We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Delicious Afternoon on Catalina Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste of Catalina Food Tours

Taste of Catalina Food Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.56*
and up
Catalina Food and Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 1 Food & Drink in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Suitable for adults and teens, explore Avalon as never before while leisurely walking through downtown with our fun, local guides who will share the inside scoop on just about everything! This one and only, informative 3-hour tasting and cultural walking tour will open your eyes to hidden tidbits of the island's rich history and culture. Satisfy your appetite with our town's award winning cuisines as you indulge your palate for a few hours of Sipping, Sampling & Savoring!
Long Beach, California
1 review
“A Delicious Afternoon on Catalina Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our 1st food and walking tour of any kind and found it to be a relaxing and informative way to discover Avalon and its local restaurateurs. The pace was just right and the tasty samplings was a good way to whet our appetites. Steve's Steakhouse was our favorite and we plan to return for the full course. Cathy, our guide and a long time resident, was also helpful in suggesting other activities on the island.

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank lumspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalina Food T, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We are pleased to hear that your first food tour experience was delightful. Cathy is one of our best guides and knows how to show our guests a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    20
    6
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
houston, tx
1 review
“Catalina island food tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

10 of us did this last week. We enjoyed all the restaurants and a great history of the island. Our guide was fun and knew so much. If you go, be sure to try the chocolate pistachio candy at the cookie and coffee shop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank houstonhoney0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalina Food T, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are excited to hear you recommend the dark chocolate pistachio bark as it is to die for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon in Avalon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were a group of 10 people on a cruise with a stop in Catalina. Based on the great reviews we decided to do the tour as well. We had a private tour for the 10 of us which was very easy to setup. Cathy was our tour leader and the tour was fantastic. It made all of us want to buy a vacation home there! The history that was told and the great food made a great way to spend a few hours sampling from Avalon had to offer. It is very easy to walk around and was not strenous for those who can't walk too much.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bradley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalina Food T, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Private Group Tours are a great way to experience the island off of the cruise ship. We are happy to hear that we met your expectations and then some!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Had a wonderful time on the tour eating and learning about the island. The guide was very knowlegable about the island and its history. The food was fantastic! Every stop was completely different right down to the beverages they provided with the tasting. Overall, an enjoyable, lovely time.

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalina Food T, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Eating and drinking you way through Avalon is the way to go, huh? We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a great tour. It combined the tastes of some of the local restaurants with the history of the island. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the area and she had a great personality. Her personality perfectly fit the job. I would recommend this tour to anyone who comes to the island. We had plenty of time after the tour to explore more of the island and the shops before heading back to the mainland on the ferry.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank atir44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalina Food T, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks for experiencing our tour! Glad to hear you enjoyed our tour guide, we have the best tour guides around! We appreciate your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Catalina Food Tours also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Taste of Catalina Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing