We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pic Nic Fry

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pic Nic Fry
Ranked #41 of 49 Restaurants in Avalon
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Had a quesadilla. Can mess that up. The pozole smelled great, but didn't get that. We went there the next day, but the "waitress" never came to the window to help us even though she saw us standing there so we just left. This place is a walk-up window style food place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NeneT1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Okay Mexican Fast Food Stand”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was the only place that stayed open after 10pm. This is a walk up fast food spot located directly in town (Front Street). The food was OK, but not great. They also serve ice cream, which was yummy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank OCAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
281 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“I will forgive a mistake once, but the same thing twice, no”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

So I go to buy the kids some ice cream after dinner. As I double check the change given I realize I was shorted. No problem, the correct change was given when the mistake was pointed out. The next evening my daughter was shorted on change. This is called a symptom of a problem...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynndds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Close to the beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Bean and cheese burrito was good, Chocolate shake was tasty (but took FOREVER), and the cheese fries--- dont do it! I did like the little stand and their prices were probably the best on the island (coney island's stand is a close second). Other then that the location is very convenient if you are sun bathing, hungry, and don't want to look too far for some grub.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HotelZombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Carne asada Nachos oh so tasty.My daughter and I shared a large order and it really did hit the spot.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank trueangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pic Nic Fry also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Catalina Island, CA
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Pic Nic Fry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing