We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Camarillo, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed March 1, 2007

First of all, Catalina is a great getaway and as they say in Real Estate location is key. The Avalon is a great location and has beautiful views. We stayed in Room 301 and the view was spectacular. Although the room is small, the wrap around balcony made it feel much larger. This hotel has an eye for detail. Beautiful woodwork, stained glass, foyer, gardens and Wow views from rooftop deck make this hotel special. Also appreciated were the 350 count sheets, thick towels, bathrobe, and great bath products.The staff is helpful and friendly and made dinner reservations for us at Steve's Steakhouse which was absolutely fabulous. Beautiful views, great food, impeccable service and Steve, the proprietor, makes every effort to make sure your requests are fulfilled. Don't miss Steve's signature dessert, Key Lime Pie, which we took back to our Hotel room balcony and devored while sitting on lounge chairs overlooking the water and nightlife on Avalon. Although this Hotel is not inexpensive, they endeavor to make it a first class operation. Note, however, this hotel does not have an elevator, so if you are on the third floor, be prepared to walk stairs. So, what, get the exercise and an extra portion of Key Lime Pie!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank CaApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    63
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
89
420
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2006

I have to rave about The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island. We spent our Christmas in this charming place and the location + the staff made it one of our best Christmases EVER!

We ended up at the hotel by chance, having booked into a different property on Catalina which had been recently purchased by the owners of The Avalon Hotel. Apparently we were very, very good this year, as Santa (in disguise of the Avalon staff) upgraded us to this lovely Craftsman-style Hotel. It's impossible not to love this place, the staff welcome you as though you are family that they've been waiting all year to see (and help you with anything from hot cocoa to restaurant reservations), the rooms are spacious yet cozy, you are in the heart of Avalon, but just far enough off the main drag to enjoy the peace and quiet even on a cruise ship day . . .

We couldn't decide if we preferred the rooftop deck or the garden courtyard, so we spent pleny of time in both. If you are looking for absolute luxury without a trace of snobbery -- book into The Avalon Hotel!

Paula Swenson + Steve Kramer

p.s. the tangerine-sage soap is heavenly!!!!

  • Liked — Friendly helpful stff
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank zografis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2006

Didn't think I could actually add anything more after reading the other reviews, but I just could not ignore the fact and wanted to share what a wonderful experience we just had with The Avalon Hotel.

From your first point of contact to the very end, the whole experience was just wonderful and pleasant. They actually greet you down on street level if they know which boat your on and help with your luggage up the stairs to the lobby. When you walk in the lobby you are encouraged to help yourself to the lovely treats and drinks in the Lobby at no additional cost. The craftmanship of this hotel is again unbelievable. From the wood to the tile to the local artwork.............

They check you in and give you every bit of attention like you are the only ones there. They give you the history of the Hotel of what it was and what it became. They are very in depth of attention to detail. Nothing goes un noticed. Every employee that we came across treated us like house guests of theirs and not an actual hotel guest. What was theirs was ours if we needed it. Laptops, no problem, no questions asked. Provided for no charge at all. They have DVD players in the rooms and a library to check out if you want to view a DVD again at no charge. MP3/IPOD connectors for their alarm clocks. Forgot your cell phone charger no problem they have a variety at the desk for you to use while your staying.

The beds are unbelievable, the best night of sleep I have ever had. I just may buy one, I'm told they are a preferred dealer for the mattresses.

The entire room is immaculate, you feel like you are the very first guest to ever stay in that room.

The bathrooms are very modern and extremely spacious. They have their own line of amenities that was created entirely for the hotel and again it's available for sale if you have truly fallen in love with it and can not live with out it (Shampoo, Conditioner, Bubble Bath, Shea Butter, Salt Scrub, Bar Soap and Suntan Lotion). And 2 thumbs up for a bath towel that actually fits around you:) Don't pack a robe because they have very nice ones for you to use.

The best part is using that robe in the morning and heading down to the garden to enjoy their complimentary breakfast which you can sit by the fire pit or closer tot he Koi pond and enjoy their wonderful seasonally spread of fresh fruits and local pastries and breads. Choices of granola and yogurts and bagels and English muffins and many varieties of teas and coffee. Juice and milk is also available.

And do not forget to go to the famous roof top deck and soak in some sun or star gaze. Again a beautiful view that can not be beat any where else, a must see.

They have my vote of the year of the best places to stay! I will be back and make this an annual trip and I will tell everyone of my friends and family what a wonderful experience we had.

Hats of to the owners of doing a wonderful job and Hats off to the employees for treating us so well.

We will be back:)

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Room 301 is amazing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Loveadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2006

We spent two nights at the Avalon Hotel in mid-November 2006, and our stay ranks up there with the best hotel experiences we've ever had.

Just three stories high, with maybe a dozen or so rooms, the Avalon feels very comfortable and home-like. We had difficulty pulling ourselves away from the hotel to explore the island.

The hotel is right in the middle of Avalon, so everything is a short walk away. We could have easily walked there from the ferry pier, had we known how close it was.

The rooms are large and beautifully furnished in a contemporary version of Greene and Greene craftsman style architecture. Our bathroom had the deepest and most comfortable bathtub we've ever experienced, and we admired the internally illuminated mirror and glass lav basin. We were provided with lined, luxurious bath robes to wear as we enjoyed the bay views from our window. Even though our room overlooked the courtyard, and wasn't considered to be an ocean view room, we could see the water just the same.

The refrigerator was stocked was juice, bottled water and other items that were free to use. No hidden charges here. The coffee, tea and cookies were also complimentary. We greatly appreciated the sumptuous breakfasts in the courtyard, which was nicely designed and featured a koi pond.

The Avalon is one of the few hotels in Catalina that have a rooftop terrace. The staff encouraged us to use the wine glasses from the room. Sipping California wine while looking down on the lights of the village and bay at night was an experience we won't soon forget.

When we returned home again and realized that we had forgotten our jackets and a few other items in the room, the hotel contacted us (before we could contact them), and sent the articles to us at their expense.

We highly recommend the Avalon to anyone who needs to get away and recharge. Our only regret is that we only had two nights to spend there. We will definitely be going back.

  • Liked — views from rooftop terrace, location, room features
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank godZilla28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2006

I loved this hotel! The location is perfect - you can walk everywhere, yet it is set back enough from the main street to avoid noise. Our deck off our room (306) had a great view. But, as all reviewers said, it's the rooftop deck that makes this place. It's so great. We had it to ourselves the entire time we were there.

Oh, the hotel will loan you a laptop computer while you are there! Unbelievable!

Also, the bath products at this hotel are so good that I bought some! I never do that! The soap and shampoo are great, but they also give you a salt scrub as well as shea butter lotion that is simply the best! It smells so good.

The breakfast served each morning was great, plus they put out cookies every day.

Do yourself a favor and stay here!

  • Liked — Rooftop deck, bath products
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Savvytraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, Ca
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2006

Went over to Catalina for weekend getaway. My girlfriend couldn't have booked a better hotel (she didn't really have a choice as it was the last room available on the entire island but it ended working in our favor). We stayed in the cheapest room overlooking the patio which was perfect. In the morning you open the sliding glass door, look down, and see breakfast being setup. We are very detailed oriented and so was the hotel; complimentary snacks, flat screen wall mounted tvs, quiet as can be, away from the main street which is packed with tourists and loud delivery trucks. None of that was an issue here. The rooftop boasts an amazing view of the water and the sleepy town.

The staff was attentive to every need. As I said, I wouldve paid twice as much for the cheapest room available. I can't wait to go back and upgrade!

Thanks Avalon!!!

  • Liked — attention to detail, quiet, serene, convenient
  • Disliked — a rooftop jacuzzi would be a nice addition :)
  • Tips/Secrets — simpel. If there is a room available spend the extra money and stay at the Avalon
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leah and Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

As other reviewers have already noted, this hotel is beautifully decorated with great attention to detail. The outdoor patio where breakfast is served is cosy and shaded, but perhaps the best feature is the roof deck with its view of the harbour. I could have spent my entire stay sitting there and watching ships go by....

The beds are extremely comfortable (I'm almost sold on buying one of those mattresses!) and the bathrooms are very nice, products and all. No hairdryer, so bring your own. Clothes hanging space was fairly limited (in our room at least), so if you're going to a wedding like we were, choose your outfits with that in mind...

There had been a problem with our booking, but the staff was very forthcoming and dealt with it beyond expectation.

I found the rates somewhat high for what you get, but hotels on Catalina are significantly more expensive than on the mainland, so you might as well pay the extra and enjoy this place. We will definitely stay here when we go back.

  • Liked — The roof terrace
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank avkavk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
507 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Property: The Avalon Hotel
Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing