We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Eats Done RIGHT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sandtrap Restaurant and Bar

The Sandtrap Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #24 of 49 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheap Eats Done RIGHT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is a favorite spot of my family's whenever we are in Avalon - a truly local hang our with great cheap food/beers. Located right behind the first hole of the golf course, The Sandtrap offers breakfast, lunch and happy hour. Tacos rock!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank MizFlint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    53
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great $1.00 tacos!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

The best food and drink bargain on the island. Dee-licious $1.00 tacos and great drink prices 2PM-7PM. You must go!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shady place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

It is an easy walk into the neighborhood. Still this place was a little shady. I am not sure what the pork tacos are made of as the meat looked really weird. I was excited to try this place after reading reviews but afterwards just felt like I wasted stomach room that I could have used on a better meal. Would not recommend.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy Hour & Tacos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Great Happy Hour and tacos right off of the 9th hole.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katheryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy hour on Catalina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Happy hour is great! Dollar tacos and margaritas. Great out door seating, next to the golf course.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank trueangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sandtrap Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to The Sandtrap Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing