We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Small hotel. Room was clean. Staff pleasant. Be prepared to climb stairs, no elevator. Our balcony looked over the roof of the grocery store next door. You could see a little of the harbor. Location is within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Golf cart rental place is half block away. Stayed three nights. Continental breakfast starts at 8 am. We had to eat elsewhere because our tours and ferry times were early. Our room had air conditioning, but others did not.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevadaWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    196
    56
    25
    12
See reviews for
74
302
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. Yes, the rooms are small and so is the shower, but the Inn was just fine for our four night stay. Easy walking distance to everything. Very, very clean Only real complaint was the coffee seemed to be laced with Ex-Lax, but there's a really good coffee shop a very short distance away.

Room Tip: With no elevators, glad we were on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazzFan32764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It is not what you see online. I spent quiet a bit of money on the room that I thought was the best of the best there. When we got in, it did not look anything like the picture. It said there was a balcony view of the harbor, and we were put in the corner next to a run-down building. Our view was the top of the roof of a store with the loud sound of the roof fans/vents. The front desk receptionists were not very unprofessional. It was adequate for a quick stay, but I would have liked to have spoiled my husband with the best room on the island. For the price I payed, I would not stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, CA.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We've stayed here several times in the past, but not for several years. It looks nice, but missing several comforts that I find necessary. I need my morning coffee! There are no in-room coffee makers and the office does not open until until 8am for the "breakfast". This hotel is located on the noisiest street on the island, with trash pickup and Von's delivery starting before 7am. So, being up early happens. Coffee needs to be available at least by 6.
Also, there are NO chairs in the rooms. I cannot watch TV laying down, so that was uncomfortable. Being up before my husband was also a problem, as I didn't want to sit on the bed and wake him. Even a hard, straight chair would have helped. The rooms are teeny, tiny, but come on... squeeze in come kind of chair!
One more thing, the hair conditioner was NOT conditioner! I don't know exactly what was in the bottle, but don't put products in the room of such poor quality.
Unfortunately, we will not be returning. My old favorite place is not the same.

Room Tip: Choose one as far away from the front as possible, on the ocean side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adventuresome62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a great little hotel. Good value for money. The decor is very nice. The rooms are clean. The staff were very friendly, and it's in a great location right in the heart of Avalon. This is the perfect place to stay for a night or two on Catalina Island. I would definitely stay here again.

The only con I experienced was the lack of a secure luggage store. I'm not sure if their luggage storage was full at the time of our stay, but our luggage was kept on the floor of the (very open, often un-manned) lobby!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tastysnacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the Catalina Inn for our first trip to the island and after much exploration and fun filled investigation, we couldnt imagine a better place to come back to after a long day's adventure! The rooms are imaculate and the people there couldn't have been more friendly!
We look forward to our next trip to Catalina Island and we'll definitely will be staying with Martin and his Crew at the Catalina Island Inn;)!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKolker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our 10 year wedding anniversary. It was perfect! The rooms are small but very clean, cozy and beautifully remodeled. The staff was very friendly and attentive. We will definitely be staying here everytime we visit Catalina.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view... we didn't book a room with a view so we saw the side of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Property: Catalina Island Inn
Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away, twenty-two miles, from the California mainland, but a world away from the hectic pace. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach at Catalina Island. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is within walking distance. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn is large enough to host family reunions & weddings and intimate enough for a romantic getaway.Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms ranging from moderate priced twins or queen bed to luxury, harbor view, kings are available. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island motif. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel.The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to announce the opening of its new ground floor Patio Rooms!!! 5 spectacular new King bedded rooms and private patios with custom fireplaces, nurturing textures, spacious tiled showers, free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. It features unique luxury and also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences. It includes easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways in addition elegant amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing