We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$389
$377
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$449
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portofino Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$309
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aurora Hotel(Avalon)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveler rating
621
69
8
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
621
69
8
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskoi pondrooftop deckcraftsman stylecatalina islandwrap around balconysea salt scrubcontinental breakfastbeach bagcomplimentary snackshumming birdsfire pitmemory foamgarden viewboiled eggsbath productsbottled waterlittle touches
Filter
Updating list...
524 - 529 of 707 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2012

One would think that being a Native So Californian, that I would have been to Avalon... I have looked with curiosity from the mainland for many years. It is with this background, that I planned a last minute trip to the Island.
On Wednesday, (two days before our trip), I called the Avalon hotel, asked if they had any rooms for Friday and Saturday night. They had a nice partial ocean view room on the 3rd floor... and with a two night reservation, they even offered including the transportation from the mainland as well as the Taxi ride as part of a Package. About 5 minutes later, I had an emailed confirmation of the entire plan.
Everything was as promised. The room was very nice, had an ocean view from the balcony, and the staff was great.
What to expect:
1. great views... from the balconies on the 3rd floor, as well as the rooftop!
2. great service
3. simple but filling breakfast
4. Stairs (there is no elevator) as well as a modest uphill walk from the shore. As long as you are aware of this, there is no problem. Just remember that the 3rd floor is three flights of stairs.
5. Comfortable beds.

The ONLY negative we had was some very noisy people out in the street coming in from a party at midnight. These people were NOT at the Avalon, but were staying at the hotel across the street. They hung out on the front porch for a while until someone finally shut them up. This was quickly fixed by us personally by just shutting the door and window of our room. Again, this was not the fault of the Avalon Hotel, and I only mention it to show that you can still give an "excellent" rating for a hotel while having one negative comment.

Overall, our stay was supreme. We really enjoyed our 2 day respite from the mainland.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has the best views. room 301 is the best (we were in room 302).
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timshuwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay for our 25th wedding anniversary at Catalina Island's Avalon Hotel!
When we arrived at the island we took a taxi to the hotel, which was complimentary of the hotel. We were greeted with a welcoming smile from Laurie at the front desk and a nice bottle of champagne was awaiting us in our room!

The craftsman style hotel has an intimate feel to it, very quaint, with it's beautiful woodwork throughout the hotel, a peaceful courtyard with a beautiful garden and koi pond, where you can enjoy the complimentary continental breakfast. The coffee and scones were delicious!

You can enjoy the beautiful sunsets from the rooftop deck on which you see the town of Avalon and the Pacific Ocean.

The rooms were nice, very clean, with interesting tile work in the bathroom, flat screen TV, refrigerator, and coffee maker. The only thing that could use improvement was the bed. They offered complimentary bottled water and Snapple in the refrigerator in the room, along coffee, tea, hot chocolate & popcorn. In the lobby area they also provided coffee, tea, hot chocolate and plenty of snacks, including peanuts, pretzels, cookies, etc.

The entire staff was absolutely wonderful! They were all very kind, attentive, offering ideas on places to go and restaurants to eat at. We enjoyed a nice conversation with Laurie and one of the co-owners of the hotel while relaxing in the courtyard, they made us feel like we were 'part of the family.'

We also enjoyed delicious food at an unassuming local restaurant, Lobster Trap, that was recommended to us by several of the locals. They serve the freshest shashimi and lobster that they catch daily themselves!,

Our stay at Avalon Hotel and Catalina Island was very lovely and I look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: They have really nice rooms with large balconies facing the Pacific Ocean with views of Avalon in the front of the hotel, (VERY NICE!) There are no elevators, so I would recommend a first floor room if you have trouble climbing stairs.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very glad you enjoyed your anniversary trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

My fiance and I spent a wonderful 3 day weekend at The Avalon Hotel. The hotel was within walking distance (3-15 minutes) of everything we wanted to do on the island. Unfortunately, we didn't venture out to the island as much as we wanted because it was hard to get away from the plush and confortable room and it's amazing view (Room 306). We probably spent 3-4 hours a day looking over the pier from our balcony and concluded that it had to be the best spot in Catalina.

BTW.. They had a posturpedic mattress and pillows in our room. Having stayed at many 5star hotels that do/did not offer that before (Palazzo LV, Bellagio, Wynn Resorts, NYC Plaza, 4 seasons everywhere, La Fonda Santa Fe....) it was quite a treat.

Booking the room was incredibly easy. Having never been to Catalina before and being naive to the logistics of getting to island, the hotel's staff answered email fast and arranged transportation from the Long Beach Airport. They could have not made it more easy.
Not only did they offer an incredible place to stay, they pretty much helped plan the vacation.

The Avalon Hotel is the perfect destination for those who want to relax. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zac K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We didn't know much about Catalina and had no idea where to stay when we started looking. We chose the Avalon Hotel because it was rated #1 by TripAdvisor. We are very glad we did. From the first phone call where they staff answered our questions to working with us to book our boat reservations, they were always helpful. When we got there, they took us up to our room personally and were avaiable and helpful the whole time we were there. We enjoyed our room, the breakfast, the patio, the koi in the pond, and the fire ring on cool mornings and cold nights!!! Come to Catalina, stay at this hotel, and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

I'm glad to hear we were able to make your trip to Catalina memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Our stay was perfect from the first moment when Cindy showed us to our room to the last second when we left feeling as if we were leaving family! The hotel is immaculate, the patio breakfast was beautiful! If you're looking for a big box hotel, this may not be for you. But if you're looking for a lovely, Craftsman style boutique hotel with an amazing staff, gorgeous views and great location, you'll love the Avalon. Laurie, our friendly and helpful innkeeper, Cindy, Melissa, Ken and all the others made this one of our best vacations ever. And we've traveled a fair bit in the US and Europe. We're already making plans for our next trip to Avalon. This is a view of early California at its unspoiled best!

Room Tip: Room 301 has the best view and I believe is the most expensive, but we thought it worth the additional expense. But I doubt there's a bad room in this lovely 15 room hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyce n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews