We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I've never had such a nice experience in a hotel. I don't consider myself a fussy traveler; all I want is a clean room and a comfortable bed. Of course, The Avalon met my expectations and then some. I arrived late on a Saturday evening from New York and Ken knew my name and got me checked in and into my room within minutes. He even helped me with my bag! The lobby was already modestly decorated for Halloween, which I loved, and I managed to restrain myself from the bowl of candy. My room was beautiful, great bed with a flat screen TV and a mini fridge with water and juice. The bathroom was clean, white with towels galore. The robes were luxurious as well as the tangerine sage body butter and other toiletries (Are those for sale guys?).

Since I arrived later in the day I had a quick bite at Sam's Steakhouse and drifted off to sleep. When I woke up at 7:30am I stepped out onto my balcony in absolute awe; the view of Avalon and the Pacific Ocean literally took my breath away. I was on the third floor, and the patio on the roof found away to surpass it, with 360 degree views that made me look like I took photos for a living. I enjoyed complimentary continental breakfast in the courtyard, which was also beautiful.

I had a wonderful time sightseeing in Avalon. The hotel is off the main street so it's not as noisy and I had no problems getting around on foot to the restaurants and stores. Whenever I left the hotel I always got a wave goodbye and a welcome back. The entire staff was professional and friendly.

I would definitely come back to The Avalon Hotel. Laurie and Ken were both amazing and absolutely pleasant to deal with. I was so sad I had to leave that Laurie gave me a hug! I'm already planning a spring getaway with my sister and I've told all my friends THANKS AGAIN

Room Tip: Room 301 is hands-down the nicest room, although any of the balcony view rooms would be nice
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
There are newer reviews for The Avalon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 638 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2011

We had a girls' weekend here in Sept and loved it. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel was immaculate and the location was perfect. Complimentary water and juice in the mini fridge and snacks/drinks in the lobby. Lovely courtyard to relax on and enjoy the free continental breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Lets just say that after reading reviews of most places....i was scared to stay anywhere.....what made it harder was the fact that i only needed one night which was Sat Oct 1st and almost everyone hotel required 2 nights. I had originally contacted the Avalon's sister hotel and spoke with a Romero.....if you ever need help this is your guy! First class and very helpful! He actually didn't have a room for me but was able to find one at the Avalon and let me have it for one night!

Ok....so once arrived we had a partial ocean view which was fine......we planned on being out all day long and then properly inebriated by the time we returned from all the schedule events...........the room was very cute....very clean with a very comfortable bed....kinda like a bed in breakfast........it was perfect. Room 205 I believe on the second floor........the only complaint i had really was the water pressure in the shower.......its just not there....but to be honest.....its weak in most hotels i've been in all over California.

Stew was also great....he is funny and we actually ran into him at the local bar "the Locker Room"..where he was constantly harassed by supposed sexy married women....lol...don't be fooled by most places in town.......they are high priced drink karaoke bars with dying cats singing all night long.....we could only take soo much of that and luckily stumbled into the Locker Room.....local hang.....reasonable drink prices and Live music.........we basically closed the place lol..............make sure you get your drinks from BOB he is the best bartender

Once again.....we just stayed here........This place is great and I would definitely stay again.........

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here one night for our 2nd anniversary, it was very warm and welcoming. As you enter there are refreshments and snacks galore, the rooms are very clean and the sheets feel new, this is a plus!!! They have a BEAUTIFUL bathroom, and room comes equip with a flat screen TV, little fridge with complementary drinks, and the staff is TOP NOTCH! LOVED IT!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Last time I checked, the Hotel Vista Del Mar was the #1 hotel on TripAdvisor. I have to say, while that is a nice hotel - The Avalon Hotel has it beat for sure. I personally like the location better - just off the main drag so you don't have tons of people walking by your hotel every day. Plus, you're closer to Descanso Beach. The manager Laurie is super attentive to guests needs, and one of those people that is truly enjoyable to talk with. They do a wine and cheese happy hour on Friday's at the hotel until 6PM (we showed up at 7, and they were still going) - and the wine was solid! Not some lame two buck chuck (sorry TJ's). Awesome Pinot, Laurie :) They provide a nice breakfast in the morning (we ate cereal & fruit and had nice strong coffee), and you can sit and eat it out in their back courtyard/patio. It's a great spot with lush gardening, koi pond, and fire pit. Something about it reminded me of Santa Barbara.

We stayed in room 202. That room has a king size bed, and a great mattress (memory foam?) It also had a amazing white tile bathroom, and balcony with chairs and a table. It faces the street. Upside is you get the view of the water. Downside is that [golf] carts do travel on it. Wasn't a big deal for us though, and at night we simply closed the balcony door to keep noise out. I assume the other side of the hotel faced the courtyard/patio. Personally, I'd rather have the view and balcony - but I don't think you can go wrong on either side.

Again, Laurie was a great host providing tips on where to eat when we needed cheap eats, as well as a restaurant for a nice fancy dinner. Her & her husband both dive, so if you're into that you'll have a lot to talk about.

I wish the weekend prices were a little cheaper, but you do have the option of coming mid week and scoring really cheap accommodations. Overall, I'd without a doubt stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 202 was great for a couple wanting a King sized bed & balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I'd been previously burned twice on trips to Avalon with hotels that promised luxurious accommodations that failed to deliver, so I was a bit wary of The Avalon Hotel. Was I wrong! Finally, there's a hotel on Catalina Island that delivers what it promises. We were in a relatively small room, but we never felt cramped because it was so well laid out. The bathrooms are great, from the roomy tub to the amenities -- the tangerine shampoo was my absolute favorite! The views are spectacular, and because the hotel is just off the main drag, the rooms are very quiet. There's a lovely continental breakfast should you want to partake, and Ken & Laurie are always there to cater to your every whim. I could not have felt more taken care of, and I look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

husband and I loved this hotel. great views from roof top. room was smalll but very romantic

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lety007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
512 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $220 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing