We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The room we had was amazing very spacious.. amazing view, comfortable pillows, updated: modern décor. they could have had better breakfast but the croissants orange juice and coffee worked out just as well. very accommodating and very nice friendly staff

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeyanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thanks for sharing your review of the Catalina Island Inn. We are always striving to improve our service and guest relations. We are proud of our staff and are glad you appreciated them. We work hard to maintain an outstanding hotel property that's clean, contemporary, comfortable and centrally located for your convenience. We look forward to the next opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 540 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Decor is nice. But it lacks hospitality. We rented the room understanding it was a Bed and Breakfast / Inn. The breakfast is rubbish. Luke warm, weak coffee and awful pastries that are a day old. As there are few places in Avalon that service coffee early in the morning we bought Starbucks instant coffee and my husband went down 4 flights of stairs for some hot water and he was told he would have to wait until 8am.
The management need to understand what hospitality means.

Room Tip: No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank My_Lady_of_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thanks for your review of the Catalina Island Inn. The search for early morning coffee is a frequent occurrence. If asked, our staff is happy to direct you to the Catalina Coffee & Cookie Company
just around the corner from the hotel. They open at 5 am daily and serve a variety of baked goods and breakfast items. Our complimentary continental breakfast offers instant oatmeal and fruit (usually strawberries and/or apples) in addition to fresh baked pastries purchased daily. At check-in our staff explains the office hours and what's served each morning. We do not have a restaurant on
our property so as our website describes, “we offer simple breakfast fare and for the heartier appetites we can recommend several restaurants within steps of our hotel.” We provide beach towels, corkscrews, wine glasses, DVDs to enjoy in your room and many more “simple things” to complete your stay. Our goal is to assist every visitor and give them a wonderful and satisfying experience. If we have the privilege of hosting you again, we hope to provide fully for the needs or concerns you express to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This was our first visit to Catalina Island, so I didn't know what to expect. Took a chance with Catalina Island Inn, and it paid off. Lovely hotel, clean and modern, close to everything. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms have incredible view, but A/C noise from the roof of the supermarket next door mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thanks Lauren for your review of the Catalina Island Inn.
We try to take the guesswork out of any visit to Catalina on our hotel website. We show pictures of every room type, provide prices and info on specials and packages, give you an introduction to Avalon, nearby dining andattractions. You can also call us to have your questions answered. Glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel. From my initial call to book my reservation until I picked up my luggage that the staff let me keep there even after checkout until the boat left, I was PLEASED. The staff was informative, helpful, accommodating, etc., and frankly, I just can't say enough good things about the hotel. I have already given good reviews to two of my friends who are planning upcoming trips to Catalina. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura92118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thanks for your kind review of the Catalina Island Inn. We are so proud of our excellent staff. Thanks for acknowledging them. We love having guests return again and again. You can select your exact same room or ask our reservation specialists about a trying new option.
We hope to have you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have traveled over 20 times to Catalina, and this was my first stay at the Catalina Island Inn, but it wont be my last. What a great little hotel, and it was updated so nicely ! Yes the rooms are a little on the small side, but thats normal if you stay in Catalina, my husband is 6'4 and he was just fine ! For those looking for a great hotel with friendly service this is the place to stay !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharityLakewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for staying with us at Catalina Island Inn. Our staff works very hard and cares about every guest. Our rooms are clean, comfortable and stylish. Thanks for your kind comments in recognizing that everything is a bit smaller on Catalina --- except for our willingness to insure each visitor has a peaceful and pleasant stay. We look forward to having you with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Hello,

My husband and I just returned from visiting your inn for 3 days and 3 nights. Wow! The inn was even lovelier in person. The rooms/inn looked just like what we observed online. Last time we visited a "resort" that had everything from a restaurant, pool & spa but the room was so primitive and BLAH! We appreciated everything your inn had to offer and next time we visit Catalina, your inn is our preferred choice. Your staff, especially the young guys (wish I would've noted their names--one assisted us with the temperature in our rooms and the other may have been a part of the room cleaning service) were very quick to help and gave us what we needed to have a restful and relaxing stay. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Keven & Michele Joslin

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleJfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thanks Keven and Michele for your kind review of the Catalina Island Inn. Our website photos do show every room type and our reservationists can help you select the exact room that fits your expectations, needs and budget. We are also very proud of our young energetic staff ---- and we love being your "preferred choice." Come visit again soon. We'll have your room ready!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our first trip to Catalina in early March. Loved it very nice, staff is very helpful, well maintained.

The Inn is in great location, walk to the ferry. I would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank rosee1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you so much for the great review and for your stay at Catalina Island in. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#16 of 20 in Avalon
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#3 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $133 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away from the southern California mainland, but a world away from the city life. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is close by. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn hosts family reunions & weddings and is still intimate enough for a romantic getaway. Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms range from moderate priced twins or queen bed non view rooms to luxury, harbor view, king rooms and suites. Accommodations are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island style. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel. The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to feature its 5 spectacular ground floor King bedded rooms with private patios, fireplaces, nurturing textures and spacious tiled showers. All rooms have free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. Its unique luxury also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences including easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways and a bench in the large tiled shower. Come "home" to Catalina Island Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing