We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Delightful Hotel with Warm and Friendly Hosts.”
Review of The Edgewater

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Edgewater
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Souther California
1 review
“A Delightful Hotel with Warm and Friendly Hosts.”
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We recently had a delightful stay in one of the front rooms which have views of the harbor and walkway which are great. You could sit all day at the window in the front of the room and watch the activity in the harbor as well as the pedestrian traffic. The room, as well as the hotel, is beautifully decorated and attractive. Our hosts, Barbara and Beverly, were warm, friendly and knowledgeable about places to go and things to do.
We are looking forward to another very enjoyable weekend at the Edgewater.
Visitors from the mainland

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank br0ker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    20
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
32
60
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Great Location!! You get the homey atmosphere when you stay there. They go out of there way to answer any of your questions about the island and offer information about the things you can do with your family while on the island.
I know my husband and I will be going back for another stay in 2010.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

From the moment we arrived everything was superb! The hotel location across from the harbor was perfect, easy access to restaurants, tours and ocean activities. The hotel was very bright, beautifully designed and decorated. The staff was so helpful, and knowledgable about the island. We have already decided to go back soon.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eabarrdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Sierras
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

You can't beat the location and the beautifully renovated rooms. It is right on the beach front walk. The rooms have all been recently renovated, and are comfortable and pleasing. The hospitality of the management was superb. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photoalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Got one of the front suites for a four night stay in Avalon. And we just loved the extra living space, the front sitting area with convenient wi-fi, and being right on top of the action with such a tremendous view. Room was clean, neat, and as stated quite roomy. We spent a lot of time in the front sitting room just relaxing and taking in the stupendous view. Tuesday eve was simply nice and serene going to sleep with the sound of the lapping waves providing the white noise, same on Wed eve....but ugh on Thursday it was a challenge trying to sleep with the overwhelming sound of 'bad' karaoke blaring through the walls; ugh! And on Friday it was worse. So if you're an early to bed, early to rise type I would suggest bringing your ear plugs or perhaps considering another hotel :-(

BTW: Short five minute walk (pulling luggage) from terminal to hotel.
BTW-2: Easy, easy transition from Long Beach Airport via taxi to ferry terminal, and same coming back and getting to the airport.
BTW-3: Great oysters at the Lobster Trap, the place doesn't look 'all that' but its homey, great personnel, and the food is pretty darn good and not all that pricey.
BTW-4: The beach fronting the hotel was posted NO Swimming due to poor water quality, though at the beach just 'round the corner (Descanso Beach) the water was just fine; great for swimming as well as snorkeling. See: http://www.visitcatalinaisland.com/avalon/poin_descansoBeach.php
BTW-5: If you're a runner, note all roads in Avalon eventually go UP. If you run up Mt Ada Rd, and decide to go to the other side be advised that the flat coastal return (Pebbly Beach Road) is posted as closed to all except commercial vehicles. Meaning, if you do run to other side the only way back is to turn around and run back UP Mt Ada.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbihler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2009

I've never rated a hotel but live by the reviews of others. This exceeded our expectations!!!The rooms are beautiful and clean, pillowtop beds with duvet are so comfortable, location is amazing, and staff is so nice and helpful. Thank you Barbara and Beverly for the 5 star treatment!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meowLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2009

We stayed at the Edgewater the weekend of the Buffalo Run. The hotel has been recently remodeled and is under new management. We rented two rooms, the front room with the ocean view and the 2nd room in. The rooms were absolutely gorgeous! The bed was so comfortable...everything so nice and clean. And, of course, location, location, location...right in the heart of town. We had a great time and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater

Property: The Edgewater
Address: 415 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 1602, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Avalon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Edgewater is a boutique hotel located on the historic Santa Catalina Island. This family owned and operated establishment, located in the heart of Avalon, is just steps away from the water's edge, front street shopping, tours, restaurants and nightlife. Our boutique hotel offers two spacious deluxe Ocean view Suites, which can be connected, and six well-appointed Fountain-view rooms. Each room and suite features complimentary wireless internet, Ortho-pedic (R) beds, flat screen TVs, cable television, air conditioning/heat and luxurious down comforters. Our suites provide guests with custom built mini bars and indoor sitting porches that overlook picturesque Avalon Bay. The Edgewater offers kitchen access to guests, which is equipped with a microwave, U-Line (R) ice maker, and coffee maker, paired with a selection of coffees and teas. Continental breakfast is set up each morning in the lobby kitchen. During the summer months, complimentary afternoon wine and cheese is available, as well as beach chairs and towels, upon request. The Edgewater Team welcomes you to enjoy your stay at The Edgewater! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Avalon
Edgewater Hotel Avalon
The Edgewater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing