We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Wonderful Stay!”
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Abilene, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Wonderful Stay!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here at the Avalon Hotel for our honeymoon, It was such a great experience! It is a very nice hotel with all the latest amenities, but still small enough to be cozy and intimate. The staff certainly exemplifies that atmosphere, and we were so well taken care of. New beach towels, drinks, and coffee everyday in the rooms, not to mention snacks and coffee any time from the Keurig in the lobby! The continental breakfast was extensive as well. We stayed in 301, with a full ocean view. Such a spectacle, overlooking Avalon bay! The rooms were very clean, the beds were very comfy, and the decor complimented the feel of the island and culture very well. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and if we ever go back, we will certainly not think twice about calling on the wonderful ladies at the Avalon Hotel again. 5 Stars!

Room Tip: 301 is the room to stay in! Full ocean view on private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roanclement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    62
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
86
413
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

First time to Catalina. We narrowed down our search and chose the Avalon hotel. So glad we did! The location, views and rooms are excellent. Had 302- balcony with ocean view. Get the three night special. The 360* roof top view and lounging area is beautiful, as is breakfast in the courtyard with the koi pond, fire pit and hummingbirds! The decor is beautiful craftsman style wood. Amenities are generous- snacks, water, coffee, lotions. The innkeepers are nice- thanks Laurie and staff. The reason it's better than the others is because it is nicer, newer, smaller, and quieter than some of the other nice properties (except for construction right now) but still only a minute from the main street. Also more private and charming. The golf carts are fun. Get a free Von's membership card to save money at the grocery store. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: get a top floor balcony- 302 was perfect- but the rooftop area makes a non balcony room just fine! n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenSpaExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Located across the street from the beach, this boutique hotel is worth a short stay. We especially liked the roof garden with its sweeping views of the Avalon Harbour. It's about a ten minute walk from the Avalon Express - easy to get to with suitcases on wheels.

What we did not like was the noise of vehicular traffic which starts about 0530 and continues through late evening. Also most of the rooms, including ours, have no windows and are very tiny. But, heh, who spends much time in their room when visiting a lovely oasis like Catalina Island!

Room Tip: Great inn for a two-night stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelburne,VT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Recently we spent an abbreviated trip to Avalon
First the hotel is beautifully appointed, wonderful modern bathroom and tub, delightful and clean room with a balcony. Breakfast garden is relaxing, tropical with sufficiently available breakfast essentials. Our first floor ocean view had a balcony overlooking the street. there was some minor street noise, but expected with first floor.
Our trip was shortened by a death in the family and the staff of Laurie and Ellen could not have been more understanding and accommodative. They refunded our unused day and helped with letting us use the room all day until 5.40 ferry.
This was not the least expensive we could have booked, but I find that you usually get what you pay for. On our next trip to Avalon we would unhesitatingly stay her.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We went for our 30 year anniversary and took my parents also. The staff took such wonderful care of us. Our room was nice and clean. The lotion, body butter and body scrub is awesome. They also sell it and of course I bought some. There is water and snapple in your room. The room top has a beautiful view we spent alot of time just looking out at the boats and the ocean. The staff gave us lots of information on anywhere we wanted to go. The staff is so good to their customers. Thank you for a wonderful time and a very nice Inn. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherrise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I booked a Ocean View Room, when we arrived the front desk clerks were fantastic. The room was great and the view was nice. We were there for my birthday, and had a great time. They had wine and cheese on the patio in the evenings. Continental breakfast every morning on the patio. The Koi pond was nice. Would definitely stay here again next time we head to Catalina.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for the Ocean View rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATouchofGoldTanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My three girlfriends and I booked the Ocean View Room 201 for a two-night weekend stay. We were initially sold because the price was right; once we got there we were sort of bowled over by how truly awesome this place was. We were checked in by Laurie who was beyond accommodating. She gave us a tour of the charming breakfast patio and pointed out the generous continental breakfast, the unlimited supply of fresh fruit and snacks in the lobby, and the rooftop patio access. She also let us know that the rooms were stocked with bottled water and Snapple at no extra charge. As if that weren't enough, our room itself had an awesome view and an amazing bathroom. It was clean, and the front desk staff was consistently friendly and helpful. It was also perfectly situated so that it was close to everything but still quiet at night. Finally, the free taxi to and from the boat was a lifesaver.

My only criticism is that the bedding/curtains would benefit from an update. However, I'm really being petty by even mentioning it. You will not be disappointed if you book a room here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#13 of 20 in Avalon
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Property: The Avalon Hotel
Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing