We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveler rating
627
70
8
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
627
70
8
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskoi pondrooftop deckcraftsman stylecatalina islandwrap around balconysea salt scrubcontinental breakfastbeach bagcomplimentary snackshumming birdsfire pitmemory foamgarden viewboiled eggsbath productsbottled waterlittle touches
Filter
Updating list...
610 - 615 of 714 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2010

From the great water pressure in the morning shower to the fire pit for wine and cheese in the evening, the Avalon Hotel had everything I could have asked for in a reasonably priced hotel. When talking about the experience, I have to start with the staff. They were courteous, helpful, and up-beat throughout the process, even helping with reservations for travel to/from the island. They were knowledgeable about the area attractions, and were always looking for our feedback on activities so they could pass along information to other guests. The location was excellent, close enough to the boardwalk for convenience, but far away enough and high enough to remain quiet and peaceful. The upper (roof) deck offered an outstanding 360 degree view of the bay and the island from a comfortable and private location...great for sipping morning tea or some private sun bathing. The room itself was well laid out with enough space for people, luggage, and amenities (fridge, microwave, TV, and personal safe) without having to step over things to get around. They even considered the little things in the bathroom, like a heated/lighted mirror to avoid steaming up, bath/shower shelves in places that actually made sense and could hold your stuff, and even a robe for your convenience in going to/from the beach or up to the deck in your bathing suit. But don't just stay in the room. The hallways are full of historical photos of the hotel and the island and well worth wandering for a few minutes to take them in. Tough to decide what I liked the best, the views, the service, and the entire environment were all wonderful. But what I really liked the best was the peaceful, relaxed feeling I walked away with at the end of the weekend that comes from a stress free and well cared for experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

The Avalon Hotel is a nice little boutique hotel, but is a long way from being the best. The rooms are small and cramped, the hall way carpets are dirty, and the stairs leading up to the roof are too steep with small foot pads. It has a nice accommodating staff, but they mislead me when they told me the hotel had wireless. It doesn't. The fine hotel experience just isn't there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swaggerstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Just stayed here this past weekend. Great service by (forgive me for massacring the spelling of your names!) Lori, Shadarcha & Scotty.

1st off, I highly suggest CALLING for a reservation. We attempted to do this by e-mail but our lines kept crossing. Once we decided to call, it was smooth sailing from there!

Room 306 was clean, well lit, strong central a/c (much needed during the heat wave this weekend), fan over the bed with a great view of the ocean, Casino Ballroom & the mountains. We had a private balcony with two chairs & a fridge outside. We were able to play card games & drink beers while watching the sun go down (yes - we are facing East but you know what I mean...it got DARK!). We had a great view of the sunrise each morning as well!

Only two small items that weren't perfect...the water pressure in the bathroom sink wasn't that strong (not surprising since we're on the top floor) but the shower had great pressure (a good surprise)! And the bathroom towels (1 out of 3 on both days) had this odd mildew scent to it. The towels were clean, fluffy & thick but I think whatever dryer they are using just isn't strong enough so maybe run the dryer another 5-10 minutes? I understand that we're by the ocean & the humidity doesn't help matters. Anyway, neither things made me want to lower this from a 5 star rating.

We got in early on Friday morning & they fully accommodated us not wanting to lug our bags around so we just left it with them until our room was ready in the early afternoon. Same thing for the Sunday check out at 11 a.m. Our boat left at 5:15 p.m. so we just left our bags as we went for a golf cart tour & laid out at the Descanso Beach Club and then came back to pick them up around 4:15 p.m.

They serve a complimentary continental breakfast each morning from 7:30 a.m. to 10 a.m. I saw fresh fruits, yogurt, cereal & milk, coffee, OJ, scones, croissants & English muffins. Everything was fresh, self serve & tasty!

They also had complimentary water bottles & Snapple bottles waiting for us in the interior mini fridge as well. They let you rent from a large collection of DVDs as well as provide you with an internet cable for free internet at the front desk.

We definitely will come back to this hotel on our next trip to Catalina!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juls333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

The room & bath were clean and comfortable. There didn't seem to be anything that was overlooked. Patio breakfast, extras such as hair dryer, robes; even a clothes steamer!
Scotty and Laurie gave exceptional service! Scotty was always there when you needed him, seeing to the lugage even as we docked at the Landing! Carried heavy luggage up three flights of stairs, smiling all the time! Laurie was extremely helpful at the desk, finding maps for us and checking on massage times and tips!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed at the Avalon hotel and really enjoyed our stay. We had an elderly person in our party (80+) who had a difficult time navigating the stairs to the third floor. This was really our only complaint that when we booked we did not realize that a "garden view" room was actually on the third floor.

Something else worth mentioning that we found odd was they have a sign on the 4th floor (deck) which is the sun deck overlooking Catalina Bay. The sign say's something to the effect that if you are caught upon the sun deck after 10:00 p.m. the Inn Keeper will ask you to leave the B&B. We found this odd. If someone is 86'd in Catalina after 10 p.m. where are they going to sleep? On the beach? At any rate we had no problem complying with this rule.

This B&B is absolutely charming. We will be staying here again. I highly recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USMCCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews