We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hermosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hermosa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming and affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Bottom line I was looking for the cheapest hotel in Catalina because the Catalina Flyer is so expensive and we'd still like to eat! We were in town for the Avalon 50 miler and the Hermosa was perfectly located around the corner from the start. It is walking distance from everything in Catalina. The room was very small, but that doesn't bother me as we were not there to stay in the room but just to sleep. The full kitchen was quaint and I was pleasantly surprised by the upgrade of heat (I had heard some of the rooms didn't have any previously). I plan to run the Avalon 50 miler again and will be staying at the Hermosa every time....as long as they stay so reasonably priced, that is.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mopsmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    78
    36
    47
    48
See reviews for
77
130
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We bought a Groupon Deal for $299 with round trip Catalina Flyer boat, two tickets to the Catalina Museum, and two nights stay at the Hermosa Hotel and Cottages. First we did not get a cottage as our Groupon Deal said we would. Next when we got into our itty-bitty hotel room, the floor had not been vacuumed since the last guest, there was hair through-out the tub from the last guest, the sheets had scuff marks and stains, the towels had stains and rust on them. We both came home with a number of bug bites from sleeping on their bed. The walls are thin and you can hear EVERYTHING and EVERYONE. We were so disgusted, we came home early.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SummerSnow92808721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

Santa Clarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rooms are super small, we were scared our luggage wouldn't fit! The furnishing is really old, not charming, just junky, dated. The carpet is really dirty, we kept our socks on. Otherwise, room clean. The walls of the cottage are really thin so you hear people stomping their feet and talking going up and down the wood stairs literally right next to the cottages. Not good for light sleepers. Most staff friendly. Unfortunately, next time we visit, we will be investing a bit more money to stay in a more comfortable, nicer hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slinky223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Hermosa Hotel was perfect for the two of us- walking distance from the grocery store (our cottage had a kitchen), laundromat, all the restaurants, boat dock, etc...plus super nice/helpful concierge!! They had an alleyway for us divers where we could shower, wash our gear, hang our gear to dry, and store bikes. They also let us store our gear once we checked out- so we didn't have to haul everything around until our ship arrived.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roselyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

would definitely recommend this hotel, stayed for two nights in a cottage, great location, room was fine, nothing too flash but comfortable and clean. the staff were amazing, very welcoming and even went out of their way to drop our ferry tickets to us when we left them in the room, thank you so, so much!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I booked this through Groupon (smokin' deal) and then read the reviews which I shouldn't have done. Too many people have trashed this hotel in reviews and we could not have had a more pleasant surprise! These people need to realize this place was built in the late 1800's! It was clean and comfortable and quiet and it was perfect! The staff was wonderful! We would definitely stay there again! LOVED THE PLACE!

Room Tip: We were in cottage "A" which is only 3 steps from the sidewalk. Most of the rooms have qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindylu52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I visited Catalina for the first time in January 2013 to run the Avalon 50 miler. I needed a place to stay for 2 nights that was close to the race start, not too expensive and close to everything in Avalon. The Hermosa worked perfectly for me. The service at this hotel rivaled any I've experienced at any hotel including 5 stars. The room was clean and they provided oh so many towels. I didn't have to ask for more. The last time I stayed at a nicer hotel there were two towels. This one had like six. The vons market was two doors down and the race start was two blocks away. The room was clean with no frills but it suited my purpose. The heating unit worked extremely well. The only issue was that it was on a timer and that seemed to be a bit of a nuisance. The Bathroom was clean and newly remodeled. The only other issue was the door. There was no chain and no dead bolt. I felt like the lock on the door could have been a bit more secure but I wasn't really worried about it. Great traditional old place for a great price. I paid 99 per night when most places in Avalon wanted twice that. I was very happy with my stay and the hermosa worked well for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#11 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Hotel

Property: Hermosa Hotel
Address: 131 Metropole Street, PO Box 646, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hermosa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermosa is Catalina’s friendly, quaint, economy hotel located in the heart of Avalon half block from the beach and a short, flat walk from the boat landing. The Historic Hermosa Hotel has been serving guests of the island as far back as 1896 and, as was the style then, our rooms are small and simple. No thrills or frills- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hermosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Avalon
Hermosa Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing