We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catalina Island”
Review of Hermosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hermosa Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Hermosa Cottages - a great experience. The cottages are old - after all, the hotel has been around about a hundred years so they are not what you would expect in a new hotel. That said, actually the rooms are probably comparable to some of the national park housing and their charm is the same. We paid more at Grand Canyon Bright Angel cabins so we thought the price was good. Location, location, location and Hermosa is clean - two of my main considerations. We are active seniors and liked not having to do a lot of climbing to get to our room. Convenient to everything in Avalon. We had a kitchen and picked up breakfast cereal at the Von grocery two doors down. Avalon was a little cold for swimming for us but we enjoyed strolling the streets and just relaxing. There are lots of places to eat or snack. We did the golf cart tour and highly recommend that as well. The vendor nearest the ferry landing offers an extra hour for the price of two and prorates if you return the cart earlier than two hours. My husband would love to go back for scuba diving and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 316 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

I made same day reservations and was pleasantly surprised how friendly and accommodating the front desk was. The room was comfortable and certainly roomy enough for me. The refrigerator and microwave allowed me to purchase items from the local store and keep them without concern of spoiling. The front desk allowed me to store my luggage in the area until time for my departure, instead of lugging it around the entire day. I would highly recommend this hotel and staff to anyone that is going to spend time on Catalina Island.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The staff made the hotel. We booked a regular cottage and they moved us to one with a kitchenette free of charge for part of our stay. They were also friendly and knowledgeable. The
hotel is older and nostalgic but definitely shows its age. I'll return due to staff friendliness and value.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Hermosa Hotel is an excellent hotel for scuba fans. The hotel was recommended by a scuba dive master and it fit our purposes perfectly. Centrally located, we were able to easily go in both directions for easy walks to enjoy the city. The staff at the hotel were accommodating, allowing us to leave gear/suitcases in the scuba room while we continued our days' stay. Any requests made, were expediently processed by staff. All staff was extremely friendly answering any questions we had and making suggestions to make our stay more enjoyable. Rooms are small, but clean and quiet. I most definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again, most definitely.

Room Tip: In winter, ask if the room has heat. Ask for extra blankets before counter closes.Ask where the &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at the very top, up a long flight of stairs. Marilyn and I shared the space with our friends. We didn't spend much time in the rooms - mostly off exploring and volunteering for the Catalina Conservancy - so the small rooms worked out OK for us. We cooked our meals there and ate on the deck overlooking town. We liked the central location in Avalon, and we liked the friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing lots of stairs, take a lower room. We didn't mind the climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treeguy98862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Hermosa Hotel was a very good pick for us. The rooms were small, but very clean. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with every question and request that we had. The hotel is so perfectly located, you can walk everywhere from the room. It was very quiet also.
We would stay there again!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vickie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I cannot express my gratitude and love towards the Hermosa Hotel and Catalina Cottages enough. The staff went above and beyond for us constantly while we were there. Catalina itself is enchanting, however everyone at H.H. & C.C. made our trip that much more perfect. The rooms varied from small studios to very large 3 bedroom condos. The condo we stayed in was 3 bedrooms/one bath and was very appropriate for its age. It wasn't all updated but it wasn't old and dirty either. They had a full kitchen filled with any utensils you could need as well as plates cups and bowls.
We took full advantage of their family packages and were able to explore the botanical gardens, and the museum with our package and even had bike rentals that we took full advantage of. One of my inlaws were in a wheel chair and the front desk helped change some of our plans so that he could enjoy as much as possible. On our final day we placed our bags in the free storage room and wanted to continue to explore Catalina for the whole day so we delayed our shuttle back to the mainland until later that night. We could not have had a more pleasant experience and the Hermosa Hotel & Catalina Cottages are to thank. Catalina itself is enchanting, however everyone at H.H. & C.C. made our trip that much more perfect. Thank you to Mark and Chris and the rest of the staff for going above and beyond for myself, my fiance, and my inlaws.
Thank you to Mark and Chris and the rest of the staff for going above and beyond for myself, my fiance, and my inlaws.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliviacarolyn90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Rae
Hotel Mac Rae
#10 of 20 in Avalon
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Hotel

Address: 131 Metropole Street, PO Box 646, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range: $73 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hermosa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermosa Hotel keeps it simple for you… clean rooms at low prices and DOG FRIENDLY! Our friendly, active staff enjoys all the island has to offer and we will get all you adventure-seekers dialed in with our “locals scoop” to make sure you have the most fun possible during your island visit! We are preferred amongst scuba divers, with free dive lockers & dive carts available. We are Catalina Island’s pet-friendly, economy hotel located in the heart of Avalon, just a short 10-15 minute walk from the boat landing. The Historic Hermosa has been serving guests of the island since 1896 and our rooms are still small and simple. No fancy amenities, but most of our rooms now have air conditioning and heating. We have lots of character, as part of the charm of our 100+ year-old building is its “Catalina Funkiness.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Avalon
Hermosa Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing