We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than Just A Food Tour!”

Taste of Catalina Food Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.56*
and up
Catalina Food and Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 1 Food & Drink in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Suitable for adults and teens, explore Avalon as never before while leisurely walking through downtown with our fun, local guides who will share the inside scoop on just about everything! This one and only, informative 3-hour tasting and cultural walking tour will open your eyes to hidden tidbits of the island's rich history and culture. Satisfy your appetite with our town's award winning cuisines as you indulge your palate for a few hours of Sipping, Sampling & Savoring!
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Fantastic food, fun group, and a guide that has lived the experiences she was talking about! We had an absolutely great time eating and drinking our way through Catalina Island. Our guide, Cathy, was extremely knowledgeable and pulled the restaurant owners over to meet our group in just about every location. From her personal stories about diving for coins under the steam ships with her brothers, to her ability to answer any question our group threw at her, she was a highlight of the tour. But the food was what really shined. The diverse and unusual selections really impressed. It was truly a food adventure!

Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaFoodie, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Thank you so much for joining us on your foodie adventure and for your review! We appreciate just how much you enjoyed your time with Cathy and we're glad both your guide and the food you tried made the tour fantastic for you. Aren't her stories amazing? It really is fun to learn as much about the island as the food and we're happy to hear both parts of the tour made an impact on you. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for Taste of Catalina Food Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 289 of 377 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I love eating at new places. It was his first trip to Catalina and I can't remember how often I've been and this tour was perfect for both of us! We got to eat delicious food, learn about the amazing city of Avalon and the Island of Catalina. Our tour guide Cathy was the best, she was very knowledgeable and friendly. I loved her personal stories about the island. We found many places we will be dining at again for our next visit to Catalina-- which will probably be very soon! We loved this tour and will recommend it over and over again.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Whitney N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaFoodie, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Yes! We're so glad to hear you will be back soon! We're glad to know you had such an exceptional time with Cathy on your tour.

We pride ourselves on being able to offer tours for guests that have been to Catalina Island one time or 100 times. It is a pleasure to know that even though you and your boyfriend had different levels of knowledge, regarding the island, you were still both able to find common ground in the same tour and come away with a love of this little town we call home.

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We'll see you the next time you come to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This experience was the highlight for our group of four during the weekend. Cathy was charming, articulate & passionate about her feelings and love of the island. As someone with personal history and current relationships in the community she was able to guide us through the rich background of the island with pictures, and commentary all while sampling exquisite food. The food at each restaurant stop was devine Cathy, certainly proved to be one of the island's best treasures.

Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaFoodie, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

What a warm and generous review for Cathy and for the tour you participated in.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the food on tour (divine - what a compliment!) and we think you are right - Cathy is an island treasure.

We hope you will be back to visit soon and get to experience more of the island. Thank you, once again, for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Food was very delicious sights were beautiful and the history was great to look at the island ina ddifferent way.

Thank yvettef83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaFoodie, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your review. We're glad you liked the tour and that you got to see the island in a different way. Thank you for joining us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We had an intimate group led by Cathy. We are seasoned Island vacationers yet we learned things we didn't know about Avalon, it's history and residents. We visited 6 different restaurants where we were greeted like VIP's. We were seated and served a specialty of each place. While sampling, Cathy would tell us stories or interesting facts. She led us on a nicely paced adventure where the joy of eating wonderful small portions was combined with laughs, yums and education. This tour made us feel even more connected to the island and happily satisfied :)

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Crystal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaFoodie, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your review - when we first started to lay out the route and information we wanted to share, we did a lot of research to share stories and facts that most tours never talk about. Our goal was to make this tour about the people and places that have made both the food and the general history of Catalina Island so enticing.

We are so happy to hear that you found yourself being even more connected to the island after your tour experience. Your review lets us know that we are heading in the right direction. It also inspires us to keep researching and finding more in-depth tidbits of information to share.

Thank you for taking the time tour with us and to share your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Catalina Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Taste of Catalina Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing