided us with a background of island history, nature and his personal experiences growing up on Catalina.
We were kayaking in a "soup" of seals, dolphins, squid and bait fish. We also saw tiny jelly fish and garibaldi. We also saw many types of sea birds. We paddled to Long Point and back to the Descanso Beach Club, a four hour trip.
We enjoyed a great lunch on shore and a short hike to see the cherry trees.
All of the staff at the kayaking company were friendly and helpful. They have all the gear you need to stay dry and comfortable during your paddle.
Make a trip during off season to enjoy a relaxing, stimulating paddle tour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, OR
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Continues to improve!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We go in January and February so the beach is very quiet. Have taken the zip line which is fun! The beach area continues to improve - to the inclusion of a climbing wall for the young at heart.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rollngoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Descanso Beach also viewed

 

Been to Descanso Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing