We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Stay In Catalina After All These Years....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay In Catalina After All These Years....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband and I haven't been to Catalina in about 10 years so we were due for a visit. I checked trip advisor and discovered that The Avalon Hotel was number one. After reading all the reviews and calling for a reservation we decided on room 205. Although 205 didn't have a balcony it was less expensive, a slightly larger room and quieter. One of the best things about this hotel is that just about everything is included which is unusually nice. Included in the price was bottled water, a in room coffee machine, wifi, complimentary wine and cheese on Friday night, continental breakfast every morning and great products in the bathroom. They also offered free taxi to the hotel from the boat (although it was so nice out we walked instead!). Room 205 was very comfortable, nice king bed, refrigerator, microwave, flat screen tv, nice towels, ceramic mugs for coffee, glass wine and drinking glasses....nice. Our room had a sliding door over looking the patio and the sound of the fountain in the courtyard. We did hear a little noise from the room above us (#305) but nothing too extreme. The rooftop patio was gorgeous and it helped that the weather was so nice. The courtyard, where the breakfast is served and the Friday night wine is served was also very lovely. There is a little bit of a climb up the street from the boardwalk, and then a row of stairs to the main level so keep that in mind if you have trouble climbing. All in all a great visit. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would stay here next time.

Room Tip: We thought 205 was a good room although if you don't mind all the stair climbing 305 would proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 040912nn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    57
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
73
376
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We spent three relaxing, comfortable nights here and we hated to leave! Our room was large and comfortable with view of the ocean. A great continental breakfast served in a beautiful garden courtyard complete with a koi pond, fire pit, and active hummingbird feeders. Terrific desk staff too, especially Cindy. Very convenient location to harbor. Loved the tangerine sage lotions and shampoo. Elegant Craftsman decor looked like it had been there for years. Loved the little touches --- free water and Snapple in room refrigerators, 24-7 Keurig machine with lots of k-cup choices, the salt water taffy on the desk. . . .Very roomy bathroom too. We felt as though we were VIPS during our entire stay.

Room Tip: Room 201 or 301 are best rooms in house --- we stayed in 201 and had a large balcony with view of oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dswgr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Upon arriving to the hotel the women at the desk informed us that our room wouldn't be ready until an hour after our scheduled check in....that wasn't good, yet they went or of there way to make sure we were happy, me and my wife were very happy with there eagerness to keep us happy. Cyndee and Joanna at the front desk were great. If something was wrong they did Anything to make it up to us! Loved our stay! Loved our honeymoon!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stlrfn36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

My parents and I adored every detail at The Avalon: the attentive, personable service, the gorgeous Craftsman design, the breathtaking rooftop view (perfect for drinking wine), the delicious tangerine sage body products, the original artwork and the delightful, yummy, fireside complimentary breakfast.

We stumbled upon our room at the Avalon through a serendipitous extra night in Catalina due to no boats leaving or coming to the island as the wind made the ocean swells too high. We had been walking past the Avalon to our original hotel and I kept saying I just wanted to peek inside because I loved the unique mural on the side of the Avalon, which is painted to look like an underwater scene but all the marine life are custom porcelain tiles. Go look at it!

Once inside, we met the Innkeeper, Laurie, who gave us a little tour and showed us a room. She was gracious and offered us a gorgeous corner room with two balconies at "the stranded rate", which was lower than our previous hotel, a true bargain for us, which made my dad happy. What a treat! The Avalon Hotel is a treasure!

We all loved the Craftsman-style, leather and wood furniture, the earthy pine green accents in the bedspreads and warm wood, which makes the room feel like a home, not a hotel. I slept on the Murphy bed, which also has the memory foam mattress, which is really comfortable. Our room had a refrigerator with complimentary water and Snapple drinks. The cotton/rayon robes are cozy, the artwork is tasteful and the bathroom has pristine white tiles, a gorgeous sink, and deep tub. The tangerine sage body products include a sea salt body scrub, which you rarely see in a hotel. I work in a spa, so I really appreciated this attention to detail. Be sure to notice the shadow boxes in the hallways with vintage postcards, memorabilia, and photos of Avalon; truly beautiful, original artwork.

Our favorite parts of the Avalon were the gorgeous rooftop to sip wine and enjoy the view and the cozy patio with the gas firepit where they served a delicious complimentary breakfast that included hard boiled eggs, fresh strawberries, bagels, muffins, pastries, yogurt, granola, juice, tea and coffee. The patio has hand-made Catalina tile accents and is surrounded by lush palms, a fig tree, and flowering plants alongside a tiny little Koi pond. Laurie even let my dad feed the fish!

I noticed they have an outdoor shower to rinse off the sand if you've been to the beach and in the lobby they have complimentary Nutter Butter cookies and a single-serving coffee maker so you can choose your own blend. My parents bought two earthenware coffee mugs with the hotel name on them to remember our very special unexpected stay at this cozy, warm, hotel, which is very well-run.

It is a romantic place and I would highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a getaway, yet it wasn't too frilly for a family visit either. I'm 40 and my parents are Baby Boomers and we were all raving about our stay. If you're looking for a break from the ultra-modern style of most hotels these days and want to enjoy cozy, warm decor, private balconies, friendly service, and attention to detail, I recommend the Avalon Hotel without hesitation. It was a superb experience, which is saying something because I work in a spa in a Five Star Hotel so I know what excellent service looks like! Job well done Laurie, the Innkeeper!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two balconies and look out towards the ocean (though not directly oceanfront, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skelly71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montebello, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Excellent place to stay in Avalon, friendly and helpful staff. Continental Breakfast is Superb!!

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floors have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I love beautiful places in out of the way spots and the Avalon Hotel certainly qualifies on both counts. Located just off the beach drag, the Avalon sports lovely Craftsman style (think wood and etched glass) interior architecture, ocean and garden views, and spotless accommodations. To my astonishment, it also has Tempur-pedic (!?!?) mattresses and good coffee, always a hit with us. As well, the hotel offers a continental breakfast every morning and hosts a wine and cheese gathering for guests on Fridays out on the patio by the firepit. These folks are either crazy or know how to run a proper hotel . . . I'm betting on the latter.

We stayed three days and made inquires about long-term apartment rentals, which garnered some laughter. We also met the managers, notably Laurie Sanchez, who helped us make reservations for everything from dinner to jeep tours; more gracious hosts are not likely to be found, so quit looking and stay at the Avalon. It was a lovely experience we hope to repeat.
Neal and Claudia

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank puckerstoppled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Clean, beautifully remodeled, mahogany paneling and natural woods. Great staff. Rooms are smaller, but that is normal for here. Reminded us of a cruise ship room, small and elegant.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mslaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Terado Terrace
El Terado Terrace
#10 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Property: The Avalon Hotel
Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing