We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of El Terado Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Terado Terrace
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had an enjoyable time at the hotel. Our room was clean and available at the time specified. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Hotel is located close enough to shops and beaches and yet far enough so that the noise does not disturb you. The fully functioning kitchen was very useful. We took advantage of the discounts the hotel provides for some of the local restaurants. We especially liked Steve's Steakhouse which had a spectacular ocean view and the Buffalo Nickel restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 421 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Five of us spent a weekend here in their 2 bd/2ba condo. The accommodations were great! Beds were comfy and the place was super spacious. Nice outside balcony off both bedrooms and a great common area too. The complimentary p/u from the boat dock was a bonus. A great place to stay especially when you need more that just the standard hotel room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13Marisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

So I spent 3 days trying to find that perfect place to stay in Catalina in celebration of my Mother & Sisters birthdays. After reading ALL the reviews on both Trip Advisor and Yelp, it was hands down the El Terado Terrace. Unfortunately, a day prior to arrival we had a family medical emergency and needed to cancel our trip. Sadly, I called the hotel, spoke with Ivan and explained our circumstances. Ivan took care of our cancelation, no questions asked. Customer service is hands down five stars at the El Terado Terrace just as all the reviews read and I haven't even had the pleasure to stay there yet. Thank you Ivan for making that dreaded phone call painless, and I look forward to re-booking in the near future just to shake your hand.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank heychrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our stay at El Terado was fantastic. Ivan and the rest of the staff there were very friendly and accomodating. A perfect example of this was that the ice machine was in the process of being repaired the weekend we were there. When Ivan realized that we needed some ice, he actually brought a bag of ice to our room! The rooms were very spacious and we loved having a full kitchen and fridge. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

first and foremost we cannot say enough about the staff. it was like staying with family Ivan and his wife and his staff were so kind and attentive to all of our needs. The room was huge and the kitchen did not dissapoint we stayed with four of us and it was great to have lots of snacks and fresh water in the room. Bathroom roomy and the whole facility very clean. Complimentary shuttle service was such an convienence. Definitely will recommend and return

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

what can i say about my trip to Catalina? it as amazing. Everything about the stay was perfect including the hotel. the EL Terado was the perfect place. the location, staff and rooms were really nice. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to catalina.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

They accomadated our large family . We had such a friendly staff helping us and the rooms were so clean.
We are definitely going to stay there again! Loved it.We had such fun on the island and it was nice going back to a place that was relaxing and warm

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Konadog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.3 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Terado Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Terado Terrace

Address: 230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $108 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Terado Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Islands Best Hotel Value, no other Catalina Island hotel offers full size suites & townhomes at hotel room prices. All new spacious suites. Deluxe Hotel Suites with granite counter tops, fully equipped kitchens with full sized refrigerators and stoves. Large 37 inch flat screen TVs and classic Catalina art by a local artist. Choose a king or two double beds. Simply the best value on the island. No other Catalina Island hotel even comes close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your El Terado Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Terado Terrace Hotel Avalon
El Terado Terrace Mini Hotel
El Terado Terrace Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing