We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable TIme!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mac Rae

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mac Rae
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
A TripAdvisor Member
“Memorable TIme!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2006

This is the first time me and my wife have been to this hotel and Catalina Island. I have heard both positive and negative comments about all the hotels on Catalina and was in a fix as to which hotel to book. This is the only hotel that had a higher number of positive comments and is right by the beach..So I booked the room there for the memorial day long weekend.

We had a warm welcome by one of the lady at the front desk who checked us in. The room was a lil small and even the bathroom was not so spacious. No telephone (who needs them when u r on a vacation! :) ). We could rent free videos, free beach towels, and even after we checked out, we could use one of the guest showers. They had free continental breakfast also!

We are newly married and really enjoyed our stay! Kinda like our honeymoon! :)

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    83
    33
    11
    16
See reviews for
49
91
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Mac Rae for our anniversary. It is not a fancy hotel but very, very clean and the service is excellent. It is near everything and steps from the beach. There is a bar next door, however we did not hear a thing. The courtyard is nice and relaxing and is also very clean. This is the best value in Catalina. The rooms are not big, but you do not stay in the room much. The have security gates that they lock at 10:00 pm and you can access your room through these gates using the room key. This keeps the bar patrons from being any where near the rooms. Overall, the room was nice and relaxing and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2006

The Hotel MacRae

II was a little doubtful about booking this place based on the other reviews I read but decided to take a chance since it was only $55 for a queen room in the courtyard, (there are more expensive rooms available) but this room was fine for a couple who just wanted to chill out, watch a little TV, sleep and shower in it. This room was so much cheaper than most of the other hotels nearby. The best thing about the hotel is that it's so central to all the bars and shops in Avalon and close to the ferry landing area, just a 5 minute walk on the flat. The ladies in the recpetion office were very helpful and friendly and told us we could use the hotel beach towels (so you don't need to take any) and borrow films to watch in our room. Also they have a bathroom for guests to take a shower in after they have checked out, we used this after the beach and it was very clean and well stocked. Our room was small but the bathroom wasn't too bad and there was shampoo & conditioner for us. The room wasn't newly furbished but there was a large wardrobe and a ceiling fan. I do imagine the room would get a bit stuffy in warmer months, so that could be a problem for some people. There is a nice central patio area with comfy loungers where you can sit and read a book etc, it's nice and peaceful. This is by no means a luxury hotel or anywhere super special, but our room was such good value for money and perfect for a short stay on a budget. We would definately stay there again.


What we did in Avalon;

We hired a little speed boat for an hour from the place on the pier for $50 and went down the coast past the casino and snorkelled for a bit. Going on the boat was good fun but the snorkelling wasn't that great, although my boyfriend did see a sting ray. The snorkelling at Lovers Cove (which is the other direction, 5 minute walk from town) is apparently better. We also hired a tandem bicycle which was $12 for an hr from the place near where the ferry drops you off, this was a cheaper alternative to the golf carts, which cost about $30/hr. The little museum by the casino is also worth a visit, it was interesting to learn about the history of the island and only cost $4 each. There is also a little bar on the marina right next to the museum which was a nice spot to sit, and look out to sea and enjoy a drink, it seemed like there was more locals there than other places. The food at The Galleon on the main street was good and well priced and we had some nice coffee and cakes from CC Galaghers just down the road. I hope this review helps those visting the island on a budget! We had a great time and wouldn't have changed a thing.

Helpful?
19 Thank nimchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
183 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2006

If you're looking for prime location, Hotel Mac Rae is the place to be!! Our room was literally overlooking the small beach in Avalon, and from our window we basically were on display to anyone and everyone walking by (noted when my boyfriend went to use the restroom and realized he didn't close the blinds and probably put on quite a show for some onlookers outside). The room was VERY small for the amount of money we paid for it, but you're not on Catalina to hang out in your hotel room anyways. We had a Queen Ocean View room - off season rates. The hotel does serve a continental breakfast in the mornings and you can rent unlimited free VHS movies from the front desk if you wish.

The hotel is located directly above the most popular karaoke bar on the Island, and also located right above the main street walkway on the Island... so expect noise!! They provide earplugs in the hotel room for you, and there's a good reason for that. It wasn't too bad since we weren't there during their peak season, and the island wasn't as crowded as it gets in the summertime - I can only imagine how loud it would be then!!

This hotel has it's good and bad qualities... the front desk staff were all super nice and friendly and let us leave our bags in their storage area after checkout until our 7pm ferry ride back to the mainland. The location can't be beat if you want to be in the middle of all the action.

Downside... the noise factor and the quality of the room versus the price you're paying for the room. But if you're not a picky person and don't plan to spend a lot of time in your room, and you don't mind earplugs and are a heavy sleeper... you'll love it! :)
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2006

Me and my friend stayed at this hotel during the off-season and had no opinions about it. We were very pleasantly surprised to see that it was right on the main street, steps from the water. The room wasn't fancy but clean and actually quite charming with tropical decor, and old-fashion tiles and a skylight in the bathroom. The front desk people were very nice and helpful. There is a bar downstairs but the music wasn't bothersome at all. Overall, very good experience and great value for the money. This is a definite go-again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2005

BECAUSE of it's central location, DO NOT book a room overlooking the harbor, at least on a Saturday night when the karaoke singers and drunks feel like they're in the room with you. We were up all night. When we complained the next morning, we were told that the reservation agent warned us about the noise...which she didn't.

Do yourself a favor, find a place even one street off the main drag.

Looking at all these recommendations, I suspect most are plants. The hotel is shabby, run-down and over-priced.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2005

My wife and I went to Avalon on Catalina Island as we've always wanted to visit the island. I must say, it's paradise on earth and if you haven't been I'd make some plans. We checked various websites and decided to stay at the Hotel Mac Rae, which is right on the harbor. The reviews we read were not wrong...the place was immaculate and the staff was more than courteous. This hotel is a bit older and has apparently been in the Mac Rae family the entire time. The room was cozy and spotless though, with an incredible view of the harbor and the small beach right there in Avalon. They have a continental breakfast, ice is available and there is a secure storage area for your luggage if you're staying in town a while after you check out. In a nutshell...we'll definitely be back and we highly recommend the Hotel Mac Rae.

tod124

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tod124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#13 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mac Rae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Rae

Property: Hotel Mac Rae
Address: 409 Crescent Ave., PO Box 246, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4th generation Mac Rae family invites you to our centrally located beachfront hotel. Our hotel features panoramic ocean view rooms, continental breakfast, an open-air courtyard, complimentary beach towels and DVDs, after check-out shower facilities and luggage storage. All rooms are non-smoking and offer air conditioning, wireless internet, cable TV/DVD, and hair dryers. Come and enjoy our relaxing, quaint Mediterranean atmosphere right on the beach, in the very heart of Avalon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mac Rae Hotel
Mac Rae Avalon
Hotel Mac Rae Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing