We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FIVE STAR EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FIVE STAR EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I cannot compliment the Catalina Island Inn Hotel enough for making my birthday an enjoyable one. Romantic atmosphere reminisent of the Hotel Del in Coronado but much much more affordable. November great time of year to be in Catalina. Felt like the whole Island was mine. Hotel staff very friendly, thank you Juan (who booked my stay). Thank you for the complimentary bottle of champagne and the delicious coffee/juice, array of pastries, fruit and oatmeal the next morning. What a complete package. Within walking distance from the dock. Room was pretty - all remodled - king size bed was more comfortable than my own - perfect for a couples getaway. Don't hesitate to choose this hotel....ask for Juan. Enjoyed their recommendation for dinner at Steve's Steak House too..get in on the early bird special. Whole experience was just enchanting.

Room Tip: Choose room 331 - you won't be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    193
    56
    25
    12
See reviews for
74
299
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just a short stroll from the water's edge is an unassuming doorway to this immaculate comfortable charming hotel. The wide corridors lead to unique warmly decorated rooms, comfortable beds, scenic balconies, and cleverly designed bathrooms. We stayed with our children, who shared the family guest room and we had a room overlooking the harbor. Morning coffee, pastry, juices were served and everything was delicious.

Room Tip: The harbor view rooms wake up with the sunrise and the activity of the small boats was fun to watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Catalina Island inn had a beautiful room that was newly remodeled. Clean, with a nice warm welcoming colortone. Dual pane windows to block any noise from the outside. We had a room with a balcony that overlooked the Harbor. Coffee and pastry was served in the morning between 8 AM and 10 AM. They do not have an elevator so you must be able to go up at least three flights of stairs since it is a three-story hotel. This is located right off the main Street one block up perfect location.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the harbor that's what you're there to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel over the past two years. It was recently painted and very clean. Very few rooms have any kind of a view other that maybe a roof top. The rooms are small but neatly done. the biggest drawback is there is not an elevator and there are lots of stairs to climb to get to just the second floor and you have to carry your own luggage. there are three floors. Also, they promise a continental breakfast which they have available at 8:30 in the morning. To get some of the few items they have for the breakfast, you better get there by 8:45.

It is located about a half block off the main street of the town. There is the town's only grocery store next door and a cash only coffee shop just around the corner.

We were there for the weekend JazzTrax festival and enjoyed some of the ambiance of the town. Please do not get taken into one of the bus tours of the island as there really isn't anything to see.

Would we stay here again? No. We would stay at one of the hotels on the main street as the price of this hotel is far too high for what you get.

Room Tip: If you can't get one of the very few rooms with any kind of view other than a roof tp, I'd g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeg3894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was seeking out an escape that would be gentle on the pocketbook but provided luxury. This inn was a perfect match. At $130 each night we received a king, non view balconied room. The cleanliness is top notch & comfort is not an issue. Big bathroom that is equipped with a stall shower. We did see the smaller rooms during renovation and they are REALLY SMALL. I advise a king room or bigger( unless size is not an issue).
Room 223 is perfect & I think that if an ocean view is not an issue you would be pleased.
Von's is next door & you have a fridge in the room to hold drinks, snacks, etc.
You are on the main street within a 2 minute walk.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Small hotel. Room was clean. Staff pleasant. Be prepared to climb stairs, no elevator. Our balcony looked over the roof of the grocery store next door. You could see a little of the harbor. Location is within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Golf cart rental place is half block away. Stayed three nights. Continental breakfast starts at 8 am. We had to eat elsewhere because our tours and ferry times were early. Our room had air conditioning, but others did not.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevadaWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. Yes, the rooms are small and so is the shower, but the Inn was just fine for our four night stay. Easy walking distance to everything. Very, very clean Only real complaint was the coffee seemed to be laced with Ex-Lax, but there's a really good coffee shop a very short distance away.

Room Tip: With no elevators, glad we were on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazzFan32764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#11 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Property: Catalina Island Inn
Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away, twenty-two miles, from the California mainland, but a world away from the hectic pace. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach at Catalina Island. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is within walking distance. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn is large enough to host family reunions & weddings and intimate enough for a romantic getaway.Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms ranging from moderate priced twins or queen bed to luxury, harbor view, kings are available. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island motif. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel.The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to announce the opening of its new ground floor Patio Rooms!!! 5 spectacular new King bedded rooms and private patios with custom fireplaces, nurturing textures, spacious tiled showers, free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. It features unique luxury and also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences. It includes easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways in addition elegant amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing