We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of El Galleon

El Galleon
Ranked #17 of 49 Restaurants in Avalon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We went with 6 adults and 5 kids. We chose El Galleon because it was somewhat noisy and we figured it would drown out the noise the kids made. The staff was very accommodating to our large group and were able to rearrange tables to fit us. This was probably made easier by the fact that we were there somewhat early (6:30). Walking in, my expectations were pretty low. The inside could use a lot of sprucing up. The service was average. We had to repeat ourselves several times as our waiters first language was not English, but we were able to get our order understood. Surprisingly, the food was very good. I ordered char- grilled salmon which was delicious. All the seafood dishes were fresh and prepared well . The kids ordered burgers which they enjoyed. Another person in our group ordered a steak which was done to order. All in all, we enjoyed the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    204
    116
    35
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and Great night life!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The food is great, reasonably priced and accommodates large groups and families. The fish dinners are plentiful, the calamari is tender and tasty. The nachos are huge! And the drinks are wonderful! There is Karaoke after 9pm for everyone and after 10pm its 21 and over and a lot of fun! The only place to do karaoke on the island. So much fun!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“El Tired”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

It was ok. Not good. Not real bad. Just tired. This used to be the "go-to" place a few years ago. But hospitality and service are no longer priorities. Staff showed attention when they wanted their tips. But it took a long time to have the order taken and a long time to get served. Tables were sticky with stuff not cleaned real well. Food was ok - but nothing to travel 26 miles across the sea for.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quicksilvermessanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Fun Place”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Great place for viewing the passing Avalon scene while enjoying massive margaritas. This is the place for a rousing good time. Packed most evenings for drinks and music. Many enjoy the casual food, burgers, fish, etc. Others just go for a fun evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seamusb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Restaurant with Identity Crisis”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I think this place tries too hard to please everyone with steaks, fish, pasta, chicken, pizza and even stir fry and it all ends up being mediocre. I was expecting and wanting bar food, but not a hamburger or fish sandwich on the dinner menu. Just avg food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurensaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Galleon also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to El Galleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing