We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little gem...”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Impression: Stayed at the B&B for our honeymoon. Juan greeted us and checked us in.

Location: Right off Metropole, so it is very close to everything. Avalon is small in general so really any hotel there will be in close proximity to shops and restaurants.

Room: We had the 4th floor King Balcony room with a nice view of the harbor. Decor of the rooms were very nice and modern. Bed was comfy. The continental breakfast consisted of small pastries and coffee that you can serve yourself.

Service: GREAT!! As outlined in the story below....

Upon checking out, forgot my wallet in the room. Got a call from Juan while i was waiting for the ferry back to the mainland. Luckily Avalon is small....small enough for me to miss Juan looking for me. We finally met up and I retrieved my wallet and made it back in time for the ferry just as it was boarding.

Definitely will return to Catalina AND rest my head again at the Catalina Island Inn. Somebody make Juan the manager! He was great.

Room Tip: Travel light as there are no elevators in the building. Only stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thanks for your glowing review of the Catalina Island Inn and congratulations on your recent nuptials. We're glad you enjoyed the hotel and the honeymoon. It's also great to hear such praises for our staff. Juan frequently rushes to the aid of our guests who have lost their boat tickets, room keys or personal belongings! He along with the rest of our employees are "super heroes" worth acknowledging! We hope to see you again for future anniversaries and other special occasions at the Catalina Island Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    200
    56
    27
    14
See reviews for
76
311
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

First time here, but it won't be the last. The harbor view from the 4th floor balcony rooms were spectacular. The only downside, there are no elevators to take you up there. Hauling up luggage can be a bit of a struggle. The decor and accommodations were comfortable, the staff friendly and courteous.

Next time, we may try their first floor garden rooms. One of the staff showed us one of those rooms, though they don't have a harbor view, the garden patio, king-sized bed and fireplace looked very inviting and.... no steps to climb.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thanks for your review of the Catalina Island Inn. The harbor views from our King Bed Balcony rooms on the 4th floor ARE fantastic! But the climb can be a challenge. The staff is happy to assist guests with luggage going up or down. But if you want to experience one of our new ground floor rooms --- you'll be delighted with the spacious suites, fireplaces and elegant amenities all on the lobby level. To see the ocean just walk out the hotel's front door, turn left and stroll the 1/2 block to the seashore. It's great to have the Pacific Ocean as our front yard. Come visit us again soon at the Catalina Island Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Love the decor nicely renovated, the rooms are small but very nice and clean. We had 4 couples and would have liked a place to meet and play games in the evening. The balcony is beautiful but loud from the street traffic. The staff was very nice and helpful providing a wine opener and wine glasses for our group on the balcony our first night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks for your nice review of the Catalina Island Inn. Our common areas are limited because everything is just smaller on Catalina. There are restaurants, clubs and bars nearby but booking one of the Inn's King Bed private patio suites is an excellent way to gather with friends or to entertain in your room. We are proud of our staff and thank you for recognizing their helpfulness. We hope you'll plan to come back to Catalina again soon. -Jenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My son (8 years old) and I spend my birthday on Catalina. This hotel was just right for us. It had two twin beds, the cruise ship room. We only needed space to sleep so it was perfect. Such a cute little place and nicely remodeled. It wasn't right on the beach, but close to everything.

Room Tip: we were in 208, the window looked into the market wall next door. But we only needed the room for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phrrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks for your review of the Catalina Island Inn. Belated birthday wishes! Our location is close to everything in downtown Avalon is a great advantage. Our hotel is 1/2 block from the harbor and beaches. Many rooms have little to no view but they are clean, contemporary and well appointed. Our rooms have an efficiency to them that fit the most discerning traveler on a budget. We also have some superb ocean views on the 4th floor and spacious private patios on the ground floor. The choice is up to each guest. We look forward to your next visit to celebrate a special occasion or create one. -Jenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were working on the island for 4 days , yes working. Not what most do on Catalina as visitors I am sure. My room was small and the view was of the side wall of a grocery store. I am glad I was not staying there for vacation but in those cases the views are elsewhere on the island.

The building is older but it has been well taken care of and the renovations look good. There is a continental breakfast buffet which does the trick.

Internet works wekk but can seem confusing when you sign on, as there are two other properties in the area that also come on with the same sign on page but don't accept your login info.

Room Tip: Ask where they are putting you. You may end up with a view of a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaFryklund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thanks for your review of the Catalina Island Inn. We appreciate the feedback. Not all of us are on vacation, right? We try to be your "home away from home" when working OR vacationing on Catalina. The hotel is always upgrading its wi-fi and we are happy to assist guests in locating and using our server. We look forward to your next visit for work or pleasure--- hopefully BOTH. -Jenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Catalina Inn with 2 other couples we have known for 35 years but see only once a year. We were very impressed with the Inn! It was newly renovated with charming sea decor. The hotel and rooms were small but very clean and comfortable. An outside balcony overlooking the street provided a gathering area for the six of us to share wine and stories. The proximity to everything was excellent. The front desk staff are friendly, accommodating and professional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina is a perfect rendezvous spot for couples and friends! Our hotel does have a great location and offers amenities for every kind of getaway. You can celebrate a special occasion or create one! Come visit us again soon! -Jenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Lovely chic hotel, rooms are not large but cozy, quiet, updated, very clean facility, great service. Within walking distance to everything. Enjoy a coffee and watch the world go by from the 2nd floor balcony. Good value!

Room Tip: Stairs only. Shower only in our room, no tub. Very nice place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlayaNorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. We are a property that requires some stair climbing. Avalon is a "walkabout" kind of place and most visitors tackle the hotel stairs with resolve! We will always offer help with heavy luggage--- just ask! We are glad you enjoyed the hotel's second floor balcony. It's a perfect place for a coffee or a nightcap! The hotel strives to offer the best experience for its guests. Come see us again soon! -Jenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#13 of 20 in Avalon
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Property: Catalina Island Inn
Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away from the southern California mainland, but a world away from the city life. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is close by. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn hosts family reunions & weddings and is still intimate enough for a romantic getaway. Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms range from moderate priced twins or queen bed non view rooms to luxury, harbor view, king rooms and suites. Accommodations are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island style. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel. The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to feature its 5 spectacular ground floor King bedded rooms with private patios, fireplaces, nurturing textures and spacious tiled showers. All rooms have free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. Its unique luxury also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences including easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways and a bench in the large tiled shower. Come "home" to Catalina Island Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing