We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great fun in Catalina!”

Taste of Catalina Food Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.56*
and up
Catalina Food and Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 1 Food & Drink in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Suitable for adults and teens, explore Avalon as never before while leisurely walking through downtown with our fun, local guides who will share the inside scoop on just about everything! This one and only, informative 3-hour tasting and cultural walking tour will open your eyes to hidden tidbits of the island's rich history and culture. Satisfy your appetite with our town's award winning cuisines as you indulge your palate for a few hours of Sipping, Sampling & Savoring!
Reviewed December 15, 2013

For my wife and I, this was our second time together in Catalina. Jordan was our tour guide. The tour wasn't just about the food; we also got a very interesting history lesson on Catalina. My favorite stop on the tour was Steve's Steakhouse. By the end of the tour I had come to understand the small-town feel of Catalina and how everyone there is practically family. This is a very fun activity to do in Avalon; highly recommended!

Thank Soco33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalina Food T, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

We are so grateful for your kind words. We're glad you had the opportunity to feel the "small-town"-ness. December is a great time to experience that (very different than in the summer time). We hope you enjoyed the festive atmosphere around town. It sounds like you enjoyed the history as well - there is so much more detail, but three hours just simply isn't enough time - hopefully, we'll see you again soon. Thank you for the kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
There are newer reviews for Taste of Catalina Food Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 321 of 375 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

I took my boyfriend on the tour to celebrate his birthday during our trip to Catalina, and our guide Cathy made is a very special day to remember. Her deep firsthand knowledge of local history and all the characters who live on the island--including some we encountered that day while walking from restaurant to restaurant--kept our attention throughout, and she couldn't have been more welcoming or friendly. By the end we felt like we had made a new friend! All the "tastes" were generously sized and were a good representation of Avalon's dining options--which are more varied than you might think. You will not leave this tour hungry!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalina Food T, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your boyfriend's birthday with us. We're glad you had a great time and that you felt satiated by the time the tour was completed. We're so glad you made friends with Cathy - it has been very fun and encouraging to have so many wonderful people on tour in our first year - it makes it easy for each of our guides to make friends when the company is so wonderful. Thank you for your kind review. We'll see you the next time you make it out for a visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise!!! Enjoyed the day walking across Avalon and learning the history surrounding the island all while sampling delicious food. The tour covered not only the island history but the history of the families of Avalon including the owners of the restaurants. This a must do for your weekend trip over to Catalina.

1  Thank Mgcbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalina Food T, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you so much! We're so glad you were pleasantly surprised! Thanks for making us a must-do tour on the island. We really do appreciate it. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

By far, this was the best thing we did on our vacation. Even after Disneyland, day on Venice Beach, etc, we all agree that this was the most memorable. Our group of six included a vegan foodie and a picky pre-teen, both were delighted with the accommodations made for them. The food was incredible - best bites of the best restaurants on the island, and the history just put the tour over the top. We were joined by another group of four who enjoyed the tour as much as we did. Lots of laughs, food that just made our taste buds sing, and a new appreciation for the history of Catalina.

1  Thank BeckieRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalina Food T, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Wow! You are too kind! We're so thankful for your sweet review. Our vendors do a great job of providing substitutions for our guests. They really do a fantastic job of working to provide something for everyone. We're so excited you found a new appreciation for the history of the island as well. It is quite fascinating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

What a great day five of us had "tasting" wonderful food on Catalina Island and getting the background of its history. Did you know the island has been inhabited for 8,000 years??? The food was wonderful (wanted more), and our guide Jordan was so knowledgeable.
I'm thinking of giving this as gifts for family members at Christmas.

1  Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalina Food T, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

You'r review is so generous and kind. We're glad you enjoyed the food and hope you were able to return to some of the locations to taste a little bit more. I'm sure Jordan will be please to hear you had a great time. The tour is a great gift (for Christmas or birthdays or any day) and we do offer gift certificates which can be used anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Catalina Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Taste of Catalina Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing