We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just get's better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Edgewater

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Edgewater
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just get's better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

The Edgewater has been my families favorite place to stay for years. The staff is fun and committed to making your stay memorable. The rooms are clean and the views are incredible. I would recommend this place to anyone. Weather it's your first time on the island, or your fiftieth! It's Avalon's best kept secret.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgewater, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Greetings from The Edgewater!

Thank you for continually coming back to The Edgewater! It is the highest compliment for you to come back year after year with your family! It is our pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward to your next island getaway!

All the best,
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    20
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
32
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I have now stayed at this hotel multiple times, and am always satisfied with my decision. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the room is always clean, stylish, and quiet. There is a magnificent view of the harbor, and you are in walking to distance to all the bars, restaurants, and leisure activities that you desire. I think it is the most convenient hotel on the island. We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliePT03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgewater, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Greetings from The Edgewater!

We are so pleased to have you as a loyal Edgewater customer! Our friendly team, centralized location and gorgeous views allow us to offer our guests not only island sophistication but an overall memorable getaway. Again, we thank you for allowing us to provide you with island accommodations and look forward to your next visit!

All the best,
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Edgewater is absolutely my favorite place to stay in Catalina. This is a charming hotel located on the Catalina boardwalk, right in the middle of everything and just across from the water. We stayed in one of the ocean front suites which has an enclosed patio; perfect for people watching and lounging when you want to relax. The owner of the hotel, Barbara, is wonderful and so helpful. She made wonderful recommendations on things to do and places to eat. I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Highly recommend one of the oven view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgewater, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Greetings from The Edgewater!

We are so happy that you chose us as your Catalina accommodations on your recent trip to the island! Our Ocean View Suites offer the best of of everything; gorgeous views from the indoor sitting porch and close proximity to dining, shopping and activities. We are glad we were able to assist in making your most recent trip memorable and look forward to your next visit!

All the best,
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

My family and I vacationed on Catalina for a mini family reunion. We decided on The Edgewater for its location, positive review history on social media sites and recommendations from the Catalina Island Chamber of Commerce. What a great choice! We rented both front suites as we couldn't fit into just one. The suites are adjoining rooms so having them open allowed us to enjoy the view and our privacy while catching up with the cousins. Knowing it was a special occasion, the hotel had flowers waiting for us in our room which my mom truly enjoyed. It's all about the personal touch and The Edgewater staff sure delivers. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff11112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgewater, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Greetings from The Edgewater!

We are so very pleased to hear of your great experience at our establishment! It is very special that you chose to have a family reunion at The Edgewater! Catalina is a magical place and we welcome you back to make future memories! Again thank you and we look forward to your next visit!

All the best,
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Called to inquire about staying for two nights. I was quickly informed that they don't have portable cribs or pack and play type cribs for babies. Hmmmm. Guess they don't want families.
We were hoping to stay there but will have to look elsewhere.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgewater, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Greetings from The Edgewater Team-

Thank you for inquiring with us in regards to accommodations for your upcoming island vacation. We welcome families, including children. Many families come back to our establishment year after year and we have never received a complaint of this nature. Our amenities are listed on tripadvisor as well as our website and families have always preferred their own portable cribs. Due to the quick nature of the our call, we were not able to inform you of an island business which provides portable cribs for families. These child accommodations have been delivered to our establishment in the past and set up in the room prior to guests arrival. We hope you were able to find a hotel of your liking and enjoy your trip to Catalina Island.

Regards,
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Edgewater is truly the complete package! Family owned and operated, the staff were warm and welcoming upon arrival. Their hospitality was undeniable ensuring we enjoyed our entire stay and providing recommendations of places to see throughout the island. Our suite was inviting and offered a fantastic view of the Pacific. Situated right on Front Street, the location is ideal and just steps from the beach and numerous restaurants and shops. We had a wonderful weekend and cannot wait to travel back to The Edgewater for another getaway soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImJustJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgewater, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Greetings from The Edgewater Team!
We are thrilled you enjoyed your weekend getaway to Catalina Island! There are many lodging options on the island and we thank you for choosing us. The team looks forward to your next visit where we can provide even more recommendations of island fun!

All the best,
The Edgewater
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We needed to go somewhere and unwind. We headed over to Catalina and stayed at our favorite place "The Edgewater Hotel" and we were not disappointed!
The staff there were very welcoming and attentive to our every need. They let us know about a new restaurant in town called Maggie's Blue Rose. We tried it and came away wanting to go back. We will on our return to the island.
It was just a relaxing experience at The Edgewater especially when we had wine on the patio with friends.
Too bad we had to come back to the mainland as I was really getting to enjoy the island life!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are the best. We stayed in room 8 and had the most peaceful sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgewater, Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your positive Edgewater review.
The Edgewater Team looks forward to your return.
We are happy that you had a "great get away" experience!

Thank you,
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater

Property: The Edgewater
Address: 415 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 1602, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#6 Family Hotel in Avalon
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Edgewater is a boutique hotel located on the historic Santa Catalina Island. This family owned and operated establishment, located in the heart of Avalon, is just steps away from the water's edge, front street shopping, tours, restaurants and nightlife. Our boutique hotel offers two spacious deluxe Ocean view Suites, which can be connected, and six well-appointed Fountain-view rooms. Each room and suite features complimentary wireless internet, Ortho-pedic (R) beds, flat screen TVs, cable television, air conditioning/heat and luxurious down comforters. Our suites provide guests with custom built mini bars and indoor sitting porches that overlook picturesque Avalon Bay. The Edgewater offers kitchen access to guests, which is equipped with a microwave, U-Line (R) ice maker, and coffee maker, paired with a selection of coffees and teas. Continental breakfast is set up each morning in the lobby kitchen. During the summer months, complimentary afternoon wine and cheese is available, as well as beach chairs and towels, upon request. The Edgewater Team welcomes you to enjoy your stay at The Edgewater! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Avalon
Edgewater Hotel Avalon
The Edgewater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing