We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Clean room and friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Terado Terrace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Terado Terrace
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean room and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I chose El Terado Terrace because I read on Trip Advisor the hotel was "clean" which is a MUST for me. Our room was spotless. The kitchen was well equiped and the staff very friendly. We were sad that our weekend trip ended, we will definately stay at this hotel again; hopefully soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    105
    42
    16
    14
See reviews for
119
166
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Joshua Tree
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very nice place, had a kitchenette and everything was clean. Room and bathroom were clean and neat. Ten minute walk from town, and 20 minute walk from the catalina express docks. Went and purchased some grocery's from a Vons express and made our own lunch in our room. Our room faced the ocean, about 300 yrds away but still visible, could hear the seals barking.

Room Tip: Pick the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The El Terado Terrace for the money is the best hotel bar none on Catalina Island. Beyond the title of my review, I'd have to add quiet as this is paramount to a relaxing vacation get-away and that's what El Terado delivered. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Not enough experience to give advice on which room to choose, but ours was awesome as it included a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bldmusl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the El Terado Terrace and had a delightful time. The rooms were clean and management was so friendly. Loved the full kitchen. And the view was gorgeous. The walk up the hill was a surprise, but perfectly do-able. Walking down in heels was not so do-able, so we spent the $8 to take a cab down, but up was no problem. (Heels, in hindsight, probably could have stayed home, anyway!) I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EminNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a great Hotel for the casual traveller. I was here for business, but the costs of the waterfront Hotels are exorbitant. This Hotel a 3 minute walk to the water is a real gem, low prices, a nice owner Ivan and the personal touches you do not get from the larger Hotels. I would stay here for vacation or business anytime. With it being the off season on Catalina Island, it was great. Thanks Ivan. bbq on the patio or just sit back relax and watch the stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sudsdrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Just came back from Catalina Island and couldn't wait to write a review about my experience at the El Terado Terrace. First of all the service is primo and the rooms are out of this world, we felt rite at home. The manager said that they had just installed new carpets a few days before which was really nice!!! The walk to the hotel from the main street is not bad at all unless u where born in a car and cant walk. Overall, a very nice hotel and friendly service!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tothemoonandback1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have traveled extensively to all 50 states and I think that I have a good idea of what to expect from hotels. I stay mostly in 3 to 4 star hotels. I like a bargain and don't like getting ripped off, but I will pay for a good hotel if warranted. I wanted a hotel close to the main pedestrian walkway in Avalon, but couldn't get a room at the Atwater or Pavillon. The El Terado seemed like a bargain because I didn't want to stay in the back of the valley. However the walk uphill to the El Terado was difficult, steep, and far. At the end there isn't even a sidewalk. You have to walk out into the street and hope to not get hit by a golf car or car. When I tried to check in at 5:30PM it was already dark and there was no one at the reception booth. They have a phone number to call that is taped to the window, but nobody answers the phone. Apparently the manager saw fit to leave my rooms keys in an envelope with my name on it on the countertop outside the window of the reception booth where anyone could have just picked it up. Next when I checked into my room the shower was leaking something terribly. I had to close the bathroom door to sleep because the leaking sound was so loud. Also the towel rack bar in the bathroom was broken - the towels fell onto the floor. The TV remote control didn't work. I went to the reception booth at 10AM the next morning to tell the manager because 10AM was the stated check out time. Fortunately the manager was in the booth. But I stayed a second night and when I returned to my room later in the day, nothing had been fixed. Not only that but my room was never serviced. The beds were not made and there were no clean towels. On the last morning of my stay I took an 8AM Catalina Express boat so I tried to check out at 7:30AM but again there was no one manning the reception booth.

It took a lot of time for me to write this review and obviously I wouldn't have spent so much time doing so unless I had a lot on my mind and a lot to say. I would never return to this hotel. It was not a worthwhile bargain. If you are not a physically fit senior citizen, then just forget about it with the walk up the hill.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jonfujita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#11 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Terado Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Terado Terrace

Property: El Terado Terrace
Address: 230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Terado Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Islands Best Hotel Value, no other Catalina Island hotel offers full size suites & townhomes at hotel room prices. All new spacious suites. Deluxe Hotel Suites with granite counter tops, fully equipped kitchens with full sized refrigerators and stoves. Large 37 inch flat screen TVs and classic Catalina art by a local artist. Choose a king or two double beds. Simply the best value on the island. No other Catalina Island hotel even comes close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your El Terado Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Terado Terrace Hotel Avalon
El Terado Terrace Mini Hotel
El Terado Terrace Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing