We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awesome Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Victorville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We went for our 30 year anniversary and took my parents also. The staff took such wonderful care of us. Our room was nice and clean. The lotion, body butter and body scrub is awesome. They also sell it and of course I bought some. There is water and snapple in your room. The room top has a beautiful view we spent alot of time just looking out at the boats and the ocean. The staff gave us lots of information on anywhere we wanted to go. The staff is so good to their customers. Thank you for a wonderful time and a very nice Inn. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherrise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    53
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
72
362
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I booked a Ocean View Room, when we arrived the front desk clerks were fantastic. The room was great and the view was nice. We were there for my birthday, and had a great time. They had wine and cheese on the patio in the evenings. Continental breakfast every morning on the patio. The Koi pond was nice. Would definitely stay here again next time we head to Catalina.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for the Ocean View rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATouchofGoldTanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My three girlfriends and I booked the Ocean View Room 201 for a two-night weekend stay. We were initially sold because the price was right; once we got there we were sort of bowled over by how truly awesome this place was. We were checked in by Laurie who was beyond accommodating. She gave us a tour of the charming breakfast patio and pointed out the generous continental breakfast, the unlimited supply of fresh fruit and snacks in the lobby, and the rooftop patio access. She also let us know that the rooms were stocked with bottled water and Snapple at no extra charge. As if that weren't enough, our room itself had an awesome view and an amazing bathroom. It was clean, and the front desk staff was consistently friendly and helpful. It was also perfectly situated so that it was close to everything but still quiet at night. Finally, the free taxi to and from the boat was a lifesaver.

My only criticism is that the bedding/curtains would benefit from an update. However, I'm really being petty by even mentioning it. You will not be disappointed if you book a room here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

It was my husband and my 10 year anniversary and he took our family to The Avalon on Catalina. Laurie and the other staff were so helpful with recommendations for us, accommodating our busy three year old son (feeding the fish in the koi pond was a big hit) and our baby daughter, and we found the entire hotel experience here to be so relaxing and inviting. Our large corner room had beautiful views, two balconies, and an updated bathroom, and the location is fantastic. Right near everything without being on the noisy main street. The Avalon feels more like a bed and breakfast, much more personal than many other hotel experiences. We loved it so much we bought two of their signature coffee mugs. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I took my girlfriend here for her birthday and we had a great time. The service was exceptional. Room was and entire hotel was very clean. We loved the location as well. Short walk to everywhere; we are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelGD494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were there in Aug 2013, and the hotel and its staff were friendly and accommodating. The hotel has a very nice B&B feel to it as well. The room was clean, spacious, and I would recommend the rooms with a balcony and view of the ocean (it's well worth the price). I echo the others who write about the no elevators - not an issue for us at all, but for those who can't climb stairs - it may be an issue. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TQT1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Aside from the hotel being at such a beautiful location (with views, views, views), it's about the experience. The staff are most gracious (seemingly effortlessly, Diana got our group checked in -- including special requests, room swaps, and who knows what other "craziness" . . . and Ellen is practically their onsite tour guide). The breakfasts in the well-groomed garden (with a wonderful koi pond) were so blissful, and with flare, they "turned up the dial" to a festive garden dinner -- including a rooftop reception with wrap-around vistas. The front desk extraordinaires took care of everything -- no inquiry was too small (or impossible). Thank you, thank you for a fabulous . . . just fabulous experience!

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are sunny / warmer, while northern rooms are cooler. Southern rooms have the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dukemeister2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Catalina Island Inn
Catalina Island Inn
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Property: The Avalon Hotel
Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing