We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I found exceptional customer service at The Hermosa Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hermosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hermosa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Burbank, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I found exceptional customer service at The Hermosa Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

I had never been to Catalina and went in May 2010. At the front desk, Mindy and Chris both offered exceptional customer service and arranged awesome activities for my stay. They were excellent at arranging reservations for any activity and had fantastic local tips. It is close to the beach, pier, restaurants, tours, etc. The hotel and cottages offer a great selection of rooms for respective budgets. The hotel staff went out of their way to ensure I enjoy my first vacation to the island. I highly recommend this hotel and The Zip Line Tour!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnPattison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    78
    36
    47
    48
See reviews for
77
130
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encino, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed at the Hermosa Hotel for two nights in one of the family units. It comfortably slept all 5 of us and we had plenty of wiggle room. Our room was decorated with antiques and felt more like an apartment than a hotel room. We even had a full kitchen and full sized fridge! Every room had cable TV, the room was clean and ready at check in, and the staff was amazing, especially the manager, Jon. For those looking for a cool, historic hotel, the Hermosa was a great, affordable place to stay in Avalon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corey0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, Ca.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

I knew from previous reviewers that the Hermosa would be anything but fancy, so I didn't expect that. Still I hoped for an acceptable basic room and the hotel was almost delivering that. The yelling--by both young adults and families with children--quieted down around 10, an hour after the 9:00 "quiet time." The golf cart traffic on the street--environmentally benign but surprisingly noisy--trailed off. During a warm but not terrible day the room had been oven hot--no air conditioning as is often the case in Catalina. By the evening it was tolerable with the fan going.

There was no desk to write on, I awkwardly tried to use the bureau, no go (the room didn't get the hotel's wireless anyway). Some of the mirrors were flyspecked. But it was tolerable--a low 3.

I got up to discover the next morning that there was no hot water, not even a trickle. Plenty of cold water, maybe a drop dripping of hot. The manager--I believe he was--came over to confirm this. He offered me the ability to use the second floor common shower in the other building, since the handyman wasn't coming in until later (it was Sunday). No expression of regret, no apology,. no offer of a partial refund or credit. Just a statement of hope that the problem was confined to my room, or he'd have a crisis all morning!

I used the shower room. It was a grim and dingy place, paint coming off the floor. It was anything but invigorating.

I've stayed a lot of hotels. They have problems, the rooms are often used heavily. Sometimes I call about the problem, sometimes I live with it. No hot water is beyond the pale.

Avalon is a sweet little town in a beautiful setting. There are few cars there, you walk. If I come back to Catalina for an overnight I will most assuredly stay at a different hotel.

There was no desk to write on and the chairs were folding chairs. So

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

The rooms are old, there is no heat, no ac, they don't clean the rooms, this is the scary/diriest place I have ever stayed. I did not choose this, my colleague did. I was appalled. Avalon is nothing to write about either. Run down, noisy, and crowded. The young folks at the desk were nice, but they can't make up for what this place really is, a dump.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silentspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

The island isn't a place to stay in your room so why spend the money for nice pictures, extra virgin cotton, I was able to spend the money on the great adventures of the island like the zip Line, snorkling, underwater treks and great food. For me this made the trip more relaxing and much more enjoyable. You owe it to yourself to stay here and afford to enjoy everything or at least more of what the island has to offer. The staff is incredible and seems like one big happy family trying to make your stay enjoyable. Mr Malan "Mark" knows everything about the island and I came to find out he was the owner. My experience was with Mark, Mindy, Johnny and Gina.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamster56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

the staff was extremely helpful and really nice. the cottages were perfect size, reasonable price and in the perfect location. we recommend this hotel 100%

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowfamthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

Cheap luxury may seem to be an oxymoron, but there was quality where quality really counted. This was my first visit to Catalina Island, California. I found Hermosa Hotels while searching the internet for places to stay. I loved the price, and expected much less that we got for the price. The rooms were small, with minimal inconvenience (rooms were small, showers/toilets outside of room). However, the staff was extremely friendly and informative and exhibited excellent customer service. The linen/towels were white, clean, and soft (very important if you've had a day in the sun). The bed was very comfortable. The showers were hot, and the facilities clean. Even the toilet paper was high quality. The free coffee each morning was gourmet quality and hot. These high quality amenities far outweighed the lack of space and the minor inconvenience. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to any budget traveler/diver/beachgoer to anyone. I will stay there again on my next visit to Catalina.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Islandgirl741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#11 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Hotel

Property: Hermosa Hotel
Address: 131 Metropole Street, PO Box 646, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hermosa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermosa is Catalina’s friendly, quaint, economy hotel located in the heart of Avalon half block from the beach and a short, flat walk from the boat landing. The Historic Hermosa Hotel has been serving guests of the island as far back as 1896 and, as was the style then, our rooms are small and simple. No thrills or frills- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hermosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Avalon
Hermosa Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing