We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss Room # One at the Edgewater!”
Review of The Edgewater

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Edgewater
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Arcadia, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Room # One at the Edgewater!”
Reviewed July 19, 2006

My wife and I stayed in Room One - their best room - at the Edgewater, July 16 and 17. It has a fabulous view of Avalon Harbor, the beaches, and of course, the famous "Casino". This hotel is located on the beachfront street, Crescent Ave, and is close walking distance to most of the popular attractions, restaurants, etc. AND... it is located in the area where the city DOES NOT allow motorized golf carts... which are NOISY and create fumes! This is a major problem with most of the other hotels on Crescent Ave... which is another way of saying, "Keep your windows closed all of the time"! We enjoyed the fresh ocean air with no fumes, no flies, cool air, and no problem with people noise. The staff and owner Marcy Kennedy will bathe you in TLC!! We highly recommend the Edgewater Beachfront Hotel.

J & S

Arcadia, Ca

  • Liked — Great view
  • Disliked — lack of air con
  • Tips/Secrets — no
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank GOFAST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    20
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
32
60
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2006

My wife and I visited Catalina for our anniversary, and we stayed at the Edgewater on the advice of a friend. We were pleasantly surprised by the quaint hotel and its friendly staff. We were able to check in early and were pleased with the clean, well-appointed room (Room 7). Vicky greeted us at the front desk, and Marcy, the owner and fellow USC Trojan, checked in on us to make sure all was well.

The Edgewater is located right on the boardwalk, so it is convenient to all of Avalon's shopping, dining, and beach life activities. Great location, and our room was far enough off the strip that we did not hear any karaoke noise or foot traffic... the upside of having no view. The comfy bed also took us right off to sleep after long days of touring the island.

We had a great stay in Avalon thanks to the Edgewater and its friendly staff... We also enjoyed catching a movie at the Casino Theatre, the Mexican food at the Catalina Cantina, watching the drunken karaoke singers at El Galleon, libations at Luau Larry's, and meals at both Armstrong's and Antonio's on the waterfront.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RyanB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 18, 2006

From the moment that we entered the hotel to the stair case to the front desk ... this second story hotel although it is an older building the decor in everyone of the room was beautiful... the room that we had booked was the ocean view and my goodness the view was definately unbelievable.... the windows overlooked the entire bay and the beach was a second story arms reach away... the rooms very clean and the service incredible... the owners were very helpful and even let us use there golf cart for our own tour and on our own time with not rush for the carts return... we love the edgewater beachfront hotel and the dog carlton was another cute feature... thank you

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 17, 2006

We recently stayed at the edgewater and had such a wonderful time. check in is at 3:00 p.m and arrived at 11:00 a.m. We asked the Hotel proprieter if we could check in early,she said yes as soon as the room was cleaned, I asked if we could have a room that was already clean(the ocean front suite)in it's place,and she said yes.The room was un-believable,the view of the ocean was my favorite thing.She was also so kind to our two children(4 and 8).Carlton the hotel dog was also a sweetheart,my 4 year old looked forward to giving him treats everyday.The edgewater is a very quaint, cozy little secret in catalina. I look forward to going back next year,the G family room 1

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2006

After reading the reviews here, I was disappointed with the Edgewater. We had an oceanfront suite which was described as having two separate bedrooms. In reality it had one bedroom that the main door opened into and a sitting room with a futon. You have to walk through the bedroom to enter or exit the room. Since we were staying there with another couple, this was not very convenient. The bedroom was well decorated, but the rest of the room was looking a bit worse for wear.

My other complaint is that it shares a wall with a bar that has karaoke night on Saturdays and the noise comes right through the wall. Nobody warned us about this.

Positives were the view and the fact that they were willing to let us have the room for just one night. Most places in Catalina have a two-night minimum.

In summary, for $300 a night it left A LOT to be desired.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank senor_hamachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2006

Eight-room hotel. The two oceanfront rooms looked like they have an amazing view. Our room, room 6, had a dreadful view- no window to outside, but a window to a little area with a skylight and a view of the AC unit in the room next door, which made a high-pitched hum. It was the kind of room you don't spend more than an hour in, which is not too bad since you mostly want to be outside when at Avalon anyway.
The breakfast was inedible- the kind of muffins you get at a gas station store.
Other than that, it was a very clean hotel (despite being a pet-friendly hotel). The beds were amazingly comfortable. We slept really well.
It was way overpriced at $170 but it seems like the hotels in Avalon are all pretty expensive. Luckily, the food is not. We found the best mexican food we've ever had at Mi Casita restaurant on the side street near the hotel. The hotel was pretty handy in terms of the location- on the main little pedestrian street near everything. And it was quiet.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lovetheocean888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 28, 2005

I recently proposed to my girlfriend at the Edgewater Hotel. Prior to traveling to the hotel, I asked the staff (Vicki) if they could help me surprise my girlfriend by having rose petals, candles and champagne in one of their fantastic ocean view suites when we arrived. They said "no problem, we will take good care of you." Not only did they take care of me, but they went above and beyond my request! There was a path of rose petals from the entry way to the main room....There were rose petals surrounding the jacuzzi bathtub...There were rose petals in the shape of a heart on the bed with 2 long-stem roses in the middle of the heart...There were 3 candles surrounded by rose petals on the coffee table...there was champagne on ice above the lit fireplace. Needless to say, both my fiance and I are very grateful to the Edgewater for making our engagement day and weekend an unforgetable one. We will defintely be coming back to this hotel for a long time to come. If you like quaint and cozy with a fantastic ocean view, this is the place to go. And we can't forget to mention Carl the greeter!

Kathy and Mark

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater

Property: The Edgewater
Address: 415 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 1602, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#6 Family Hotel in Avalon
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Edgewater is a boutique hotel located on the historic Santa Catalina Island. This family owned and operated establishment, located in the heart of Avalon, is just steps away from the water's edge, front street shopping, tours, restaurants and nightlife. Our boutique hotel offers two spacious deluxe Ocean view Suites, which can be connected, and six well-appointed Fountain-view rooms. Each room and suite features complimentary wireless internet, Ortho-pedic (R) beds, flat screen TVs, cable television, air conditioning/heat and luxurious down comforters. Our suites provide guests with custom built mini bars and indoor sitting porches that overlook picturesque Avalon Bay. The Edgewater offers kitchen access to guests, which is equipped with a microwave, U-Line (R) ice maker, and coffee maker, paired with a selection of coffees and teas. Continental breakfast is set up each morning in the lobby kitchen. During the summer months, complimentary afternoon wine and cheese is available, as well as beach chairs and towels, upon request. The Edgewater Team welcomes you to enjoy your stay at The Edgewater! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Avalon
Edgewater Hotel Avalon
The Edgewater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing