We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalina Island Inn
Nearby Hotels
Pavilion Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$268
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aurora Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Mariquita Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$178
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Metropole(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Portofino Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$269
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Seacrest Inn(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Avalon Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$549
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveler rating
264
221
60
28
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
264
221
60
28
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorgrocery storecatalina islandcontinental breakfastfamily roomking roomfourth floorwould definitely stay here againinstant oatmealnice balconyfloor balconyyour luggagestreet noiseorange juicegreat roomwalking distance to everythingbottle of champagne
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 587 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We liked this place because there was a feel that the owners/managers genuinely cared if guests enjoyed their stay. Rooms were well decorated and did't have the box motel feel. Very cozy and clean.
Trip Advisor on the other hand is irritating because there is a minimum amount of characters that have to be in a particular box.

Room Tip: There are some new rooms that were just built, but they don't have a view of the ocean. Some of the motel is old, but all updated and very clean
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thanks for your review of the Catalina Island Inn. Our hotel owners have personally managed the property since 1978. They oversee the day-to-day operations and care about each and every guest. We take pride in the contemporary styling, cleanliness and comfort of our rooms and suites. We look forward to your return visit. Happy Holidays from the Catalina Island Inn! -Jenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

A wonderful room with private patio and extremely comfortable with friendly and helpful staff. Location is not much of a walk, right next to the grocery store. Very nice continental breakfast in the morning, with coffee and fruit available all day. Big screen tv was a nice surprise

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jammerman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thanks for your kind review of the Catalina Island Inn. We are very proud of our new ground floor private patio rooms and suites. They are beautiful and we love having guests appreciate them. Our location is also a wonderful amenity --- close to shops, restaurants and attractions. We have so much to be thankful for --- especially when nice guests acknowledge our hard working staff. Best wishes from the Catalina Island Inn! Come see us again soon. -Jenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Impression: Stayed at the B&B for our honeymoon. Juan greeted us and checked us in.

Location: Right off Metropole, so it is very close to everything. Avalon is small in general so really any hotel there will be in close proximity to shops and restaurants.

Room: We had the 4th floor King Balcony room with a nice view of the harbor. Decor of the rooms were very nice and modern. Bed was comfy. The continental breakfast consisted of small pastries and coffee that you can serve yourself.

Service: GREAT!! As outlined in the story below....

Upon checking out, forgot my wallet in the room. Got a call from Juan while i was waiting for the ferry back to the mainland. Luckily Avalon is small....small enough for me to miss Juan looking for me. We finally met up and I retrieved my wallet and made it back in time for the ferry just as it was boarding.

Definitely will return to Catalina AND rest my head again at the Catalina Island Inn. Somebody make Juan the manager! He was great.

Room Tip: Travel light as there are no elevators in the building. Only stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thanks for your glowing review of the Catalina Island Inn and congratulations on your recent nuptials. We're glad you enjoyed the hotel and the honeymoon. It's also great to hear such praises for our staff. Juan frequently rushes to the aid of our guests who have lost their boat tickets, room keys or personal belongings! He along with the rest of our employees are "super heroes" worth acknowledging! We hope to see you again for future anniversaries and other special occasions at the Catalina Island Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

First time here, but it won't be the last. The harbor view from the 4th floor balcony rooms were spectacular. The only downside, there are no elevators to take you up there. Hauling up luggage can be a bit of a struggle. The decor and accommodations were comfortable, the staff friendly and courteous.

Next time, we may try their first floor garden rooms. One of the staff showed us one of those rooms, though they don't have a harbor view, the garden patio, king-sized bed and fireplace looked very inviting and.... no steps to climb.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thanks for your review of the Catalina Island Inn. The harbor views from our King Bed Balcony rooms on the 4th floor ARE fantastic! But the climb can be a challenge. The staff is happy to assist guests with luggage going up or down. But if you want to experience one of our new ground floor rooms --- you'll be delighted with the spacious suites, fireplaces and elegant amenities all on the lobby level. To see the ocean just walk out the hotel's front door, turn left and stroll the 1/2 block to the seashore. It's great to have the Pacific Ocean as our front yard. Come visit us again soon at the Catalina Island Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Love the decor nicely renovated, the rooms are small but very nice and clean. We had 4 couples and would have liked a place to meet and play games in the evening. The balcony is beautiful but loud from the street traffic. The staff was very nice and helpful providing a wine opener and wine glasses for our group on the balcony our first night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thanks for your nice review of the Catalina Island Inn. Our common areas are limited because everything is just smaller on Catalina. There are restaurants, clubs and bars nearby but booking one of the Inn's King Bed private patio suites is an excellent way to gather with friends or to entertain in your room. We are proud of our staff and thank you for recognizing their helpfulness. We hope you'll plan to come back to Catalina again soon. -Jenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews