We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Margarita”

Mi Casita Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 49 Restaurants in Avalon
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Redding, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic Margarita”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch on a visit to Avalon. Margaritas are huge and delicious. Carnitas were tasty, not greasy as at other places. Service was very good. They didn't serve tap water (due to drought conditions) but bottled water was available for fifty cents.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bfh195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    73
    47
    24
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Best Margarita and the dinner was tasty too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Recently spent time on Catalina Island relaxiing on our honeymoon. Our list of to do's was to relax, snorkel and enjoy the island. We did it all! Our condo accomodations came with a golf cart so when we were not swimming we were out gallivanting in the golf cart and that's where we found this little mexican food treasure. Loved the hospitality, drinks, and food. Make sure to have the Top Shelf Margarita. Cheers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Margaritas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I popped in for a snack and a drink. Our quesadilla was okay, nothing great. The margaritas were huge and tasty. If not for a decent margarita, I would've given a lower score.

Helpful?
Thank DodgersMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Probably the worst place Ive ever been”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Looked like a great mexican place with a huge menu and lots of choices. I ordered a salad to start with french dressing, they had no french, ok I asked for italian, came back - no italian. They said they had vinegar and gave me a bottle of balsamic. I asked for olive oil and they had none. they then brought me a container of something and I asked what it was and she said she didnt know. Youre going to serve me something and you dont know what it is but expect me to eat it?? no thanks.
I ordered a rice and bean burrito with guacamole. looked like something out of a can. the guac was so salty I could not eat it. seriously.. and I LOVE guac. The service staff was uninterested and very poor. I honestly have to say this is the worst restaurant Ive ever been too. SO many other places in Catalina... should have gone elsewhere and I recommend you do as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank smellbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Yummy dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had dinner here our first night in Avalon. I have grilled shrimp and the house margarita, both of which were very tasty!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebWen1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Casita Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Mi Casita Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing