We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Totally Worth It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally Worth It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My girlfriend and I took advantage of a mid-week special for 2 nights and it was TOTALLY WORTH IT. We had such a great time, the hotel was beautiful and cozy. The staff was incredibly helpful (shoutout to Lori, she was the besets!) and overwhelmingly polite. Everything about our stay was perfect. Thanks so much, we hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Even if the room doesn't directly face the ocean, the rooms on the street side have large balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    53
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
72
362
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I stayed here last weekend with my daughter. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and the view from my room, number 201 was great. Breakfast was splendid. I enjoyed myself so much, that I am returning in a few weeks.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This place is a rip off! Everything on the website is hype! At best, the views, beds, breakfast and service are all modest. This hotel promises a lot, charges a breathtaking rate, even by Catalina Island standards, and then fails to deliver!

I sensed trouble when I checked in and was solicited for a tip on a un-totaled, restaurant style credit card receipt. For what? The pleasure of accepting my online reservation and $400+ deposit? While I would consider tipping for excellent service on checkout, it is a low-class (or grossly careless) business practice to imply this consideration at check-in and a lie to present such a receipt and pretend it means anything different.

Since my visit to Catalina was a special event, I selected Room 101 based the website’s description of it. Definitely DO NOT reserve room 101 if you want any quiet or privacy. It's only one level above a busy street and about 10 steps from the front desk/lobby. The room itself was a HUGE disappointment! I expect some hype on a business’s website, but this one is borderline fraud. For this room the website describes “dramatic ocean vistas” and a “plush queen bed.” I would describe the view, from a standard sized window around another building and down a street, as “modest” at best. The bed and bedding are third rate even in comparison to current chain hotel standards. The bed had an uncommon, twenty or so pound, horse blanket type bedspread but no blanket underneath. It was extremely unwieldy and uncomfortable. The mattress was some type of foam (as advertised) but far inferior to standard foam mattresses.

The service was disappointing, too. We left our room at 9 am and returned momentarily around 2 pm and it still wasn’t serviced. I specifically requested at the front desk that it be serviced since we were returning in an hour to prepare for a late afternoon event and then dinner and was completely brushed off. We returned at 3 pm and waited 30 minutes more for our room to be ready. I would not normally comment on such an incident, but this lack of service combined with a discount hotel quality continental breakfast; cheap, store bought cookies and other highly touted but lackluster amenities, and uncomfortable room at the weekend rate of $860 makes the Avalon Hotel, in a lifetime of worldwide travel as a military and airline pilot, the biggest hotel rip off I’ve ever experienced!

In short, big price, big promises, but just not worth it.

On the plus side, I strongly recommend Brown’s Bicycle Rental, the grilled fish sandwiches at the Lobster Trap, morning coffee and fresh baked goods at the El Encanto Courtyard, dinner at Villa Portofino and the couple’s massage by Lavina and Sarah at the Aurora Hotel if any of those activities are of interest to you. Except for rate to quality ratio at the Avalon, our visit to Catalina was a blast!

Room Tip: Avoid room 101; uncomfortable bed, noisy. Perhaps avoid all lower level rooms as the street below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
We are so very sorry that you feel The Avalon did not met your expectations. We are an independent boutique property and while our amenities and environment please most of our guests it obviously was not a fit for you.
Our beds are Supplepedic, which we choose after much consideration. We get many compliments on our custom comforters; I apologize that they were not to your liking. As for not having a blanket, perhaps you did not notice it as the beds are triple sheeted with ironed, 350-thread count sheets; the blanket is contained within the sheets.
As mentioned in an email to you, we recently switched credit card companies, which is why you were given a restaurant-style credit card slip. It was not a “solicitation” of tip, nor would one have been accepted. We are in the process of rectifying this situation.
Once again, I do apologize for your room not being serviced when you requested it.
I hope you return to Catalina and find a property more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coggeshall, Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago as a last minute getaway. We were here for three nights and it could not have been a better experience! Ken took our reservation and was beyond helpful and accomodating. They had no rooms available with a balcony for our first night, but Ken made sure we had a balcony room for the next two nights and that really made the trip for us! We loved sitting out on the balcony on our glider bench, sipping wine and looking out at the water. Ahhh... Perfect. The view from the rooftop deck was breathtaking. (Though I will say that even the room without the balcony was still great. It had a view of the courtyard with a bit of a water view. No complaints about that room).

Laurie was so nice to let us check in early. We drove down from the Bay Area, took the early ferry to Catalina, and arrived at the hotel at 8:30am. Our room was not available at that time of day, but Laurie was so sweet and said we could hang out on the roof deck while we waited for check in. She knew we were exhausted, so when our room became available, she gave us a call on our cell phone and let us know we could check in early! How nice is that?

During our entire three night stay, we honestly had not one complaint about this hotel and its staff. Everyone was so personable and helpful. The hotel was spotless, the decor was great. Everything is in great condition and the place seems to be recently remodeled. We loved the natural citrus toiletries and soaps. I could go on and on about this place. We would definitely like to return again!

Thanks Laurie and Ken for making this a great trip for us. :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGTipsip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

First Class in ever way. I wish we could have spent more time . Others could
learn from this operation. I would highly recommend this beautifully maintained and staffed
propery.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbour View
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Color2do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This was our second time as a guest for 2 nights. The best room is #301,but we had the 2nd best which is #201 with a view of the marina from the room and the 2 balconies as well. The staff are all friendly, extremely accommodating, which makes you feel very much like home. It truly is the nicest hotel on the island, and with a great location for strolling through the village.

Room Tip: Room #301 is the top corner with a wrap around balcony, but #201 has a great view of the marina as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Beautiful hotel, beautiful room, spectacular view of the harbor, one block from everything.
Room 306 has great balcony with a fantastic view.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
A great pace to escape for a romantic vacation.

Room Tip: room 306 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Catalina Island Inn
Catalina Island Inn
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Property: The Avalon Hotel
Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing