We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2011

The Catalina Island Inn was a quick walk from the dock. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. There is a lovely deck on the second floor which makes for a nice pitstop on the stair climb to the fourth floor. I look forward to staying there again on my next trip!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbplaisted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
There are newer reviews for Catalina Island Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 526 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2011

We loved the Inn. We had a king ocean view on the 4th floor that was great! Yes you have to walk up the stairs because there isn't an elevator but we didn't mind. We had a gull who we named "Charles de Gull" who visited every day looking for snacks. He actually got to be a bit of a pest but it was pretty entertaining. And yes there was a bit of noise from the trucks at the Vons next door but it wasn't that bad. It just reminded me of being at home on trash day. Not a problem. We would definitely go back to the Catalina Island Inn as long as we could get the same room! It's close to everything!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Clean rooms, close to everything, great service, accomodating staff

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dabtrustee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We recently stayed at the Catalina Island Inn for our 14th summer visit in a row. The hotel was completely remodeled two years ago and the rooms are outstanding. The hotel has a great location and is only a very brief walk from the beach. The Owners and their staff do an excellent job in assuring that your stay is a great one. Every year we see the same front desk and housekeeping staff and that tells me that the owners, Martin and Bernardine treat their people right and that in turn assures an excellent experience visit after visit. There are several choices for accommodations in Avalon, but the Island Inn is at the top of our list!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is not somewhere I would stay again. It was clean. The rooms were VERY small. Our room was next to the stairs and the alley. All night we could hear people going up and down the stairs and people going throught the trash cans. Also an alarm went off in an ajoining (empty) room for several hours in the middle of the night. VERY annoying that it was not turned off. Very small and not nice for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Our room was very nice and clean, but extremely tiny. We could hear everything our neighbors said through the wall by our headboard. We shared another wall with our firends and we could talk to each other through the wall! The continental breakfast consists of danishes, instant oatmeal, tea, coffee, and orange juice, so we went out to eat a more substantial breakfast. The Catalina Island Inn is nice, but very small. The Hotel Metropole is more our style.

Room Tip: Room 201 and 216 are tiny!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarynH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We got a queen room as usual, but it was located at the front of the building...
Everyday at 6:50am: Garbage truck!!!
7:00am street sweeper on Tuesdays and Thursdays!!!
Neighboring building allows tenants to throw bottles and garbage into dumpsters from 2nd and 3rd story fire escape causing a great cacophony!
Don't get me wrong, I love CATALINA ISLAND INN... just stay in the rooms furthest from the street.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojowest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#3 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $133 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away from the southern California mainland, but a world away from the city life. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is close by. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn hosts family reunions & weddings and is still intimate enough for a romantic getaway. Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms range from moderate priced twins or queen bed non view rooms to luxury, harbor view, king rooms and suites. Accommodations are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island style. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel. The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to feature its 5 spectacular ground floor King bedded rooms with private patios, fireplaces, nurturing textures and spacious tiled showers. All rooms have free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. Its unique luxury also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences including easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways and a bench in the large tiled shower. Come "home" to Catalina Island Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing