We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Bother”

Mi Casita Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 49 Restaurants in Avalon
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very average Mexican food. Disappointed to be served bottled or canned salsa! Food was only so-so; waiter not particularly friendly or interested. $7 guacamole appetizer was tiny & tasteless.

There is a new Mexican restaurant being built on the main drag, wait for that one to open to see how it is, don't bother with Mi Casita unless you want Taco Bell type of food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    73
    47
    24
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So So Mexican Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Really not all that good. Perhaps okay for a large family group with children. Waiter was not that attentative and hard to understand. Would not go back although it was typical cheap Mexican food and you get what you pay for. They could do a little better. Easy location. Good handmade margarita!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lexie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Abomidable service and breakfast”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had to ask the waiter numerous times for breakfast menu and hot sauce. The menus finally came but never the sauza. I had omelette and although the cheese was good it tasted as if cooked in lard. Others at the table complained of their breakfasts. Good bloody mary though. Waiter was too interested in gabbing with coworkers.to provide good service and owner must know he has poor personnel as he put 15% gratuity on bill. I normally tip 20% but this was a 2% episode.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Pretty darn god food, great margaritas! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here while out biking the island. We have some darn good Mexican food where we live and this was pretty darn good too. The chips were warm fresh and tasted homemade. My margarita was huge and strong but very tasty. Food was good and didn't taste "canned" to us.

Helpful?
Thank Da2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mexican,Island Style-Great Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Great Margaritas, Food was fresh and delicious. It was a December night and the Island felt like a ghost town. It was me and my girlfriend eating and drinking a couple of margaritas which went great with our fresh meal. They stayed open for us. We had a blast and lost track of time. With it being dead and late they did not rush us, still made us another round of margaritas. Marisol our waiter was Great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Centurionspqr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Casita Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Catalina Island, CA
 

Been to Mi Casita Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing