We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Galleon

El Galleon
Ranked #19 of 49 Restaurants in Avalon
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Went for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

When we first got to Avalon we checked in and went and ate lunch here. The food was good, but the service seemed slow (Even with nobody else in the restaurant). We stayed a few days and we found much better food and service at the other restaurants.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MistyRim2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    200
    114
    35
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little bit of everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great food! From pizza to artichokes to halibut - all the food was fresh and flavorful! Great service and great view! SIts right on the main street looking out onto the beach.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Disgustingly nasty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Don't make the same mistake I did and come to this dump. The name of the place should be overcooked as that's what eveything was. Chicken wings hard and overcooked, asked for medium rare steak, that came charred to death and the seafood alfredo was water with a splash of milk and overcooked seafood. The waitress asked how the food was and we told her it was horrible. Think we got an apology? Nope.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AVOID at all costs!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stopped by El Galleon to pick up a quick lunch to go. It was anything but!

We requested two sandwiches, with sides, on whole wheat bread. After a HALF HOUR wait, they finally arrived, BOTH on the wrong bread, one WITHOUT the side dish. Good thing I checked before leaving! I asked the hostess if she could please correct the orders, and she took them both back to the kitchen. Ten minutes later, the orders came out again. This time, the missing side dish was included. One sandwich had been put on the correct bread, but was thrown into a plain box without any fixings (lettuce, tomato, pickle) which were originally included. Point taken. Don't ask for the correct order or the kitchen staff will punish you!

The other sandwich was STILL on the wrong bread. After all our time and trouble, I was too exhausted to ask for it to be fixed again. So I asked her to just give me two slices of toasted wheat bread and I would transfer the contents over myself. When she returned, she said the kitchen staff were yelling and cursing at her. They said they were going to charge us extra. WHAT??!!! They screwed up the order in every way possible and made us wait an eternity for it, and they were going to charge us extra??? They should have given us a refund for our trouble!

I asked to speak to the manager, but he was "at the other restaurant."

Mistakes happen. But there is NO fixing poor customer service with a staff who have bad attitudes! The hostess was nice, but she could not fix the problem. This place is a lost cause. AVOID it unless you relish unnecessary aggravation! Surely there are better quality places in Avalon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mochicatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG BEACH
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Family friendly Mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Perfect place for a taco and beer after a day at the beach. The "eclectic" atmosphere and slightly more reasonable prices make this a good choice for families as well as Margarita lovers. Decent food, considering your a boat ride away from "the mainland."

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanAboutTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Galleon also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to El Galleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing