We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good Mango Margarita”
Review of Buffalo Nickel

Buffalo Nickel
Ranked #32 of 49 Restaurants in Avalon
Price range: $10 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really good Mango Margarita”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My family and I like to get away from town and go for a nice drive out to the Buffalo Nickel. The chicken wings are really good, I also like the mexican Pizza which I love that they also deliver. They are the only place that has there own van to deliver in town. Low key out of the way. My kids like the chicken strips and pizza.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trueangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    48
    27
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Food. Horrible service.”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Food is pretty good but getting there can be a challenge. They have a shuttle from town but it can be a 5 min or a 30 minute wait depending on the driver. We had dinner there on a saturday night in July. It was not too busy but the service was REALLY slow, they forgot drinks had to ask twice for water. Check was slow to come and was not that expensive for what you get but add bad service and the price is not worth it. We waited outside the restaraunt for a ride back to town and after waiting about 30 minutes with about 10 other people, we decided to walk back to town. It is a long walk and really dark, good thing we are active and had a flashlight. I would recommend going there only if you have plenty of extra time to kill.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mstiffanygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, but far away”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The food was above average, and not as expensive as other Avalon restaurants. But it's a good half-hour walk from the center of town! (It is a nice stroll along the beach.)They told me that the "free shuttle" is really their delivery truck, so there is no fixed schedule. So if you don't have strong legs, rent a golf-cart.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“The Buffalo Nickel”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Hard to get to (you have to call for a shuttle) but decent food for decent prices.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Istvan-Anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fair Fare and Good Service”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

next to the only gas station on the island, pleasant out door seating, typical glorified coffee shop menu but thats ok since the prices are in line with food quality. A decent spot for a bite before continuing on a ride or walk around the island. Good service.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank colonelscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Nickel also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Buffalo Nickel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing