We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fogetaboutit”
Review of Hotel Mac Rae

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mac Rae
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
A TripAdvisor Member
los angeles
112
Reviewed October 10, 2005

BECAUSE of it's central location, DO NOT book a room overlooking the harbor, at least on a Saturday night when the karaoke singers and drunks feel like they're in the room with you. We were up all night. When we complained the next morning, we were told that the reservation agent warned us about the noise...which she didn't.

Do yourself a favor, find a place even one street off the main drag.

Looking at all these recommendations, I suspect most are plants. The hotel is shabby, run-down and over-priced.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 244 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2005

My wife and I went to Avalon on Catalina Island as we've always wanted to visit the island. I must say, it's paradise on earth and if you haven't been I'd make some plans. We checked various websites and decided to stay at the Hotel Mac Rae, which is right on the harbor. The reviews we read were not wrong...the place was immaculate and the staff was more than courteous. This hotel is a bit older and has apparently been in the Mac Rae family the entire time. The room was cozy and spotless though, with an incredible view of the harbor and the small beach right there in Avalon. They have a continental breakfast, ice is available and there is a secure storage area for your luggage if you're staying in town a while after you check out. In a nutshell...we'll definitely be back and we highly recommend the Hotel Mac Rae.

tod124

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank tod124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2005

Hotel Mac Rae is a really nice hotel. Located right in the middle of Avalon and is close to everything. Our rooms were nice and clean but, since our rooms were oceanfront it was little nosy..so if you do get an oceanfront room and is a light sleeper, I would suggest using the ear plugs they have in the room. Other then that the staff was really friendly and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank xriariceex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
madera ca
15
Reviewed April 4, 2005

We have stayed at the Mac Rae for vacation in 2004 and 2005. It is wonderful, and the staff is so friendly. It is close to everything, right on the bay. I would not want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Rancho Santa Margarita
115
Reviewed July 21, 2004

We stayed for 3 days in mid July 2004. After hearing from some people who have stayed on the island that some of the nicest hotels on the island offered the worst ammenities, we actually weren't expecting much. We were pleasantly surprised and extremely pleased with our accomodations. The room couldn't have been cleaner and the hotel staff any more gracious. The hotel is centrally located in Avalon and close to everything. When you book a room, they do warn you that there is a Karaoke bar right downstairs, I mean right downstairs. There are earplugs in the room but we didn't need them at all... we took them as souvenirs. It was a great experience for our first stay on the island. We'll definitely be back.

15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fountain Valley, CA
112
Reviewed June 30, 2004

We stayed at the hotel over one weekend in June, 2004. The staff should get five stars! They are so friendly and helpful - it's certainly a plus for us, the first-timers in town. The hotel itself 's got a front seat location overlooking Avalon Bay. It's a nice place to stay because it's got a pleasent mom & pop shop feel, the room is very, very clean, and the patio comes in handy when we want a place to sit & chill; but keep in mind - it's an older hotel with older designs and doesn't have all that fancy & pizzazz; yet the price tag is nicer. They also make great coffee & offer orange juice in the morning; they'll let you borrow free videos. But what really did it for us is that they would allow you to come back after you ckeck out before you go home to wash off if you need to. It's sooooooooo convient because we went boating that afternoon and certainly needs a place to wash & change. The only complain I can find would be the shower in the room - the water flow is pretty darn small & it would be better to use a cup or something to help collect the water. I don't know if that has anything to do with water conserving on the island since they have signs everywhere about conserving water.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Anderson, Calif
16
Reviewed May 10, 2004

We visited Catalina on Veterans weekend 2003 and stayed at the Mac Rae. The rooms were very clean and the patio area was washed down every day. everyone was very pleasant and accomadating. My grandmother and aunt Oma ran the Mac Rae in the 40"s. So it was nice to stay there. I am returning in a few days and my 1st choice was the Mac Rae. Iam bringing some pictures of the patio with my cousins playing. It sure has changed since then.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
#16 of 20 in Avalon
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mac Rae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Rae

Address: 409 Crescent Ave., PO Box 246, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $109 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4th generation Mac Rae family invites you to our centrally located beachfront hotel. Our hotel features panoramic ocean view rooms, continental breakfast, an open-air courtyard, complimentary beach towels and DVDs, after check-out shower facilities and luggage storage. All rooms are non-smoking and offer air conditioning, wireless internet, cable TV/DVD, and hair dryers. Come and enjoy our relaxing, quaint Mediterranean atmosphere right on the beach, in the very heart of Avalon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Mac Rae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mac Rae Hotel
Mac Rae Avalon
Hotel Mac Rae Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing