We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value! We'll be back!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Terado Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Terado Terrace
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Value! We'll be back!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We booked a package which included the Catalina Express, taxi to the hotel and 2 nights stay and got a really good deal.

We arrived in Catalina by 10:30 am and our room was ready and we were able to check in early. The man at the front desk inquired as to our plans while there and gave us very helpful advice, suggestions and directions. He was very friendly.

We were in room 105 which has no ocean view. The view from our room was a partially constructed home but the room was very clean and spacious and the bed was very soft and comfortable. We were not in our room much anyway. The only bad thing was the water pressure in our bathroom sink was extremely low but we were able to use the sink in the kitchenette to wash our hands and brush our teeth. The water pressure in the shower was very good though. The kitchenette is fully stocked with plates, glasses, mugs, eating utensils, bowls, can opener, cookware, sponge, dishsoap, etc. The refrigerator came in handy to keep our drinks cold and to store leftovers. There is a Vons and a Vons express just a few blocks away to purchase groceries. The air conditioner worked very well.

When checking out, we used the 3rd party baggage service which was very convenient since we were not leaving the island until 3:45. We just left our bags at the front desk and they were available at the port when we got there. We paid $4 per bag and it was worth it!

The walk uphill was really not bad to me. It was just 2 blocks up from the main strip with a moderate incline. One day we even hiked 17 miles and the walk uphill still didn't feel bad to us.

Room Tip: Purchase a package which includes round trip transportation from the mainland
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JT4012174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    111
    45
    18
    14
See reviews for
125
173
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Margarita
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Catalina is pricey and we booked this hotel because it was two beds and had a kitchenette for a little over $200 a night. The location is a bit uphill, but not too bad of a walk. They offer a free taxi ride from the dock, so that helps with the initial walk with luggage. The room was clean, but older, the carpet was older and had a smell to it. The attendant was not always there but they had a phone at the front desk and would respond to requests fairly quickly. Overall, not too bad of a stay, but I may look for something else the next time I stay at Catalina.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValueFinder_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

El Terado is up the hill from the main strip, not "two blocks" from the beach as the sales rep stated over the phone. The room was small and clean. The shower nozzle was set in a low position, which made showering a bit of a challenge. The beds were stiff. No Wi-Fi, but AT&T was giving me full bars. The manager was friendly and helpful. But my room was next to the front office. I could hear ever conversation and phone call. By 9pm all was quiet. For the price it was OK, but in the future to avoid walking up a steep hill after a long day of adventure and/or drinking; I would spend a little more money to be on or closer to the main drag.

Room Tip: Look for internet specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationFamilyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HESPERIA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Very clean, courteous, hotelier. For the money this place was great. Very cute outdoor sitting areas. Kitchen was bigger than I expected and room was roomy enough to comfortably add a rollaway bed. The hill we had to walk up was not so bad. Location was a little off the main road but really worth it allowing a goodnight sleep. Staff was very courteous and prompt. Had an amazing time. Thanks Ivan!
The q's

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qrandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HESPERIA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Very clean, courteous, hotelier. For the money this place was great. Very cute outdoor sitting areas. Kitchen was bigger than I expected and room was roomy enough to comfortably add a rollaway bed. The hill we had to walk up was not so bad. Location was a little off the main road but really worth it allowing a goodnight sleep. Staff was very courteous and prompt. Had an amazing time. Thanks Ivan!
The q's

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qrandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, Ca
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

My wife and i stayed at the El Terado Terrace for 3 nights, April 2011. While overall the hotel is not too bad, depending on what you are looking for, it was not exactly what we were expecting. First, the good. The rooms are clean, and the beds are soft and comfortable. There are newly upgraded full kitchens, which would be great for a family on a budget. We didn't use the kitchen, other than to have some coffee, and eat a couple of deserts we brought back to the room. The bathroom was very small. We couldn't seem to get the air conditioning to work, but there was a ceiling fan which worked out OK for us as it wasn't very hot anyways. We arrived on an early boat, and arriving at 1030 was no problem, our room was all ready for an early check in.

Now the not so good. The hotel is only two and a half blocks from the beach, but those blocks are straight uphill !!! It wan't easy just dropping back to the room, as it was quite a trek up the hill. We ended up taking a taxi one time after a dinner, and that ran us over $8.00 for a few blocks. No where on the website does it state this, and if you were elderly or disabled, there is no way you would make that trek every time. Second, the "ocean view" room we had was barely that. We could see a small part of the ocean a ways off over the roof tops of all the buildings and houses. Not much of a view. Third, after a long day getting over to the island, we decided to take an afternoon nap. While this was about 2 in the afternoon, we figured it would be quiet enough to take a nice nap. Wrong!! we were greeted with what sounded like two small children running and riding? up and down the hallway for hours. the building is all wood, and this echoed all over. We understand the need for kids to play, but this was definitely too much for a quiet nap. I tried to go to the front desk, but was greeted with a sign stating the attendant was out "walking the property". I waited, but no one came. After a while I used the red phone on the wall to call the desk clerk, and when I told him about the kids, he said he would take care of it. Apparently, the children are his or someone else who lives below the hotel. The noise did stop then, but came back several times over the three days...definitely not the peace and quiet we were looking for. So, overall the rooms are nice enough, if not old, and would be great for a family or anyone not looking for that great view or total quiet, but not for the romantic or peaceful getaway for couples.

Room Tip: Check out there website for pics of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JJ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

With a marthon on the island taking up so many rooms and needing multiple night reservations, El Terado Terrace was able to accomadate us. We were able to go over for a single night and stay in a wonderful townhouse that fit the 6 of us with ease. In fact, we all are planning a weekend if not week long trip and would love to return back to El Terado. The beds were comfy, the rooms were clean and the kitchen was a great added bonus. Even the view was great, though tucked away but our second floor rooms took care of that. For 6 people this was a great spot, could have had more even. It was clean, spacious and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheve121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.3 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Terado Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Terado Terrace

Property: El Terado Terrace
Address: 230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Terado Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Islands Best Hotel Value, no other Catalina Island hotel offers full size suites & townhomes at hotel room prices. All new spacious suites. Deluxe Hotel Suites with granite counter tops, fully equipped kitchens with full sized refrigerators and stoves. Large 37 inch flat screen TVs and classic Catalina art by a local artist. Choose a king or two double beds. Simply the best value on the island. No other Catalina Island hotel even comes close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your El Terado Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Terado Terrace Hotel Avalon
El Terado Terrace Mini Hotel
El Terado Terrace Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing