We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A fantastic weekend away!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic weekend away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

My boyfriend gave me a trip to Catalina for the weekend as a Xmas present. He chose a weekend in July, flew us over by helicopter and then booked the best room at The Avalon Hotel, 301. It has a wrap around balcony with an amazing view of the harbor and casino. The hotel staff was amazing, helpful and extremely nice. Morning breakfast in the courtyard of on the lighter side, Friday afternoon wine & cheese on the courtyard. Coffee, cookies and drinks all day along available. There is also a roof top deck with lounge chairs and BBQ. Full sun, no need to fight for a space on the small beaches.

Room 301 was a nice size. I did peak into other rooms that seemed much smaller, so I loved our room. They provided wonderful smelling soaps and shampoos in the bathroom. Everything was so clean, neat and warm. We sat out on our balcony to get some sun and enjoy some champagne that the hotel was kind enough to put in our room the first night. Diana was extremely helpful and made sure everything was wonderful. The Innkeeper, Lori, was gracious and just what you would want from a B&B owner.

Loved Catalina. Highly recommend the zipline on the island. Jake and Matt were the best guides. Had a blast and cant wait to return to the island and the Avalon Hotel. We will certainly be back for another adventure.

Room Tip: Must get Room 301. Book early as this room is worth the wait. Although on the busy street, the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    57
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
73
376
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I were trying to squeeze in a trip to Catalina around a demanding business trip schedule in late June. As I search for hotels, condos, b&b's, etc., I was lucky enough to find one night vacant between two longer guest reservations exactly when I needed it. I was delighted to find the avalon Hotel. Two days before my arrival, I received a call from one of the staff who was just checking to see when we'd be arriving. As it turned out, she made the ferry reservations for me, too.
After a day of cross-country travel that began at 3 a.m. EST we were exhausted. We were so glad that there was a free taxi from the ferry! Upon arrival at the hotel, we found that the staff made us feel like longtime friends who were coming for a visit.
We didn't realize that the hotel offered "happy hour" but we were so glad that they did! we needed a quick shower and then a glass of wine to relax. The views and the weather were wonderful!

We also didn't know that breakfast was included but we were so pleased that it was. At the cocktail hour and at breakfast, we met friendly people and chatted with them.... like you do at boutique hotels. Laurie and Marie (???) were very accommodating and kind. Our room had one little glitch - a toilet that didn't want to flush - but they took care of that as quickly as we mentioned it. The views from the rooftop were picturesque. Our room had a little balcony right on Whittley. We enjoyed coffee and a nightcap there. Although we are not "city dwellers" we found that the golf carts were quiet enough- especially later in the evening - that we kept the windows open during the night for the refreshing breezes.

On our way back to the ferry, we elected to walk. We had very litle luggage and the weather was spectacular, so we shopped and snacked our short distance from the hotel to the ferry for our return trip.
All in all, I heartily recommend this hotel. it is more like a friendly "inn" than a hotel. One caution... I didn't see an elevator and the steps throughout Avalon - not just at this hotel - are a bit steep.

Room Tip: For the best views, ask for a 3rd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne4078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just had a 2-night stay and I thought it was AVERAGE. The biggest thing was the lack of communication. They never told my party about the "free" taxi ride from the dock. We thought the hotel was close to the dock so hauled all our stuff and it turned out to be considerably further than we thought...upon arrival they told our sweaty selves that there was free taxi service. We took advantage of it when we left.

If you stay here, DO NOT accept a room above Whitley Street. The gas-powered golf carts might as well be driving through your room. Intolerably loud. It is so bad that if they don't guaranty a room in the back, I wouldn't stay there.

The rooms are spacious though the queen beds are too small for my taste. The people are friendly and accommodating. I had a bad experience because I was stuck in a bad room. However, at $500+ a night there is no excuse for that kind of experience.

Room Tip: Get one that is away from the street. VERY noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed in room 301 for 4 nights, 5 days, ocean view with wrap around balcony. It was a splurge but well worth it. From the moment we entered the room we were stunned by the beautiful views of Avalon bay and the hillsides. You are close enough to enjoy breath taking views but far enough off the main street as a buffer for the night life noise. The place is close and central for walking to everything in Avalon.
The outdoor balcony had a fridge with a freezer where we kept our frozen peas for the fish in Lover's cove and also our wine and booze. The interior of our room also had a fridge where they kept it full of water and snapple. All of the hotel folks were so nice. Laurie made sure everything was taken care of.
The room had everything we needed from cork screw to thick bath robes. The big catalina tiled bathroom was stocked with great coconut shampoos and soaps and even a hair dryer. The bed was so comfortable.
We woke up to the peaceful courtyard to a wonderful breakfast and the sound of the beautiful fountain with huge koi fish that they let us hand feed with koi food from the receptionist. I always was the early riser and they would light the fire pit to take the morning chill off. It was the most wonderful way to spent every morning planning our day's adventures.

Room Tip: 301 ocean view if you want to splurge but so worth it. Wrap around balcony was so nice to soak up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Avalon. We stayed for 2 nights and that included 2 Catalina Express tickets and a cab voucher, so it turned out to be a really good deal. We had a third floor courtyard view room with a King size bed. I will warn you - no elevators.The room was a nice size, and the bathroom was very large. The weather there is so nice, you can just open the windows to stay cool during the day. The bathrooms have San Diego Soap Co. products, and the smell of the orange/sage shampoo and lotions is awesome.

We found the staff to be helpful and friendly, suggesting the easiest way to get to a hiking spot and reserving a spot for us on the Airport shuttle. There is a expansive continental breakfast each morning, snacks and drinks in the rooms, and other refreshments available in the lobby. We would highly recommend this as a place to stay. The hotel is small and quiet but still right in the middle of all the Avalon action. We would highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: There are no stairs, so if you don't want to climb with your luggage, this might be something to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Avalon Hotel was wonderful and relaxing. The patio area with
the koi pond and fire pit made you feel welcome. My twin grandchildren
loved feeding the koi each day. The breakfast each morning was ample
and yummy. Laurie Sanchez, the innkeeper was most helpful with everything.
We hope to return soon! Ann Vogel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnGrady_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This the 2nd year that my wife and I have stayed @ this hotel. The service,rooms,amenities and location are excellent. The hotel staff can not do enough for you. They have a continental breakfast that is great. We were there on the 4th of July and the hotel had a free dinner with wine and rooftop view of the fireworks. This hotel spare no expense to keep their customers happy. We will be back next year with our same friends!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Terado Terrace
El Terado Terrace
#10 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Property: The Avalon Hotel
Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing