We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our Expectations and Rosy was AMAZING!!”
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded our Expectations and Rosy was AMAZING!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I went to Catalina for the first time. a few weekends ago and Purchased a Weekend Getaway package over the phone with Rosy. He was so helpful, she definitely goes out of her way to take care of her guests at the hotel. I can't even believe that she has only been working there for only 2 months yet it seems that she has been there forever. She is from Catalina so she has so much knowledge and is extremely helpful at recommending activities for us, restaurants and all the most-dos on Catalina for a rookie.

This Hotel is in a perfect location. So close to the beach yet far enough where it is quiet and peaceful. love their garden area, the koi pond and all the humming birds in the garden.

Their complimentary continental breakfast was great!! LOVED every bit of it. And not to forget the Complimentary Wine and Cheese in the evenings (Thank you Laurie you were great!). They also have a Keurig coffee maker and tropical flavor iced tea in the lobby.

I highly recommend this Hotel to everyone. I'm back home already planning our next trip to Catalina.

Thank you so much ladies for making our trip unforgettable. You ROCK!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuvmyBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    61
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
85
410
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We purchased a package deal that included 2 nights and roundtrip Catalina Express ride for 2 people. We can't say enough how worth it this deal ended up - with all the service, amenities, staff. This 15 room hotel is beautiful interior and exterior. The amenities and complimentary items you get far exceeds a 4 star hotel. (Read Melodie S review - she listed everything!) We plan to always stay at The Avalon Hotel in our future trips to Catalina. Thank you for making our stay a memorable one!

Room Tip: If you don't do stairs well, book your room on the first floor. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryamasaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

It just doesn't get any better than this. We had an amazing time on our trip to Catalina Island, made even better by the service, amenities and staff of this beautiful hotel. Some people might find the third floor ocean view room with no elevator, challenging to reach, but we were very happy with the room, private balcony (complete with it's own sink and fridge!) and spectacular view of the town and harbor. The continental breakfast on the patio was not very hearty, but it was all we usually have in the morning so this was good for us. Watching the fish in the koi pond and the busy hummingbirds at the feeders was delightful. The room was quiet and peaceful, the bathroom was huge and very modern. We loved the mission style furnishings and the little touches, use of plush bathrobes, beach towels and a beach bag in the room plus generous amounts of spa quality toiletries (loved the sunscreen, soap and body butter!) The hotel offered complimentary taxi service to the ferry terminal and on our last day they kept our bags from check out until our ferry arrived later in the day. Even though we stopped back twice to change, the staff was always friendly and gracious. If we ever get back to Catalina we will be staying at the Avalon Hotel and we have already recommended them to other friends.

Room Tip: Third floor ocean view with the private balcony, very special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanBikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experiences on TripAdvisor. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed three days and two nights at The Avalon Hotel. We had room 305. It is a garden view room, but if you stand at the window, you have a great view of the ocean. In this room, we had absolute quiet and a king size bed. This was our first visit to Catalina, and I know we will never stay anywhere else.

Amenities we took advantage of:
Taxi vouchers to and from the boat dock
Lovely rooftop deck
Continental breakfast on the garden patio (both mornings, I had a piece of fruit, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and half a bagel with cream cheese)
Beach towels and beach bag already provided in our room
In room fridge stocked with complimentary water and Snapple
High end shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, body scrub, suntan lotion, and tangerine sage soaps in the bathroom
Stored our bags after we checked out
Returned after check out to change for the boat
Big flat screen TV with cable
Luxury bathrobes already provided in our room
Keurig coffee machine in lobby with complimentary cartridges
Complimentary ice water, iced tea, and snacks in lobby

Amenities we did not take advantage of:
DVD rentals
Laptops available for check out
Wine tasting on Friday evening
In room microwave
In room safe
In room coffee maker
In room hairdryer
Outdoor shower

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences on TripAdvisor. I’m glad to hear we exceeded your expectations and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Enjoyed our time here immensely. Room # 102 was delightful though there was traffic noise with the sliding door to the balcony open. Our room was spotless & the staff were cordial, professional & most accommodating. Continental Breakfast was excellent & view from 4th floor deck terrific.

Room Tip: Best views from balconies of rooms 301 & 201.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We have a great housekeeping staff and they do their best to assure a clean and comfortable room. We did bring in a sound expert during our remodel to assist us in making our rooms as quite as possible. If our sliding doors and windows are closed, it is very quiet in our rooms. Thank you for choosing us for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went to Catalina to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. Everything was perfect from the beginning Complimentary taxi transportation from the boat terminal to hotel (not that you really need it since it is only about a 10min walk). But since we had very heavy luggage it helped! Once we arrived and checked in around 11:30 to our surprise our room was ready!! Rosy and Ana checked us in and Rosy even walked us to our amazing room.. They have complimentary snacks, passion fruit iced tea (which is delightful), fruit and even a keurig coffee maker at lobby with a full variety of coffees!! We loved the view from our room.. Once we settled in refreshed and went back downstairs Ana and Rosy were extremely helpful with recommending things to do in town and recommended several restaurants (Steve's, Lobster Trap and Villa Portofino are a must!) . Thank you so much ladies and specially Rosy for recommending those great tours and for setting them up for us! Ladies you definitely exceeded our expectations and we will be coming back soon. We even got $50 Gift card for a discount towards our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relax-lady30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I’m so glad to hear that Rosy and Ana were able to make your stay a special one. They will be happy to hear your kind words and we’ll be sure to thank them for exceeding your expectations. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
2 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and I selected the Avalon hotel for our 29th wedding anniversary, Upon arriving via cab, we noticed that our bag with libations was leaking. Unfortunately, a bottle of Jameson was broken by the cab driver. The hotel proprietor, Lori, learned of this and sent someone to but us a new bottle of Jameson - she would not take no for any answer. This is just one example of how the Avalon Hotel goes above and beyond. The courtyard breakfast and the Friday night wine and cheese get together for the guests are other great touches, The hotel personnel exude enthusiasm and hospitality. In her next life, Lori should be teaching other hoteliers how to treat guests so they really do feel special. Thanks to the Avalon Hotel - our anniversary rocked.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, choose a courtyard room. If you like to people watch, choose a street s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Congratulations on your 29th wedding anniversary. We are so glad to hear that we were able to make it special for you. Thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
488 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Property: The Avalon Hotel
Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing