We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced! Talk about false advertising!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overpriced! Talk about false advertising!”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights for my 40th birthday. How this hotel is rated #1 is beyond me.

The website mentions "elegant decor". Since when is beat-up cabin-style furniture considered elegant? "Plush bathrobes', hah! The robes were so old and rough we couldn't use them. "Decadent accomodations"??? Where, what exactly? I saw that the owner replied to one of the reviews and mentioned complimentary bottled water. There was one small bottle of water for each of us upon arrival. The water was NEVER replaced but there is complimentary tap water in a pitcher at the reception desk if you want that. When I requested more bottled water from Lauri, it was a big deal and I got ONE more small bottle.

When my husband booked the room, he was told we had a balcony. The balcony was 1 foot deep so I don't know if you can call that a balcony since it is unusable.

One night at 10:00pm kids were playing and yelling in the hallway for about 15 minutes until I finally came out and asked them if they could be quiet. They were playing right by Lauri's room (she apparently stays there) and she never came out to tell them to be quiet. Really? Aren't you like the manager or something?

All of this would be completely acceptable had the room been $100/night. But when you are paying over $400/night you expect more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
23 Thank travelerzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations. We have received many compliments on our custom Mission furniture, unfortunately it sounds as if it was not your style. The free bottled water is a smaller size, glad to hear you were accommodated when you requested more. Children do on occasion stay at the hotel, sorry you were disturbed by them. I spoke with Laurie and she did not hear any children playing or yelling at night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    60
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
82
393
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Before going to Catalina, I had read and heard that a day trip would probably be sufficient. But you know what? I would definitely recommend an overnight, especially if it includes the Avalon. Your pace will be much slower and you can enjoy the evening as well as the early morning, looking out over the island from the hotel.

They graciously offer taxi pick-up as part of the room rate, but we found the 10-minute walk a good way to get our bearings after arriving on the Catalina Express. The hotel has been beautifully restored in arts and crafts style with lots of wood paneling and furniture, heavy wooden doors, and large, white tiled bathrooms. The beds and chair in the room were super comfy. There was complimentary bottled water and iced tea in the small fridge in the room.

The view from our room, 201, was fantastic, as it is a corner room. The view from the roofdeck is even more amazing. You can sunbathe in the lounges on the roofdeck if you like.

A continental breakfast including fresh raspberries and blackberries and wonderful berry scones is served outside on the patio. Local taffy is available in a candy dish in the lobby as well as a daily re-stocked snack table with peanuts, pretzels and cookies.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a night or longer at the Avalon.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a baclony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thanks so much for sharing your experiences at The Avalon and we're very glad you decided you needed more than a day trip to enjoy our island paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

As much as we would like out trips to be perfect, there is always a chance for a problem to rear its ugly head. I had just such a problem earlier this week during my stay at The Avalon. To coin a phrase, it is the recovery that counts. Without going into detail, there was an issue during my stay; however the staff recovered and made everything right. In the end, this is a sign of a team that cares about their clients and understands the priority is taking care of the customer.

Both my rooms were comfortable; however I would suggest replacing the bed in my room as my only complaint. The rooms are very nicely furnished and the bathrooms are modernized with excellent tile work and fixtures. The hotel was centrally located, very clean and staffed with a group that cares. Everything I requested with there for me and more. Breakfast was perfect and the exterior patio was very nice with a Koi pond and fire pit. I will return to the Avalon Hotel…

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonicconnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, General Manager at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay and we were able to make everything right. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starbuck, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We had an excellent experience at The Avalon Hotel. The staff were friendly and very helpful throughout our stay. We were greated when entering the hotel and felt like the staff would go out of thier way to help us. The room was clean and had unique features, such as woodwork and tile. We liked the location as well. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer43547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swccatalina, Public Relations Manager at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to let TripAdvisor's readers know about your experiences. So glad you had a great stay. The woodwork, tile and artwork are details that we like to think really contribute to the unique environment that is The Avalon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The room was nice, but the service was terrible. Drinks and snacks in the rooms and the lobby were free, but they were supermarket bought cheap food. Breakfast was equally disappointing with continental breakfast buffet similar to that being served at $40 motels.
There is no elevator in the building and no bell staff, and when we asked the hotel staff for help with our luggage, they were reluctant to help.
We understand that it is a small family-run hotel and located in an over-priced island, but $400 a night for this hotel is ridiculous.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank cucumberchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
I am so sorry to hear that your experience at The Avalon did not meet your expectations. We work very hard to offer a unique guest experience that creates positive memories. Our hotel is historic and as much as we would have liked to we were not able to install elevators when we renovated the property. Most of our guests appreciate our complimentary bottled water and snacks. Once again I'm very sorry your Catalina vacation was not everything you wanted it to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We just returned from a relaxing few days in Catalina. The hotel staff were delightful and went out of the way to ensure that our stay was perfect. We stayed in room 305 which is on the garden side of the hotel, but still had a nice view of the town and ocean. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large and clean. The entire hotel was totally remodeled 8 years ago into an arts and craft style building with custom furniture throughout.

There is also a very nice roof deck, with incredible views and big comfy loungers which we enjoyed throughout our stay.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swccatalina, Public Relations Manager at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay at The Avalon. It's great to hear you had a chance to relax and enjoyed the roof-top deck. Thanks for sharing on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

What a beautiful hotel and very nice owners and staff. They provided a welcoming meet and greet on the patio by the Koy pond at 4pm with wine and cheese. It was so relaxing and the garden is beautiful. A wonderful start to our trip. The bed was VERY comfortable and the rooms very clean. We highly recommend it. Thanks for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzieqpapercrafts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at The Avalon. The wine and cheese reception is something we're able to offer from time to time, so glad you were here to enjoy it. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,052 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Property: The Avalon Hotel
Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing